We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good atmosphere,poor food.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Zizzi - Newark

Zizzi - Newark
The Ossington Castle Gate | Beast Market Hill, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1BH, England
01636 679 599
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #116 of 187 Restaurants in Newark-on-Trent
Price range: $15 - $38
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: At Zizzi we like to do things a little differently. We don’t do over-complicated recipes or scrimpy portion sizes. We’re all about the well-chosen ingredients, simply put together to make exceptional Italian food.Situated in probably the most prominent location in Newark, 'The Ossington', Zizzi boasts great views of the castle and the River Trent. Having been the focal point of the town for centuries we even have our own ghost that can be seen floating around the basement.Dine al fresco with an outdoor dining area for sunny weather.
Edwinstowe, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good atmosphere,poor food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Lovely ambience and attentive staff but the food is unimaginitive and limited.I had the thinnest,sloppiest lasagna and my partner eventually had the sea bream,(when they managed to find it!) which was over cooked and poorly presented.We had just the two mains as we didn't want to risk another disappointing desert,a bottle of wine at a cost of just under £40.we won't be returning,go to Pizza Hut for this type of Italian!.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    84
    44
    24
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“It's Zizzi but with a twist”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

Lovely situation on the river as it is and loads of eating space so not too close to fellow diners. Zizzi menu but with local specialities and staff were attentive and helpful. Fast service, good value, if anyone has not eaten at Zizzi's then try this one first.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottinghamshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Alot for not alot”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

After many recommendations that I should try the Zizzis resturant, I finally succumbed to the entisement of the reviews.
The ambience of the resturant is very nice, viewing traditional pizza oven to the view of the local river.

The service was prompt and the waitress very polite. The main problem I found with the place, was the quantity of the food you pay for. I and my friends had 3 different variety pizzas, while my girlfriend had a lasagne (which was barely thicker than the skin off a rice pudding). All of which, are pretty petite eaters but still left feeling unfulfilled and after paying nearlly 90 in total (including a single bottle of wine). We had to go to the local chip shop on the way home which is a shame, as i think we paid enough.

All in all, lovely ambience but unfortunately the quantity just wasn't there.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

One of the better Zizzi's, lovely old building with loads of character and always nice and busy which adds to atmosphere. Superb large outside eating area overlooking the castle and river, a really very nice spot on a warm evening. Food is typical Zizzi standard, won't win any awards but tasty enough and good value for money, particularly if you use a money off voucher. Recommended.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“birthday treat”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Lots of atmosphere, friendly staff, excelent food with a good choice.first class service. Close to the town centre.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Zizzi - Newark also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Zizzi - Newark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Zizzi - Newark, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.