We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“English Charm - Twee is for Me!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Grange Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Grange Hotel to your Saves list
The Grange Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   73 London Road, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1RZ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Newark-on-Trent
Victoria, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“English Charm - Twee is for Me!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

I loved everything about The Grange Hotel and I hope it never updates to resemble every other boring hotel in the world. I'm a 35 year old Canadian traveller and I lust for something with local, traditional charm. Thank you to The Grange for providing an experience that was comfortable, cosy and unpretentious. The service was impeccable and friendly.
I'd stay there again in a heartbeat and recommend it to anyone who is looking for a bit of character.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    146
    34
    8
    3
    0
See reviews for
39
63
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed here for one night and thought that this was a really nice hotel. Having read other reviews regarding the furnishings/décor I personally felt that these were a bit unfair as they completely suit the character of the building. We were very impressed with the cleanliness and the attention to detail. The walk into town is fine, (about 15 minutes). The courtyard and secret garden are just superb. Didn't have an evening meal but thought that the breakfast was fantastic.

We will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Arrived here at around 8.30pm on a Sunday night only to be told the kitchen was shut that night. Given that I had booked with convenience in mind, this was rather irritating. Staff were otherwise very helpful. Bit of a trek into the main part of town and also to the railway station. Rooms were nice, but it did feel a little like staying at your granny's. There is some charm to that, however. Breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sandra1919, Owner at The Grange Hotel, responded to this review, September 15, 2013
Thank you for your constructive comments, it is always helpful to get feed back from our guests

On our website we state that the restaurant is closed on a Sunday evening. It is unfortunate that you did not mention when you made your reservation online, that you would require a meal on arrival which would have given us the opportunity to contact you and discuss the alternative options

I trust this will not prevent you from staying with us on a future visit to Newark
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

Booked for me by the office and after a long day working and travelling it was absolutely perfect, close to town (£3 cab ride) parking, comfy beds, clean and with a really nice little garden / courtyard where I relaxed with a cold beer from the bar.

Didn’t eat there but next time im in that area id stay again, room had a little bit to much furniture in it for me but its great to see businesses like this thriving in a world of faceless chains

Room Tip: My room was a bit tight on space, could have done without the table and chairs in it so request a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

If you're driving from London to the north, Newark is a handy, history-rich stop. Glowing reviews and an evident fan base indicated a stay at the Grange. We found it a perfectly decent small hotel, although slightly out of the 'action' down by the beautiful Trent river. The 'secret' garden and clue-up staff, good although not brilliant breakfast, and spotlessly clean rooms were all very pleasant, although the price tag is, I feel, a tad high. The dated decor was also a faint disappointment, but everything is well-kept and it's professionally run. If you need a pitstop or are pining to attend one of the big antiques fairs that are a feature here, you could do significantly worse.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013 via mobile

Room and en suite roomy and spotless. Ambience classy but unfussy. Staff friendly with some rare and welcome "old fashioned" politeness. Dinner not available on Sunday evenings. We enjoyed our stay very much.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake District
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We could only stay one night but are we glad we chose the Grange, the service given to us was fantastic, the breakfast & evening meal excellent. We went to the Secret Garden after dinner & had our drinks there, it was a lovely end to a great evening. We will definitely be returning to the Grange in the very near future.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Grange Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Grange Hotel

Address: 73 London Road, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1RZ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Newark-on-Trent
#1 Business Hotel in Newark-on-Trent
#2 Family Hotel in Newark-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Grange Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Grange Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grange Hotel Newark

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Grange Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.