We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous views and excellent self-catering” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Blue Bay Curacao

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Blue Bay Curacao to your Saves list
Blue Bay Curacao
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Landhuis Blauw z/n, Dorp Sint Michiel, Curacao   |  
Hotel amenities
Sevilla
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Fabulous views and excellent self-catering”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

The apartment (Ocean) was very spacious and comfortable. The beach view was unbeatable and west-facing so we were able to enjoy the stunning Caribbean sunsets. The location is quite remote so not ideal if you're after a fast night-life. The only blip was that our flight was delayed and when we eventually arrived in the early hours, the airport transfer we had arranged through Blue Bay didn't turn up. We had to wait a good hour for a taxi. This was due to it being Carnival, it seems, but worth bearing in mind if you arrive on a late flight. Otherwise, an excellent stay.

Room Tip: Ocean apartments are excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

291 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    124
    41
    17
    20
See reviews for
109
103
4
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tampere, Finland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 10 nights and we were mostly satisfied.

Our one bedroom apartment was at Hill which had great view to sunset in the evenings. Beach was 10 minutes walk away, but we didn't mind that at all. If you prefer closer to the beach, choose Village or Ocean apartment.

Room was in very good shape. Spacious rooms and balcony. Bathroom was neat and walk-in closet useful. Kitchen had it all what you needed for cooking & eating. We did our own breakfast every morning and didn't even checked out what restaurant offered for $15. One morning we walked 30 minutes to the nearest supermarket (Centrum) which wasn't such good idea because of the heat. We went to the supermarkets those days we rented a car.

This hotel is quite far away from Willemstad and other points of interest. It is really recommendable to rent a car for few days at least. We rented a car three days. Very interesting choice was old Citroen 2CV that rented from Ducks United. Quite expensive but what a fun car for driving!

Blue Bay Beach was best beach I have ever seen. Different kinds of places for sunbathing, snorkles and kajaks for rent, soft white sand and clear blue water. Only thing that almost every morning they didn't have beach towels. After few hours we were able to get them, but it was frustrathing.

Cleanliness in the room ok. They cleaned the apartment every three days which was ok, but would have prefered that towels would have been changed every day. There was a clotheshorse in the balcony but in that humidity towels didn't dry enough. We also run out of soap, but after aparment was cleaned, we didn't get more.

People at the reception were extremely helpful and nice. Frainutsa (or something like that) I will remember for long time - thank you for everything!

Next time (that will come!) we will travel to Curacao, this hotel will be one of those hotels to choose from.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schiller Park, Illinois
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stay in this resort for 5 days, this place is nice but kind of isolated. When you travel from US make sure that you bring power adapters , this hotel is 220 V ONLY, the hole island is 110 V but for some reason this hotel and resort DO NOT have any 110 V outlets, so this is really deal braker for all travelers from US. If you stay in this hotel be careful when paying for drinks, i am not sure why but stuff that works there dont know how to give correct money change. Apartments are really big but in 5 days we had only 1 time cleaning service. 3 times elevator was not working.
Food and drinks are really expensive. I do not recommend this place to go there.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We do not recommend this resort for the Village section with its current management, wholesale change is required. For background information, we’ve visited Curacao 5 times over the past 11 years, staying at a number of hotels and resorts, including the Blue Bay last year (2011) at the Ocean apartments which we enjoyed, though we did not experience any beach parties during our stay unlike some other Ocean apartment reviewers. This year (2012) we stayed at the Blue Bay Village and Garden sections. The last place we stayed at in November was an apartment in Montreal through Flipkey by TripAdvisor and we gave that a 5 star rating, so you understand this review comes from a fair and considered opinion.

There are 4 sections in Blue Bay: Village, Garden, Hill and Ocean. The Village is a zero rating, don’t to it. Ocean is a 4, only place we’d recommend. Garden is a 2/3, a qualified yes but let down by the poor design of shutters not windows which let in the mosquitoes. We’ve never stayed at the Hill.

Starting on the positive aspects: beautiful environment, excellent beach, friendly and helpful staff who are mostly locals, lovely pools, secure, spacious, private, some quality aspects to the apartments, beautiful gardens; lots of wildlife including humming birds, iguanas, crabs of all shapes and sizes; and a supermarket (Centrum) close by for shopping.

My wife, just turned 3 year old son, and I arrived on Saturday 29th to stay at a Villa in the Village section. The Villa appeared to not have been used for most of the year, the refrigerator did not work, neither did the microwave, the kettle was full of bugs, the light in one of the bedrooms did not work, most of the metal fixtures were rusty, and the couch in the living room was old and tatty. The big problem was the lack of a fridge, the purpose of the Villa is self-catering, no fridge pretty much stops self-catering, which with a young child is essential. Our first full day at the resort was spent trying to get the fridge to work with the onsite repair people, in the end they needed to call in a repair technician, who wouldn’t arrive until Monday. So by 6PM on Sunday we moved to an apartment in the Garden section with no balcony and one less room, but at least a working fridge. Given the late hour we had to make the move quickly, to unpack, get our son comfortable, make dinner and put our son to bed.

The two main problems with the Garden apartment were no hot water (the heater was not connected, and when they connected it they discovered it was bust, so had to replace it), and no windows rather wooden shutters which let in the mosquitoes. On the first night at the Garden apartment we had over 100 mosquito bites across the 3 of us. Covering the shutters with sheets more or less removed this problem. So by the third day (Monday) of our vacation we had a habitable apartment. There are lots of other quibbles, such as running out of toilet paper on the second day at the Garden apartment due to insufficient supply, the AC not working effectively in the main bedroom, and the “once a week cleaner” coming around on Wednesday afternoon as our son was napping and being giving an ultimatum of let me clean now or it doesn’t get done, we chose the latter.

