We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff canteen food, indifferent service” 2 of 5 stars
Review of ChomChom Buffetworks Beckenham

ChomChom Buffetworks Beckenham
8-12 Bromley Road, Beckenham BR3 5JE, England
0208 650 5072
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 74 Restaurants in Beckenham
Cuisines: European, Chinese, Indian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Beckenham, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Staff canteen food, indifferent service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

On the surface this seems a good idea. A full buffet for around £14. However this only works if the food is half decent. Here it isn't. The food here is not good. It's passable, and edible. My ready meal from Tesco's tastes about the same. And I can't cook. The quality is school dinner standards, or an ordinary works staff canteen where all the cooks failed their chefs exams. Its always popular, but sorry, there are a million better buffet restaurants than this.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    31
    18
    12
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food. They hate kids!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Fairly priced. Fantastic curry's and a wide variety of different Indian, Thai and continental dishes. We've got a 2 year old who like most 2 year olds can be a little noisy when he doesn't get his way. The staff don't take very kindly to that and threatened to throw him out! Harsh, yes, I know. He didn't look like he was joking to me. We're regulars and he's said it a couple of times now so not sure if I'll go again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent, outstanding..”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

We went yesterday on Mother's Day,,
It was very busy by the time we were there..
Although it was very busy all the staffs were good, friendly,, good service.. Foods- amazing ,,, service - superb...resonable price ... Eat much as you can...child friendly..
What else you need with that price in beckenhm...
Good ambeint..we loved it..
We will be back ..

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yummy Buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Visited this restaurant recently for a Birthday treat with family. There was 8 of us and I had pre-booked. Varied selection from the buffet and good choice from the dessert selection. Staff were attentive and drinks refilled in good time. All enjoyed and would visit again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Horrible staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Pre booked this evening for 14 people, 6 had meals,8 were drinking with consent of waiting staff. Halfway through meal MR RUDE came over demanded the drinkers eat or leave as they were taking up tables, he was rude and embarrassed the guests, who were polite and offered to dine.
The birthday boy had paid a deposit for 14 people, was charged £40.00 for non diners and £17.00 service. When we refused to pay the rude man for service he was abusive and nasty. At all times we remained dignified. We told him we didn't want to pay him for his abuse. We will never go back!
Funny enough, we met some friends in there who were celebrating a different birthday and they were also appalled at Mr RUDE'S behaviour. Will be writing to the local paper!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed ChomChom Buffetworks Beckenham also viewed

 
Beckenham, Kent
 

Been to ChomChom Buffetworks Beckenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ChomChom Buffetworks Beckenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.