We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Property way over-rated from Interval International - not Premier level AT ALL!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Tree Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Tree Plantation to your Saves list
Parrot Tree Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   First Bight | Roatan, First Bight 34101, Honduras   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Somerset, New Jersey
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Property way over-rated from Interval International - not Premier level AT ALL!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I am a seasoned global traveler with 1.5mm + logged in 30 years in 30+ countries. This location does not adequately address bugs with unbearable levels of voracious beach flies both outside and IN rooms. Rooms in need of maintenance. Water and electricity go out routinely. There is no Dive shop on premises. Every trip for diving and snorkeling requires a car or car to get to a location with dive or snorkeling trips scheduled. Mike the concierge is the one highlight and he is the only reference source to plan trips outside the resort. There is not printed material at all and staff is untrained to help you with basic requests.

The one and ONLY redeeming aspect of this trip was the reef itself. It is pristine and absolutely gorgeous. I only hope the gov't can keep it this way over the next years as we observed a lot of abuse of ignorant swimmers and snorkelers standing on the beautiful reefs.

Room Tip: Request that all lights, fans, appliances (if you plan to cook in full studio units) and AC work.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    41
    16
    12
    14
See reviews for
47
74
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Claremore, Oklahoma
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This property is the place to be......don't tell everyone. Everything we read said the west end was the place to be.. Not, the complex is situated well away from the main road and has a beautiful pool and lagoon beach as well as a marina, Could go on for an hour but it is just the best

Stayed May 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Segundo, California
Top Contributor
137 reviews 137 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't stay att the hotel, just visited. A beautiful location with very well designed grounds that include a private lagoon. The resort is located on the edge of a reef. Unfortunately, the rough seas did not allow us to snorkel. They had a good bar and sandwich shop and very nice staff. Definitely worth visiting and maybe staying there.

Room Tip: Check out room rates. Pretty reasonable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie P, Managing Partner at Parrot Tree Plantation, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for the kind words and you are absolutely correct, when the wind blows the seas kick up and the snorkeling can become "expert" very quickly. As well, many of the island's dive operators anchor right in front of Parrot Tree because of the amazing snorkeling and diving that is right here. The best news of all is that we have an "onsite" dive/snorkel program that is special because many of the best dive/snorkel sites on Roatan are right outside our front door.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

It has a nice entrance.
It is located far from West End.
It location has nice condo´s, the restaurant is very nice.
The view is incredible.
It has yatch park.
The área is very nice to be visit with family

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Pedro Sula, Honduras
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I came back to parrot tree to spend the day, and it was good as always, the service a little lazy but we had a great time, the only thing i could say is, i wanted a paddle for the paddle board and they told me i could not get one if i was not staying in the hotel, they could easily rent them, but they know better i guess!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie P, Managing Partner at Parrot Tree Plantation, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
We are thrilled to hear you had a good time and devastated to hear about the paddle incident. You have my word, paddles can be rented by anyone at Parrot Tree, I suspect that our staff member may have thought you wanted one for free, and that is typically reserved for certain hotel guests only. I apologize for the inconvenience and please, accept our invitation to come and visit us again,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We just returned from a week at Parrot Tree. The resort and grounds are beautiful. The staff is extremely nice and helpful. We arrived on Thursday and the room we were given had no air conditioning. They called maintenance on that day to come and fix it but they didn't make it until Friday. On Friday we were told it would be Saturday before they could fix it so they gave us the room next door to sleep in. On Saturday they told us the air conditioning was fixed, but it wasn't so they gave us a new room. Would have given a 5 star rating except the new room microwave didn't work and the front of the TV screen looked melted. They were very helpful. It was a great place to get away from all of the crowds and can't say enough about the staff. Can't wait to return to Roatan!!!

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie P, Managing Partner at Parrot Tree Plantation, responded to this review, 4 weeks ago
Thank you for your review and I sincerely apologize for messing up the room exchange and thank you for your kind words about our staff. We share these Trip Adviser reports with them as they come in and we really do work hard at creating a good experience for our guests.

AC units in the tropics is an ongoing thing and I am glad they finally got yours dealt with. TV's , there was an error made in housekeeping and the wrong screen cleaner was used. By the time the error was discovered, several TV's had been ruined. We are replacing them as soon as they arrive from the mainland. I hope you didn't miss your favorite show, we have pretty much every channel on TV.

Again, thank you for your review and we do hope to see you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2015

Loved this place, the staff was wonderful. My family scuba dives and we are used to not touristy places.So if you are looking to escape for some R and R then you came to the right place ,We stopped here for a few days on our way to Utila for diving in July 2014. This place was wonderful, clean huge rooms, kitchen area if you choose to buy food and make your own. Villa had washer and dryer, very convenient. Hotel staff helped make plane reservations to Utila instead of choosing to take the ferry. Breakfast was fabulous. Pool and lounge chairs great!

Room Tip: ask for room on second floor , the scenery is beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Tree Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Tree Plantation

Address: First Bight | Roatan, First Bight 34101, Honduras
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > First Bight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parrot Tree Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Tree's Beach Resort features ultra-luxury villas, peaceful and relaxed. Tucked into our lush tropical landscape you'll find sumptuous comfort... An enticing invitation to beachfront living with elegant furnishings, lavish linens and spacious bathrooms. Snorkel or Scuba dive just off shore to experience some of the most beautiful aquatic life in the Caribbean. On property you could visit the state of the art Global Alliance for Regenerative Medicine (GARM) laboratory and clinic. Specializing in clinical trials, orthopedics, pain management and cancer treatments a visit to the GARM Clinic could change your life for the better ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Parrot Tree Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Tree Plantation Hotel First Bight
Parrot Tree Plantation Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Tree Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.