On my numerous visits to the main office I met only once with a manager whose only concern was if we would move back to the Village, after we’d just moved into the Garden apartment. The lack of empathy about what they had put us through was astounding. The staff are trying their best with the poor product they’re left to manage, hence the 4 star rating we gave the service. We love Curacao, but would advise anyone considering staying at the Blue Bay to only consider the Ocean apartments and pray you have no problems with the apartment or parties going on at the beach. Else avoid this resort as its being managed into the ground by the current management.

At check-out no part-refund for moving us to a cheaper room or for the inconvenience caused was given. As other reviewers have mentioned their focus is revenue regardless of customer satisfaction. The current management of this resort needs to go because it could be world class.

Room Tip: There are 4 sections in Blue Bay: Village, Garden, Hill and Ocean. The Village is a zero rating, do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

This truly is the best location and resort on the island...Hands down. The price for a 3 bedroom villa is extremely resonable, much cheaper than any other hotel or resort, but no sacrifice in quality or location. Private beach with snorkeling, kayaking, etc. Amazing restaurant on the beach and all the prices at the resort were very reasonable. Resort is gated and guarded and the property is very large so there is no worry of safety at all. Excellent choice...we will be staying here every time we visit Curacao.

Room Tip: Try for the Villas nearest to the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

The setting of Blue Bay is very nice, with a beautiful natural beach (Curacao's hotels often have man-made beaches). Unfortunately the resort is not run well at all. Management seems more concerned with increasing revenues in all sorts of ways, instead of focusing on the guests of the hotel. Almost every evening there is wedding or private party on the beach with very loud music, which made our sea view apartment a disadvantage instead of an enjoyment. Other examples: the beach was already very crowded in the Christmas season, but still the hotel has a deal with the cruise boats and so every afternoon big groups of tourists descend upon an already full beach.
The apartment was very dirty upon arrival and the kitchen is equiped sparsely. Also the cleaning that is done every 3rd day is below acceptable. The people working on 'the ground", however, are nice and friendly.

Room Tip: heard terrible things about The Village, so choose the Ocean apartments (but they are more expensive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

Here is a review that should assist the reader as it will harmonize some of the more recent comments that precede this one.

My wife and two kids (16 and 20) enjoyed a wonderful stay at the Blue Bay Resort from December 23-29. We had a 2-bedroom, 2.5 bath flat that was spacious and had a large kitchen and living-room and dining area plus a large balcony. The kitchen had a state of the art dishwasher, stove/range, and refrigerator as well as a toaster and coffee machine. The cabinets were well stocked with utensils. The Hill Apartments and grounds are clean and very pretty.

The prior poster is dead wrong about the quality (well constructed and maintained) and age (recent) of the Hill apartments. The units are quiet. We never heard our neighbors because the walls are thick and well insulated. The prior poster also complained about a 15-minute fire alarm. He is correct as I was in the same building and the alarm went off at about 11 a.m.. The alarm rang for 15 minutes because the staff made sure everyone was safe and to make sure that the alarm was false. Kudos to the staff to actually care about the residents.

The prior two posters are correct that the Hill is about a ten-minute walk from the beach. If someone is aged or in ill health, then the distance is an inconvenience. If in good health, then the walk is a pleasure.

The beach is beautiful and the swimming and snorkeling opportunities are pleasant. The beach is extremely well-maintained as it is groomed every morning. As a guest at the resort, you get a pass to use the the chairs, towels, and shower facility. The restaurant and bar are very pleasant and reasonably priced. There is free musical entertainment on Friday night.

We found the resort to be a bargain: a beautiful, well-maintained beach enjoyed primarily by Dutch families and empty nesters, the hotel staff is extremely helpful and attentive, and the prices reasonable.

If you stay here, you should rent a car for two reasons. First, there is a well-run and well-stocked supermarket ("Centrum") that is a ten-minute drive away. To be specific, this supermarket had food basics plus fresh produce like "Lake Chelan Apples" from Washington State. Whatever you need for food, this supermarket has it. The second reason is that this resort is situated at a bay that is a short drive from the semi-highway that serves the west end of the island. If you wish to go to Willemstad to the east or to the beaches to the west, you need a car. To put distances in perspective, the airport is 15 minutes away and Willemstad is 20 minutes away by car and traveling at 60 km/hr.

The resort is not distant from anywhere in the island unless you are used to staying at beach hotels assembled, cheek to jowl, along a strand as they are in Aruba or Miami.

The only downside, and I mean the only downside of the resort is that the weight room facility and tennis courts were not well maintained, unlike the golf course and pool, which are well groomed.

We chose this resort based upon our reading of the reviews on Trip Advisor. We plan to come back to the Hill Apartments and have recommend this resort to our friends.

Room Tip: If staying at the Hill, ask for a room facing the beach and at levels three or four.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Blue Bay Curacao? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Bay Curacao

Address: Landhuis Blauw z/n, Dorp Sint Michiel, Curacao
Location: Caribbean > Curacao > Dorp Sint Michiel
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Dorp Sint Michiel
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Blue Bay Curacao 4*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Blue Bay Curacao reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Bay Village Hotel Willemstad
Best Western Willemstad
Blue Bay Curacao Dorp Sint Michiel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Blue Bay Curacao, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.