We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No 1 in Newark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Danube

Danube
25 Castle Gate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1AZ, England (Formerly The Danube)
+44 1636 610661
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: German, Eastern European, Central European, Healthy
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Newark-on-Trent
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“No 1 in Newark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

so nice to have a different eating place ,food delicious,service tip top,and love the in between course extras,will certainly visit again.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    39
    12
    6
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Food, Good Service, Give it a Try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We visited the Danube with two friends who had been before and thought we would enjoy it, they were not mistaken. It's a small intimate place with a great family feel serving Eastern European food in which they take great pride and they have every reason to be proud, the whole meal was delicious. We had two sharing plates between us which consisted of Pork patties on a bed of beetroot, Warm goats cheese and a beautiful Duck and Game pate, accompanied by lovely warm rolls and butter. All four main courses were different as were the vegetables ordered, everyone was highly delighted with their meals. Only two of us had desert but I can only say that it was home-made and wonderful. What a wonderful surprise to find a new place so good and so close to home. It's not expensive for the quality given, the service is good and efficient and I can see that it will soon be busy every day it opens. We will be back there very soon and on this visit recommend it highly.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmslow Cheshire
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Excellent food good service top value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

We have been to Newark before but this is our first visit to The Danube and it won't be our last. The food and wine was excellent with polite timely service. It deserves to be no1 in Newark! All the food is sourced locally excellently cooked and served with pleasure.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Excellent service and wonderful food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed with the variety of dishes. Food cooked to perfection and service attentive and friendly.Good selection of wines and beers.Nice ambience created by owner Ramona, who was a mine of information on eastern Europe. Will be returning soon to sample the goulash!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Something Different For a Change, Worth a Try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

We visit Newark quite often when getting the motorhome serviced etc. and wanted a change from the usual Chinese/Italian/indian/pub restaraunt's. What a pleasant surprise, this is a well placed restaurant serving eastern European food and a good selection of artisan beers. Very good service in pleasant surroundings. I had Frickadellan for the starter, similar to a shami kebab but with a more subtle flavour, for main course I chose the slow roasted pork with garlic and herbs.a very good choice ! this was accompanied by mustard seed mash and roast vegetables. All dishes were well cooked and flavoured. I tried the dark wheat beer which was very good the wife drinking the house red which she enjoyed. Surprisingly we both managed desserts and again couldn't fault the presentation of flavour. A nice personal touch is the owner visiting all the tables to have a chat and make sure everyone is happy with the food and service without being too intrusive. We visited on a Friday evening at 8.30 and the restaurant was full which is always a good sign. The cost for 3 courses with drinks was less than £60
In summary a very pleasant little restaurant serving food and drink a little different from the norm. We will return and have no fears about recommending it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Danube also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Danube? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Danube, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.