We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just passing and pleased we did fantastic food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bull of Brenchley

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
The Bull of Brenchley
High Street, Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells TN12 7NQ, England
01892 723106
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 5 Restaurants in Brenchley
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: The Bull Inn is a Victorian style Public House with original building work still intact. Its newly refurbished interior has used original periodic features to offer an authentic and enjoyable, warm dining experience. We continue to build upon our history in the local area as a pub for all, by our dedication by using local produce in all areas of our menu to provide an authentic Kentish experience. Our rooms are in the process of being refurbished, and look to take bookings in the spring of 2013.
Sevenoaks, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“just passing and pleased we did fantastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

my family and i were out driving on sunday when we passed the bull and decided to pop in for a sunday roast, the moment we stepped in the pub we loved it, the atmosphere, the food, the service everything was amazing we had a great meal and will def go back, 10 ot of 10 perfect thank you

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    8
    2
    1
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Amazing, Friendly, Great food and Great staff.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

This is a family business and has just been refurbished. It is fresh and bright. The main bar is surrounded in oak and is stunning.
It was very clean and smelt lovely.
We had lunch here for my partner and he's twin brothers birthday.
When we got here, was very busy but were spoken to by staff straight away and served quickly.
The waiter took our order promptly. The food took about 30-40 mins to come out but it was busy and there was 10 of us.
The food was worth the wait!! It was amazing, the salmon was cooked perfectly, the braised beef was gorgeous and the turkey was lovely and moist.
One thing i loved is that your veg came in a dish separate to your plate and gravy or sauce was in a jug. This was great as you can have as much or a little sauce/gravy as you like and the veg was split around us.
They did our 8 year old daughter a child's size and she loved doing her veg and gravy.
Once food was out they checked everything was ok and after they cleared away main they checked on our drinks.
The puddings were divine and even just did us a few potions of ice-cream. Even the ice cream was of a high standard.

We were not rushed at any point and the staff were amazing, even taking the time to talk to our daughter.
On the way home we discussed the next time we could go again as we enjoyed it so much.

You've done a great job!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tonbridge
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Bull of Brenchley re-opened as family-run pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

As locals we are delighted that The Bull of Brenchley has recently re-opened as a family-run village pub and B&B. Over the last few years it has had a chequered history but first impressions indicate that any previous bad opinions should be disregarded. The new owners are friendly and welcoming whilst the redecorated bar areas are bright, clean and much more inviting. There is a limited but varied menu at competitive prices. We have had two excellent meals at the Bull since it re-opened, one in the evening and also a Sunday lunch. We will be regular customers from now on.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TN10
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“New Owners”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

This is a real family affair. We had lunch today, two roasts, salmon and ham egg n chips. Served by father and son in law, cooked by mother and daughter. Lovely

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wish you success!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I recently visited family in Kent and during my visit we decided to pop into a country pub in the village of brenchley. With none of us ever have been to this establishment what we found was lovely. It is a lovely 'real country pub' environment, with the choice of many refreshing drinks that cover all ages. It is child and dog friendly pub which makes a nice change as sometimes walking in with either can often get funny looks in many places. What was even nicer was that the landlord was a young man with a young family. He and his other half made a point of socialising with the customers and even introduced us to their beautiful young son. It is so nice for a young family to be trying to make a go of a business, especially with the economic climate being the way it is. I really hope the local community support them in this venture. All the luck and success to you.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bull of Brenchley also viewed

Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Brenchley, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
Matfield, Royal Tunbridge Wells
 

Been to The Bull of Brenchley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bull of Brenchley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.