We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham

Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham to your Saves list
Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Eden Park | 422 Upper Elmers End Road, Beckenham BR3 3HQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beckenham
Studley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“You get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

This hotel informed me that they only accept 2 night stays if you want to stay on the Saturday.
I was behind another couple who were checking in, on Saturday - for one night. This annoyed me as the 2 night stay was clearly nearly doubling my costs.

I had also prebooked a travel cot for my daughter and this wasn't in the room when I arrived - the lady who checked me in, was very nice and polite and quickly got me the item.

I also asked for a fan as the room was very warm (it was a nice weekend) and was told they didn't have any - so a note to the hotel - get some fans if you don't have air con in rooms.

The room itself was tired in décor and small in size - as my title of this review states, you do get what you pay for. I know other hotels charge £100 a night and we paid £112 for Sat and Sunday night - so I suppose I need to take that into consideration - but comparing this to a Travelodge which would have been similar price, then it is lacking.

The bathroom was especially poor - a nasty shower curtain that sticks to you and dodgy toilet flush handle - it just needs updating. It was clean - just old.

Bed was comfy - but small. Prefer a king not a double.

We had a continental breakfast for free and you can pay £3.99 per person to have an all you can eat cooked breakfast. We didn't take this option up - as the cold breakfast was fine. Muffins, toast, croissants, good range of drinks, cereals and fruit. Very nice.

We also sampled the local takeaway (didn't fancy a carvery!) and that was good too - it was across the road and was hot and cooked.

The parking is free on site -although it can get busy so not guaranteed. You are also literally opposite Eden Park train station, which you can get a train into London easily (zone 5 I think).

I wouldn't stay again as the room was tired and small and lacking in extras.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    9
    3
    4
See reviews for
14
20
2
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Southend on Sea
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2014 via mobile

Clean, good facilities, value for money, conveniently located, for what I wanted anyway; would certainly use again. Only moan, the checking in time is quite late in the day, so the room may not be ready, but the staff were very accommodating about that, so it wasn't a big deal. Continental breakfast included in my price, otherwise an extra £3.99 for full English; I had that, but wish I hadn't; it wasn't good, but that was my own fault, it didn't look good, I was just hungry.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Thank you for reviewing our Innkeepers Lodge. Your feedback is most appreciated and will be noted by everyone at Innkeepers Lodge, Beckenham.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prestwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here whilst visiting relatives nearby. Access to London is great with Eden Park station right across the road.
Rooms were ok, were clean and comfortable enough for the price paid.
Food was ok, nothing special though.
My only major gripe were when going for breakfast the staff seemed to get grumpy if you went down after 9:30 and had already cleared most of the breakfast stuff away by 10:00. They have a habit of hovering over you making you feel the need to eat up and leave asap! This happened both mornings as well as in the bar in the evening.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Your review is very helpful to us, and we will take note of the points you have made following your visit to The Eden Park, innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I know this is a budget hotel but I still expect a certain degree of cleanliness.
Mainly the bathroom, the shower head and tiles behind the sink were disgusting and the tiles on the walls behind the sink and toilet hadn't been cleaned for a long time.
Breakfast was ok but we had problems finding a bowl and plate that were clean. The other problem we had was getting something to eat on a Sunday. Its heaving all day and you can't make a reservation on a Sunday so in desperation we walked up to a nearby petrol station and got a sandwich.
On the plus side the pillows and bed were better than some I've slept in and the staff were lovely, and its a great location.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, October 10, 2013
Many thanks for giving us your thoughts following your visit to The Eden Park, Beckenham . We really do appreciate that you have taken the time to share your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

I have stayed here lots of times as my family live near here. However they have recently started cooked breakfasts. We were quite pleased about this as we enjoy a good breakfast when on holiday and welcomed the change from the toast and cereal breakfasts of the past. Unfortunately the cooked breakfast is dreadful. They obviously start cooking it a long time before it is needed resulting in hard tough fried eggs and bacon like shoe leather. Never again. We will not pay extra for that so it's back to the toast. A bit of a let down really because the hotel itself is always clean and welcoming with very nice staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, September 16, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to Innkeepers Lodge Beckenham on our Trip Advisor page. We were disappointed to read that you were not satisfied with the breakfasts, and we have replied to you personally about this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Pleasant and very helpful staff, good basic food it is a carvery so not much optionsapart from a carvery, it was warm and filling, good selection of beers, clean and quiet room good wifi signal great location for the job we were on would use again if in the area

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Thank you for your recent review, It was good of you to take the time to leave your feedback following your visit to Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

So, the headline says it all really, albeit for £70 per night I would still expect that the food actually tasted of something, the rooms were not like a student hovel and that the communal areas were cleaned!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Innkeepers_Lodge_01, Public Relations Manager at Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, responded to this review, July 31, 2013
Thank you for letting us know about your visit to Innkeeper’s Lodge . We really do appreciate your feedback.
Regards
Innkeeper’s Lodge Beckenham
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Beckenham hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham

Address: The Eden Park | 422 Upper Elmers End Road, Beckenham BR3 3HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Kent > Beckenham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Beckenham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking to make the most of the Home Counties and London, this Kent lodge gives you the best of both worlds. Providing great accommodation in Beckenham, close to Eden Park and Bromley, it's also just 12 miles from the heart of the capital.The 24-bedroom lodge is an ideal base for short breaks, or for business trips to the nearby Croydon Conference Centre or Crystal Palace FC. Whatever your plans, there's a popular Toby Carvery right next door, so can refuel with a hearty roast dinner and pint of what you fancy.If you're in the mood for calm and tranquility, Beckenham is surrounded by beautiful gardens and peaceful country parks such as Kelsey Park, South Norwood Country Park or the 238 acres of ancient woodland at Beckenham Place Park. Or for the ultimate in quiet, try nearby Chislehurst Caves.But if you want to turn up the pace, simply jump on a train and enjoy all the attractions, shopping, theatres, bars and restaurants of bustling Central London. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Innkeeper`s Lodge Beckenham Hotel Kent

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Innkeeper's Lodge Beckenham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.