We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Compton House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newark-on-Trent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Compton House
Save
You added Compton House to your Saves list
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   117 Baldertongate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1RY, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“A Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Whenever friends visit us in Nottinghamshire, we book them into Compton House and then sit back and listen to the superlatives. No one ever wants to leave there ,far less come to our house! The secret of its success seems to be Lisa's ability to make her guests feel that they are truly at home and welcome as friends, whether it's sitting by the log fire with a glass of wine ,surrounded by books, paintings and a stuffed fox wearing sunglasses or enjoying the wonderful food or sinking into a fabulously comfortable bed.My friends say they feel themselves cosseted and cherished in a way that is unique and I suspect that it's frequently the lure of Compton House that brings them back to Newark rather than the pleasure of seeing us! It's a gem.

Stayed January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review - we love having your friends to stay and it is always nice to meet friends of friends, bit like a houseparty!
Im glad they enjoy staying here and we value your business very much, and we enjoy looking after our guests and making sure they are comfortable and realaxed.

Keep sending them to us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    13
    5
    0
    0
See reviews for
19
63
15
32
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

We have been staying at Compton House for the last four years whilst attending a trade show and have always had a superb stay. The tea and home made cake beside a raging coal fire in January is something to look forward to, as are the beautifully cooked breakfasts. The rooms are charming and all well appointed and the welcome from Lisa is second to none. I would certainly recommend a stay here to anyone whether it be for business or pleasure.

Room Tip: Judy's room on the ground floor is ideal for anyone who doesnt want to climb the stairs although...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Helen thank you for your review, we have so enjoyed hvaing you all to stay over the years and are very sorry the show has moved from Newark. We will miss you, but hope you visit us again, you know where we are and the kettle is always on! Very best wishes, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Wedding Party

Excellent,warm and comfortable.
My daughter had her wedding reception in Farndon and several rooms were booked for the night at Compton house including my daughter and her husband. All our rooms were excellent and the wedding couples room was beautifully and tastefully decorated. Thank you so very much.
Very welcoming with all amenities needed. Wonderful breakfast for everyones needs. Lots of history wrapped up in this lovely find. Would definitely stay here again.

B.M. Shepherd.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
We love Winter weddings at Compton House and your daughter and new son in law were so happy and looked so overjoyed, it was catching. Thank you for a lovely review, we really do try and make everything very special for our guests, particularly for our newly married couples, and we are so thrilled that M and L have booked their first Anniversary Night with us next year. We are very much ooking forward to seeing them again. Many thanks, Lisa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alnwick, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

In Newark for a business meeting, the company I was visiting booked me in to this B&B so I had no idea where I was staying until I arrived. Was charmed by the place from the kerbside. Lovely Georgian townhouse, filled with.... well.... stuff. Really lovely stuff.

Met by a blazing fire in the the drawing room next to the opulent Christmas tree, then shown up to my room at the top of the house. My room was large with elegant furniture and fabulous heavy curtains. Free, fast WiFi and all the TV channels which was great. Any place which offers you a teapot along with a range of teas gets my vote.

That evening, it proved just a couple of minutes walk along interesting lanes to reach the centre of the town and its fabulous pubs and eateries.

Breakfast next day was cooked to order and delicious. I tend not to stay in B&Bs as in the past I've found hosts a bit too keen to chat and sometimes try too hard to make you feel welcome. Here, the hosts are welcoming and friendly, but also discrete and leave you alone to enjoy your own space if you prefer.

My only disappointment was not getting to meet the cat.

Room Tip: Quite a long way to the top floor if you have heavy bags or dodgy knees.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, December 17, 2012
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were pleasantly surprised.
We do try and provide everything, and more, that our guests need and are particularly delighted you enjoyed breakfast, as we take such pride in providing a real feat!

Tinker is not very sociable in cold weather and rather lazily stays by the fire, next time you come we will wake him up!

Many thanks for writing your review, we hope to see you again next year,
Lisa and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincolnshire
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

This was our second visit to Compton House. The second visit was just as nice as the first time - warm welcome, lovely room, great breakfast and wonderful hosts.

Greeted like old friends with a welcome glass of wine after a day Christmas shopping - perfect timing.

Everything is perfect and they most definitely deserve their place as number 1 in Newark

Room Tip: They are all lovely and immaculately clean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Lovely to see you again too, it is like old friends coming home and we are always delighted when guests return. Newark is a lovely place at Christmas and there is still time for more shopping!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2012

My third visit and still the the same warm welcome, very well furnished and comfortable room and splendid breakfast with a good choice. A most enjoyable stay, excellent value and much looking forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Paul how kind of you to write a review, we were very pleased to hold your annual Dinner at Compton House again and thank you for posting such a nice review, you can come back again!
Best wishes Lisa and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

This might be one of the best B&Bs I have ever had the pleasure of staying in. I only wish we could have stayed longer. We drove up from London on a Friday night and was greeted by Lisa at 9:45pm with a lovely meal and a glass of red in front of the fire.

The room was gorgeous, confortable and quiet and the house feels instantly like a home away from home.

Breakfast was delicious (love those spiced fruits!!!) and Lisa's company was delightful.

I would thoroughly recommend Compton House for anyone looking for accommodation in Newark and the surrounding areas. It really is a lovely place to lay your head.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LisaDH, Owner at Compton House, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
We are absolutely delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, thank you so much for a really lovely review, it is most appreciated and we hope to see you again, Lisa and Mark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Compton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Compton House

Address: 117 Baldertongate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1RY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Newark-on-Trent
Hotel Class:4 star — Compton House 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Compton House is a charming and elegant Grade II listed townhouse with seven luxury ensuite bedrooms. Five minutes walk from the historic market square of Newark on Trent. Fabulous breakfasts are made to order. All rooms offer complimentary toiletries, big soft fluffy towels and luxurious bed linen. Free wi-fi throughout the house. As part of our service, we are happy to organize taxis, book restaurant tables and theater tickets, all free of charge. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Compton House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.