We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect Overnight Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Georgian Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Georgian Townhouse to your Saves list
The Georgian Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   119, Baldertongate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1RY, England   |  
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A Perfect Overnight Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The Georgian Townhouse was made the perfect overnight stay. Clean and smartly decorated, the 'Courtyard' Room with adjoining room was everything we had hoped for. Christine is on hand to offer her advice on where you might wish to eat out.

Breakfast takes place in a bright and airy, cellar room. A range of fresh fruits, cereals and cooked breakfasts will all delight.

Travel into town is a refreshing and simple walk of about a quarter go a mile.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    4
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
32
2
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

A beautiful Georgian building overlooking a park. Fully redone with tasteful amenities including really nice bathrooms. Lots of light and space and a very nice host. What more can you ask for? This will likely be the nicest place I stay on my UK trip. Thank you Chris.

Room Tip: I haven't seen all the rooms but I doubt there is a bad room in the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Another excellent stay at the Georgian Townhouse. As the other reviewers say the house is immaculately furnished and spotlessly clean. I think we have stayed in every room now and they are all lovely. Never had a problem with noise. Chris is very friendly and welcoming and breakfast is fab. Highly recommended.

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

I came across The Georgian Townhouse in Newark quite by accident. But what a surprise! I was warmly greeted by the owner Christine, who showed me to an immaculate, though smallish, room at the top of this historic Townhouse. The room was bright and airy with the usual tea making facilities but with addition of a teapot and a china mug. There was also a clock radio and a quality hairdryer. Not only was there the usual 'hotel guide' but also helpful information on things to do in Newark. There was also another helpful booklet giving details of restaurants not only in Newark, but in the surrounding area. Most helpful and time-saving especially when one has a short time in one place. The house is spotlessly clean and about a five minute walk from the main shopping area and market place.

There is a comfortable lounge for guests use at the front of the house. A selection of newspapers, magazines and informative leaflets are available. The front and back garden terraces are also there for guests use.

Breakfast is served in a very large kitchen-diner arrangement on the lower ground floor. Christine cook's one's choice from the daily selection written on the blackboard to order and within sight. There is a good self-service selection of fresh fruit, yoghurts, croissants and quality jams/marmalade with a good choice of coffee and tea.

This is a great find in Newark and I have no hesitation in recommending it. In my opinion it is hard to find fault. I couldn't!

Room Tip: There are five rooms at the Georgian Townhouse and I believe all are of the same high standard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire - England
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
63 hotel reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

If you love the Premier Inn, this place is not for you. It just smacks of class throughout. The rooms may be slightly smaller than some chain hotels but they are beautifully furnished and so delightfully quiet. The breakfast made by Christine was excellent and so nice to see it all being cooked in the same room.The breakfast is served in the basement which is a fabulous room. Christine made me feel very welcome from the minute I arrived to the minute I left. There are a couple of lovely places to sit and ponder your situation or life in general; the garden and the lounge are both lovely places to relax in. The only slight downside was the parking which can be a bit of a pain. However after 17.00 the road outside was empty. Christine does have private parking but you need to find somewhere to park first to arrange that. Overall I would highly recommend this lovely hotel and I will definitely stay again. Enough said!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

A lovely stay. Only one night, but the service was second to none, the room was excellent and breakfast was hearty and wholesome with a large choice to suit any palate. Very relaxing and we hope to stay again sometime.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

My experience here was an absoloute delight. Far superior to hotels I have stayed in. The room was wonderful (best nights sleep I have ever had away from home!). The breakfast was outstanding and any health conscious guest will have a wealth of choice. Whilst i dont like being away from home I hope I will have the opportunity to stay here again in the near future because the experience was fabulous. Thankyou!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Georgian Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Georgian Townhouse

Address: 119, Baldertongate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1RY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free Breakfast
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Newark-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Georgian Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury bed and breakfast accommodation ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your The Georgian Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Georgian Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.