We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service bad food” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Big Breakfast

The Big Breakfast
82 High Street, Beckenham BR3 1ED, England
020 8663 6986
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #36 of 76 Restaurants in Beckenham
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, English
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Bad service bad food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014

I popped in for lasagne, it was really hot and microwaved.
They used to have a tea pot in here I'm sure now its just a bag in a cup.
Really busy, staff unatentive maybe because it was really busy.
Seems to have lost a bit of its magic shame as I used to like it here.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    12
    0
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“mostly good food but terrible customer service”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

we went for breakfast last weekend. The menu had been re-jigged so the new veggie breakfast had less items for the same money, nice.
Then the bad grammar implied that orange juice was included. The abrupt waiter said it wasn't.
It got too noisy with tables with screaming kids so we bought some cheese cake to take away and left shortly after breakfast.
When we got home we put it in the fridge to eat later that day. When we got it out and went to cut it we discovered mould on the bottom of it.
We emailed them and they ignored us and never replied. I went in again a few days later because i couldn't be bothered to walk up the high street (i will now!) and had a mediocre lasagne (microwaved) . When I mentioned the mouldy cheesecake I was brushed off, all in all very bad customer service. Avoid this place and go somewhere that gives a ....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Unpretentious and inexpensive, but good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014

A really nice, uncomplicated place for breakfast or lunch. Busy, and welcoming, with good portion sizes and child friendly. Greasy spoon fare, but quite a broad menu all in all.

Visited March 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“A good hearty Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

Very good Coffee, well cooked full English breakfast with plenty of toast and very competitively priced.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great place for a local Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Good food, ok service, fresh juices and cakes. Great value for money. I would say its well worth a visit.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Big Breakfast also viewed

Beckenham, Greater London
 
Beckenham, Greater London
Beckenham, Greater London
 

Been to The Big Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Big Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.