We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Le Bouchon Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Le Bouchon Hotel to your Saves list
Le Bouchon Hotel
The Square, Holloway Road, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4LT, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Stay&Dine from £67.50 pp
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heybridge
Certificate of Excellence 2014
somerset
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great little hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

Just returned after a 2 night stay at this hotel , the room was slightly small but decorated to a very high standard and spotlessly clean . The cocktail bar downstairs was absolutely fantastic offering a great choice of drinks .we eat in the hotel resturant both nights and have to say the food was wonderful . The resturant staff were very friendly and eager to please . We will most defiantly be returning to this hotel and resturant

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    31
    12
    4
    0
See reviews for
20
44
Solo
0
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Langdon Hills Essex
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

The greeting was warm and professional. My friend and I sat in the bar for a pre lunch drink which was comfortable and warm.
The food was absolutely delicious, well presented and very tasty and reasonably priced. My school friend and I would definitely return.

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex UK
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Wonderful service and a great breakfast. The staff were very attentive and really helpful in our hour of need. The only downside was the lack of a lift and the size of the rooms. We wold certainly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basildon, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
233 reviews 233 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 138 cities Reviews in 138 cities
150 helpful votes 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

It is nice to see an establishment trying hard in Essex, this is a wonderfully refurbished hotel with good attention to detail, good service and great cooking. I started with French onion soup and for mains my wife chose calves liver bubble and squeak while I went for French cut Pork chop, we both finished with Almond cherry crème patisserie, we would certainly recommend this place if you out and about in this part of Essex.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review and thank you also for your kind words.

As always it is very rewarding to read that you enjoyed many aspects of your visit to us.

We hope we can continue to welcome you, and your family and friends in the future.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We stayed overnight, our room was well appointed if a little small, it was the only remaining room. The bar is very pleasant with good service, the restaurant simply has nothing comparable in the immediate area. The food and service was excellent despite it being a very busy night. Withut a doubt we shall return

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your recent review of your stay at Le Bouchon.

We were very pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to write positively about your experience, it certainly means a lot to our team to know that their efforts are appreciated by our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you again in the future.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

The hotel rooms, bar and restaurant are beautifully presented and certainly the room cannot be faulted. However, if this establishment is to be marketed as a hotel rather than a restaurant with rooms then it needs to consider the following. We arrived to check in at about 2.30 in the afternoon and were hoping to sit down for a late lunch only to be told that the kitchens were now closed. Hotels usually have food options available all day and so we were forced to find a pub in a nearby village. On returning from a function late in the evening we were hoping to sit down for a drink in the hotel bar, the time was 11.29. We were initially told that the bar was shut as it was 11.30. The bar man eventually conceded and did serve us a drink, with the comment, only one drink will be allowed. Again, typically a hotel bar so open to hotel residents later than 11.30. The breakfast he next morning was rather chaotic. There only appeared to be one young lady serving all the tables and you could see that several tables were not getting toast or coffee or orders were being served incorrectly. As it turns out the plates that were delivered to our table had mixed up our orders and the food was cold and had to be sent back.

Conclusion, could be a good little hotel, just need to work on the hotel aspects more.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Just had an exceptional Sunday lunch at le bouchon , the restaurant was very busy which is always a good sign ,the tables are well spaced with a private feel ,the staff were polite and welcoming .
The restaurant was tastefully decorated and very clean with an excellent selection of quality wines ,the food was cooked to a standard that you would expect from a quality restaurant . I will certainly be going back in the future .
I haven't stayed at the hotel but judging by the restaurant and the staff and the cleanliness I would think it would be a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Le_Bouchon_Maldon, Manager at Le Bouchon Hotel, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your kind words regarding your recent visit to Le Bouchon.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed so many elements of your experience with us and hope to be able to continue to welcome you for Sunday lunch and indeed dinner during the week.

Thank you for your support of Le Bouchon. If there is anything we can do to enhance any further visit to us, please do not hesitate to contact us and we will be happy to try to accomodate any request.

With kind regards,

Le Bouchon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Le Bouchon Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Bouchon Hotel

Address: The Square, Holloway Road, Heybridge, Maldon CM9 4LT, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Maldon > Heybridge
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Heybridge
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Le Bouchon is a grade II listed, 300 year old Georgian building which has undergone an extensive refurbishment programme restoring the building to its former glory. The renovation period lasted in excess of 2 years, working many hours to create the right feel and ambience within this wonderful building, combining some of the original period features with furnishings and classically styled decoration that complements the building. Our restaurant offers a blend of both French and English Cuisine, set in a relaxed and intimate environment. Enjoy a meal from our A la carte menu in the main restaurant or choose from our wide selection of the menus available.14 individually styled en-suite boutique bedrooms each with their own character. All rooms have flat screen smart LED TV, telephone and FREE wifi access, choice of either hard or soft pillow, duvet or blanket and a complimentary breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Le Bouchon Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Le Bouchon Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.