We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice restaurant” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel

Save Saved
You added Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel
The Square, Holloway Road, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4LT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Stay&Dine from £64.50 ph
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heybridge
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

I have absolutely nothing negative to say about Le Bouchon; the food was nice and the service was good. However, maybe my expectations were too high, but it didn't quite meet them and I can't put my finger on why.

Notwithstanding the above, if you want a nice meal in nice surroundings this is a place to visit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    25
    11
    2
    4
See reviews for
14
34
Solo
0
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just returned after a 2 night stay at this hotel , the room was slightly small but decorated to a very high standard and spotlessly clean . The cocktail bar downstairs was absolutely fantastic offering a great choice of drinks .we eat in the hotel resturant both nights and have to say the food was wonderful . The resturant staff were very friendly and eager to please . We will most defiantly be returning to this hotel and resturant

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langdon Hills Essex
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The greeting was warm and professional. My friend and I sat in the bar for a pre lunch drink which was comfortable and warm.
The food was absolutely delicious, well presented and very tasty and reasonably priced. My school friend and I would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful service and a great breakfast. The staff were very attentive and really helpful in our hour of need. The only downside was the lack of a lift and the size of the rooms. We wold certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

My wife & I dined at Le Bouchon on Saturday 12th October.
The overall experience was very good despite a few minor mishaps that you wouldn't expect to find in a restaurant that positions itself as high as this.
A dirty knife greeted us when we were shown the table, I was given the wrong starter and then there was a lump of cling film in my cheese!
The food itself was very good, our waiter was also very pleasant and knowledgable about the menu.
The bill was just shy if £150 for the 2 of us which is slightly on the high side (just 1 bottle if wine & no pre-dinner drinks) but we would return to possibly try a lunch.
I agree with previous reviews that locally you won't find better although within a 30 minute drive you have Baumanns which personally I think is in a different league.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
187 reviews 187 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 121 cities Reviews in 121 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is nice to see an establishment trying hard in Essex, this is a wonderfully refurbished hotel with good attention to detail, good service and great cooking. I started with French onion soup and for mains my wife chose calves liver bubble and squeak while I went for French cut Pork chop, we both finished with Almond cherry crème patisserie, we would certainly recommend this place if you out and about in this part of Essex.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review and thank you also for your kind words.

As always it is very rewarding to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit to us.

We hope we can continue to welcome you, and your family and friends in the future.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight, our room was well appointed if a little small, it was the only remaining room. The bar is very pleasant with good service, the restaurant simply has nothing comparable in the immediate area. The food and service was excellent despite it being a very busy night. Withut a doubt we shall return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Le Bouchon.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write positively about your experience, it certainly means a lot to our team to know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel

Address: The Square, Holloway Road, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon > Heybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Heybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bouchon is a grade II listed, 300 year old Georgian building which has undergone an extensive refurbishment programme restoring the building to its former glory. The renovation period lasted in excess of 2 years, working many hours to create the right feel and ambience within this wonderful building, combining some of the original period features with furnishings and classically styled decoration that complements the building. Our restaurant offers a blend of both French and English Cuisine, set in a relaxed and intimate environment. Enjoy a meal from our A la carte menu in the main restaurant or choose from our wide selection of the menus available.14 individually styled en-suite boutique bedrooms each with their own character. All rooms have flat screen smart LED TV, telephone and FREE wifi access, choice of either hard or soft pillow, duvet or blanket and a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouchon Brasserie & Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.