We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My wife got E. Coli!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Parrot Tree Plantation

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Parrot Tree Plantation to your Saves list
Parrot Tree Plantation
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   First Bight 34101, Honduras   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Gaithersburg, Maryland
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“My wife got E. Coli!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

This hotel is 30 minutes from the port and 40 minutes from the airport. They have an amazing pool and pretty rooms, some of them with jacuzzi, kitchenette, washer, dryer.
The food is awful,they don't have many options in the menu. my wife got sick eating a seafood soup. she was at the hospital for ten days. if you go to this hotel make sure of buying medicines,because they don't have a first aid kit and the hotel is 30 minutes from the downtown.
I would recommend you rent a car if u want to stay there.the sand is man made. they build a lagoon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    27
    11
    8
    14
See reviews for
38
59
3
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

We loved this place from the moment we crested the hill and gained our first glimpse of the sprawling estate. Everything about Parrot Tree is perfect - from the elegant accommodations to the gorgeous tiled swimming pool.

We have stayed there several times. During one visit we attended a beach celebration complete with fire dancers and Garifuna dancers - loved it!

Go - you won't be disappointed!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2012

Wonderful service, privacy, accomodations were first class, and loved the vip treatment received.
The hotel rooms were luxurious, opening the door to the porch just 2 steps onto the sand and secluded beaches. We loved the service of the manager, supervisor and special foods the chef was able to accomodate. Service was 5 star and receptionist helped arrange all our activities wonderfully. Pool is beautifulwith comfortable bed/lounges but the beach is a definitely a place to remember with the sunset, music and "dancefloor" in the feel of paradise island. We will be coming here instead of Hawaii from now on!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

These beach front condo's are top of the line gorgeous, they have everything you can possibly need. The condo has a fully equipped kitchen, stove, microwave/oven, dishes, pots & pans, glassware, utensils of every sort, blender, toaster and even a full size stainless steel refrigerator. There is a washer & dryer, blow dryer, iron & ironing board and the list goes on.
If you are looking for beauty, relaxation and tranquility this is the place to stay. It is away from the noise and crowds at the end of the Island known as West Bay. If you want to tour the Island, Parrot Tree offers car rentals for $55.00 a day, which is very reasonable.
My husband and I stayed for a week, soaked up the sun, went zip lining, hiked the nature trail, toured the island and visited a few of the restaurants. I must tell you that the coconut shrimp from the Palapa Bar & Grill located right in Parrot Tree is to die for, they are huge and plentiful.
The pool and lagoon are picture perfect, with plenty of lounge chairs and outdoor beds for your enjoyment, you won't be disappointed, I can't wait to go back.
P.S. Make sure you try a Monkey La La

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

We visited on a $10/person day pass during a cruise port day and had a great time. Kids love the lagoon which allowed my not-so-great-swimmer but loves-to-snorkel 11 YO to safely swim and snorkel in shallow water. Lounge chairs were plentiful. They rent all sorts of snorkel gear, sea kayaks, stand-up boards, etc. We rented a sea kayak, tooled around the lagoon and took that out into open waters to check out the nearby reef too. Food was okay and pricey: BBQ chicken, fried fish, fried shrimp, french fries and the like--all for $10 each. Didn't actually have time to check out the pool or the actual resort facilities.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2012 via mobile

It is nice resort and rooms are fine. However, food is a disgrace. This place needs urgently a good restaurant and a small store to buy things and water. So, if you want to enjoy this place bring your own food and drinks or rent a car and visit the restaurants nearby. The pool an lagoon are beautiful but no service or vending machines around.

Stayed March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

New accommodations with nice choice of materials but (if you ask me) poor finishing.

Electrical wiring for water heater in the bath room unsecured. No hot water first night, no action next day, some action 3rd day but still no hot water, changed to another room with hot water on first night, 2nd night however also no hot water. Taking a shower for too long (>5min) gets ur bathroom flooded and water running till the bedroom.

No internet in rooms, poor internet in open air restaurant and reception.

Most rooms/apartments foreseen with fully equiped kitchen and washing machine and dryer.

Stayed there for 2 weeks but didn't have time to enjoy the resort; evvironment and views are very nice but think its more fore short term stays unless you have a car to explore rest of the island.

Part of resort still in construction fase.

Very large pool too bad it doesn't have view on, connection with the beach.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Parrot Tree Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parrot Tree Plantation

Address: First Bight 34101, Honduras
Phone Number:
Location: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > First Bight
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in First Bight
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Parrot Tree Plantation 3.5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Parrot Tree's Beach Resort features ultra-luxury villas, peaceful and relaxed. Tucked into our lush tropical landscape you’ll find sumptuous comfort… an enticing invitation to beachfront living with elegant furnishings, lavish linens and spacious bathrooms. Snorkel or Scuba dive just off shore to experience some of the most beautiful aquatic life in the Caribbean. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Parrot Tree Plantation reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parrot Tree Plantation Hotel First Bight
Parrot Tree Plantation Roatan, Honduras - Bay Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parrot Tree Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.