We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beginners Bread Making Class” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harrington's Kitchen

Harrington's Kitchen
Groveland Road, Beckenham BR3 3PU, England
07738001009
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 18 things to do in Beckenham
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Harrington's Kitchen in South London provides hands-on cookery classes for those who wish to discover the art of baking bread - made simple.
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Beginners Bread Making Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

For anyone who would like to learn how to make different types of bread, this course is ideal! i can't wait to practice what I learned from Harringtons Kitchen. I live in Newcastle and my Aunt lives in London and she was kind enough to treat my cousin and I to the Beginners Bread Making Course. Not only did we learn a lot but it was fun and friendly. Was lovely afterwards to all sit down and enjoy the bread we made with some wonderful food and a glass of wine. Met some lovely people. Good memories to take back to Newcastle. Thanks to Mr Harrington and his wife for being perfect hosts :-)

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    3
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Another great day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Anyone who has attended Stephen's introduction to bread making course should seriously think about taking the advanced version. The same great ideas and ambiance but this time experimenting with ciabatta, sour dough and flavoured bread. Fantastic day once again and am actively trying the recipes at home!

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Malaysia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Host Wonderful Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Attended chef Stephen's Advance Bread Making class with my daughter Qistina. The Chef made the bread making looks very easy with the right techniques n tips. A small class of 4 we had enjoyable class n great lunch, chanced to taste the bread we are making. They were simply amazing compared to shops bought breads.Thanks to chef & Roberta. Rushed to get some flour and yeast before leaving for Kualal Lumpur so that we can serve the bread we make on our table the next time.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Camden Town, null, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Advanced Bread Making Class”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

With some previous experience in bread making, I was looking for a course that would improve my confidence, expand my repertoire and perhaps give me a few extra tips / answer some niggling questions. Stephen fulfilled all these criteria superbly! The communication prior to the course was great, Stephen was very flexible to accommodate my specific circumstances and the day itself was very pleasant and productive - with a number of loaves and rolls made before enjoying a tasty lunch to accompany our fresh wares. Thank you so much!

I would thoroughly recommend Harrington's Kitchen for anyone looking to learn to make bread, fuss-free in a comfortable environment.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Introduction to Bread making course.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2013

My friend and I had been wanting to do this course for a while, so decided to book it up, which was a very simple process and communication from Chief Harrington was great. We both arrived at there beautiful home and made to feel extremely welcome, the kitchen is stunning and makes a perfect work shop. In the past I have always thought that making bread is so complex, but the way Stephen teaches, makes it logical, fun and simple. A secret I will not be sharing with anyone!!
We had such a great day, didn't want to leave! Once we finished the course we sat down to a beautiful lunch made by lovely Francesca, who is Italian, say no more!! We were all chatting , It's so great to have 5 strangers from different cultures becoming friends sharing there life stories. I could of easily sat there all day.
Since doing the course I have tried out the method and the results were amazing, I took 2 focaccia to a family gathering and the comments were amazing!! I can't wait to do more.
I feel very proud that I can now make fresh tasty bread from scratch!!!
Can't wait for the next course.
Every person needs to learn how to make bread.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harrington's Kitchen also viewed

 

Been to Harrington's Kitchen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harrington's Kitchen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.