We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't fault. Highly recommended” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Newark Lodge Guest House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Newark Lodge Guest House to your Saves list
Newark Lodge Guest House
5.0 of 5 Guest house   |   5 Bullpit Road | Balderton, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3PT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
London
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Can't fault. Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for one night for a wedding and could not fault this lovely guesthouse. Wonderful host Mike and his wife took incredibly good care of their home and their rooms, really lovely, clean spacious and welcoming.
I'm just sorry I had too many 'lemonades' at the wedding and missed my breakfast!
If you're looking around for a place to stay in Newark and come across this place, stop looking, book now.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    82
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
40
8
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Mike and Sheila were very friendly and welcoming on arrival, and very accommodating throughout our stay. The property has genuine character, and this is echoed in the rooms styling, mixed with antiques and artifacts. The rooms were clean, bright and airy, and well maintained during the stay. Everything that we needed and more had been thought of, or provided if asked and the breakfast was superb. Would highly recommend to anyone needing somewhere to stay in Newark, even if it's just to sample the breakfast.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Mike and Sheila, amazing hosts. The whole house was spotless and the finishing touches leave you wanting for nothing.
Mike is a wonderful host and serves up one of the best breakfasts we've ever tasted.
Couldn't recommend Newark Lodge more highly.

Room Tip: Room 2 was lovely with huge bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontypool, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

It was such a surprise when pulling into the B&B it was like another world a beautiful house and the welcome was excellent. The room was really gorgeous and the bed was so comfortable. The breakfast was cooked to perfection and the hosting skills of Mike were brilliant. I would definitely want to stay there again also exceptional value.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wangaratta, Victoria, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

After normally staying in hotels, I was amazed at how homely this B & B was. Mike did a great job of ensuring I was well looked after. Very comfortable and immaculate place to stay. Top notch cooked breakfast. On my day of leaving I was unable to get a local taxi, Mike was to the rescue and dropped me off in town. I would highly recommend them.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We could not fault the hospitality,service, food, cleanliness or comfort. A small B&B with hotel facilities (except a bar but Chesters pub a couple of minutes walk away made up for that-it also served good food at reasonable prices). We will certainly stay again if in the area.

Room Tip: If all the rooms are like ours it's not necessary to choose.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minden, Germany
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here several times and never were disappointed. Mike and Sheila are great hosts. Room and bath immaculately clean. Mike's humour makes every stay special - as does the perfect breakfast. Safe parking right in front of building. Chesters pub with good food just one minute on foot away. We will come again in the autumn.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Newark Lodge Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newark Lodge Guest House

Address: 5 Bullpit Road | Balderton, Newark-on-Trent NG24 3PT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Newark-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Newark Lodge Guest House 5*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Newark Lodge Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Newark Lodge Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.