We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Church Spa

Church Spa
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Newark-on-Trent
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Church Spa
Save
You added Church Spa to your Saves list
High Street | East Markham, Newark-on-Trent, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 33 Newark-on-Trent B&B and Inns
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Absolutely Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

I have stayed here with my daughter and two friends overnight for my daughter's 21st birthday. I have also had a spa evening (x 2) with different friends and most recently a spa day with another friend.

Rachel and Dan's attention to detail is first class. The pool, jaccuzzi and steam room are so relaxing. When we stayed overnight, there was nothing that was too much trouble - collecting a take-away for us, accommodating a gluten-free menu, and keeping us topped up with everything we needed.

The spa visits are just the same - and so, so good to ring that bell and walk through that front door into another world - met with face towels to start that experience of deep relaxation.

We've strayed outside to the ground floor patio open from the pool, and the balcony area on the first floor - both provide private areas to relax and drink in the surroundings and atmosphere.

Nothing is too much trouble - and I would go again at the drop of a hat! Will be on the phone again soon to book again - Rachel and Dan you are doing a fantastic job and the facilities are second to none.

Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, May 11, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience and thank you for your lovely comments. We strive to provide a superior service bespoke to each guest.
Your desire to return is the highest praise we can hope to achieve.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours Truly
Rachel, Director
Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    27
    2
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
12
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

This is an AMAZING place! The fact that you get a first class spa facility to yourselves is truly unique. I visited with friends and the owner was fantastic, making sure our every need was catered for. It is absolutely beautiful and we came away feeling truly relaxed and refereshed. We can't wait to book again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa.
Yours Truly
Rachel@Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
durham
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I booked church spa for my partner as a surprise. When I booked it I couldn't believe the concept that if you booked you got the place to yourself. When we arrived it didn't disappoint the church is beautifully renovated with every modern convenience. The owner Rachel is a lovely person, nothing was too much trouble and she was at hand if we needed anything. The rooms are gorgeous with all facilities included. It was lovely to have the pool and jacuzzi to ourselves and not having to make small talk to strangers. I had booked a back massage with Rachel for my partner which he thoroughly enjoyed. We had a wonderful sleep and then enjoyed a full cooked breakfast. The spa has a lovely lounge area with an outside sun terrace which would be lovely in the summertime, very private. There is also an outside courtyard outside the pool area. Everything about church spa is first class. We felt rested and relaxed when we left and like we had made a new friend in Rachel who was an amazing host. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, April 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience.
Thank you for your lovely comments.
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at Church Spa and look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Yours Truly
Rachel, Director@Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We love to visit Church Spa and will definitely be making trips again in the future. The service is second to none! The facilities are fantastic and you have them all to yourself! A truly wonderful experience - we felt very special, extremely pampered and most of all relaxed and ready to face the world again!

It almost makes you want to keep this little gem to yourself, but it would be a crying shame for others not to experience this wonderful place!

Thanks Rachel and all at Church Spa for such a special time, we treasure the time we spend with you!

Room Tip: All the rooms are the same and very spacious, quiet and relaxing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. It was a pleasure to see you again. Thank you for your lovely comments. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to Church Spa in the future.
Yours Truly
Rachel, Director, Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shireoaks, null, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2013

Took my daughter and her 6 friends to church spa for her birthday they had the best time going in pool and jacuzzi. They loved there facial and foot massages as well. The owners were lovely and made us very welcome. Would highly recommend this for a child's birthday party we all had the best time had one happy daughter. Thanks so much and we will be visiting again soon. Once again thanks x

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
We are delighted to know the birthday celebrations were enjoyed at Church Spa. It was an honour for us to celebrate this wonderful occasion with you. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Yours Truly
Rachel, Director, Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matlock, Derbyshire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here with a couple of friends, and we had a lovely restful and relaxing break. The best bit was that you have the place to yourselves, so you aren't surrounded by strangers or have to queue to use anything. The place has been renovated to an excellent standard, and the facilities are great!
The breakfast that Rachel provided was delicious, and all freshly made, and it didn't feel pressured or rushed in any way.
I would definitely go back - and in fact, we are going to!!
It would be great with a small group of friends or just as a couple - it's lovely!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. Your desire to return is the highest praise we can hope to achieve. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon.
Yours Truly
Rachel, Director, Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012 via mobile

A beautiful place to unwind and relax .The warm welcome from the host made you feel at ease .The attention to detail in each room was beautiful .Nothing was to much trouble .All requests were met with a smile .Rachel is a perfect host .What a gem .A perfect place to chill out .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChurchSpa, Owner at Church Spa, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your Church Spa experience. It is a pleasure to receive positive feedback and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay.
Yours Truly
Rachel, Director, Church Spa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Church Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Church Spa

Address: High Street | East Markham, Newark-on-Trent, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Newark-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A late 19th-century former Methodist church sympathetically restored into this luxurious and peaceful bed & breakfast with spa, nestled in the enchanting village of East Markham. A conservation village in an area of outstanding natural beauty. Perfectly located and within easy reach of many historic towns and points of interest sitting on the very edge of Sherwood Forest. With its three beautifully appointed contemporary bedrooms, Church Spa offers not only a truly exclusive luxury bed & breakfast experience. Offering absolute tranquility within the in-house Spa, there is an Oasis of exclusive relaxation facilities awaiting guests; you can bathe in privacy, in the exclusive indoor heated swimming pool, use the therapy hot tub, with a host of water features to ease away those aches and pains, perfect to loosen you up, should you chose one of the many body treatments. The more indulgent will take advantage of the Spa's Treatment Room and lose themselves in a Magical Menu of Beauty, Aesthetic and Holistic treatments, Residential Detox and Cleansing Packages, Spa Days and Twilight Packages, tailored for your specific requirements by accredited Therapists. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Church Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.