We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wheelgate” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Wheelgate Park

Wheelgate Park
White Post | Farnsfield, Newark-on-Trent NG22 8HX, England
01623 882773
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Attraction details
Nottingham, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Wheelgate”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

Wheelgate really is a fun day out, we took our niece and nephew and were acting more childish than them. the entry prices are a tad expensive and the food as well. the indoor giant play area really should not be missed 3 levels of fun :) When we went the outdoor pool had also just been built although it was waaay too cold for me to do anything more than paddle!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    116
    69
    15
    15
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Party celebrations for 7 year old!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

My son had been to Wheelgate with his holiday kids club numerous times and had asked me if he could have his birthday party there. Ayer investigating the party options it was extremely good value, especially when you compare the price to a 2 hour soft play party.
He picked 8 friends to go, we arrived on mass and had a thoroughly enjoyable 6 hours at the park. There are no thrill rides, the roller coaster was about the biggest heart pounder, but there is plenty of other stuff to do. The outdoor play areas were well utilised by my son and all his friends, as we're the indoor bits in the Pharoes palace.
We'd booked birthday dinner in the Alien Galaxy area, the food was served quite promptly and looked ok, there was no pudding provided, but we did have a cake we'd bought ourselves, although we had to arrange to light the candles etc for this ourselves. I also had to pay for individual sauces, at 20p a go they are not cheap when every child was getting through 2 or 3! A small gripe, they could at least get one free per meal.
Anyway the whole day was lots of fun, my son and his friends had a mega time and they all went home happy and tired!
For a whole days worth you cannot really beat the value this offered, I would also return just for a day out!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Laughed all day, if you a child at heart it's great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We went today (Halloween) 4 adults 3 children aged 8 5 & 2. They all loved it something for all ages. They particularly enjoyed the indoor slides and play areas. Their Dad was also on there for Supervision purposes but I suspect he enjoyed vertical drop slide more than the chlidren. The staff went all out for Halloween scary witches doing the rounds, quizzes, treasure hunts, pumpkin carving, people that you think are manakins move!!! And scare the grown ups. Scary cabin walk, very scary be warned. Have read some people grumbling about price but online price very reasonable and it is a full day of activities. Great value for the money and the Robinhood Water Park looks like it will be amazing in the summer.
Lots of animal to see both fluffy and cute or creepy crawlies.
Top tips *take a picnic & flask - food is ok but unhealthy burger chips etc
* take the kids clean socks many bouncy castles etc outside

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
7 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Outstanding value for money.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

4 adults 3 kids, online booking £9.99 pp. Bargain price for an all day attraction. O.k, things look a bit tired around the edges but there's something to do all day, inside and out, rain or shine. Food is burger and chips fayre but you can take a picnic and eat inside or out. Great educational interactive stuff with the animals as long as you don't mind caged animals, reptiles and birds of prey. Lots of rides and indoor play areas for all ages. I think unbeatable value for money. I think people's complaints about miserable looking staff are wide of the mark and to complain about the staff making sure they are safely strapped in is moronic. You'd be quick enough to sue if they fell out!. I'll be back. :)

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“More than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We took our grandson 2 to Wheelgate and were very surprised at how big the site was and the variety of the themes on offer. We spent a lot of time in the covered areas because it was a cool and windy day. There was plenty to do, from the slides/climbing frames/ball pits to rides and air cannons. There are raptor displays,pony rides, boating pool, animals to feed. It is an adventure park and mini zoo combined. We all thoroughly enjoyed the place and will go back in the summer to experience the water slides etc.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wheelgate Park also viewed

Melton Mowbray, Leicestershire
Retford, Nottinghamshire
 
Farnsfield, Nottinghamshire
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Wheelgate Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheelgate Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.