We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be excellent!!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Stray's

Stray's
16-20 Middlegate, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1AJ, England
01636700597
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 176 Restaurants in Newark-on-Trent
Price range: $8 - $49
Cuisines: Dessert, Spanish, Café, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Breakfasts, made-to-order sandwiches and lite bites, made-to-order lunch menu, home-made cakes (made daily) using local producers and suppliers wherever possible.Friday nights - Tapas & Live Jazz - menu available from 5pm - live jazz from 6pm with solo artists, duos, trios and the occasional quintet- all included in the price of your meal.Last Thursday of the month - Live Jazz Sessions from 7.30pm with lite menu.
Newark-on-Trent, United Kingdom
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Used to be excellent!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

I bought my family in for a 'cake' treat but was very disappointed. The date and walnut looked delicious, but it was the dryest old thing I have ever tasted......The coffee was OK..............I think that they must be making the sponges in advance, freezing them, then putting lovely decorations on, as this cake was hardly cut into

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatShort, Owner at Stray's, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi maisiemargaret,

I'm sorry you didn't enjoy your cake. It sounds like it was baked too long and really shouldn't have gone out to you. With all the cakes being home-made, there is always a chance that a bake may 'go wrong' and it seems you had such a cake. In light of your 'review', we've added another check to our systems so thank you for bringing it to our attention - albeit a shame you didn't come to us when you were at the shop, rather than via an internet review site.

And you mention the coffee being 'ok'. I'm not sure what you look for in a good coffee because you haven't said but it seems from the majority of reviews and regular customers we have that our coffee is one of the best you'll have. Again, maybe next time, mention something to us when you're in the shop so we can make you a different drink, rather than posting it on the internet after the event.

Regards

Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    90
    32
    12
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Faultless.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

been to Strays many times for tea/coffee and never disappointed, so thought it would be nice to try Tapas/Jazz evening. Can't fault it, from walking in to be greeted by cheery young lady. Food faultless (and plenty of it) served by a waitress with good knowledge of her food and wines - her enthusiasm shone. We will recommend to friends and family, and guess what - we will be back because you've got it so right.


  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatShort, Owner at Stray's, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi paddywa,

that's really good to hear. My sister (co-owner, Liz) read your review and it was she who served you. And it's really gratifying when regular daytime customers go over to the dark side and enjoy it! It means you trust us and that's something we aspire to achieve.

I'm really glad you enjoyed your visit and feel free to tell as many friends and family as you like! We look forward to seeing you at Stray's again soon and thanks for posting your review.

Regards

Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Ended up here when visiting Newark, after recommendation from family. We'd never had tapas before, but the staff were all really helpful and friendly, but not too pushy. They made some excellent recommendations and suggestions about what we should try. We visited on a Friday night, so there was live Jazz playing, which added to the lovely atmosphere - it's really homely and welcoming inside. The food was delicious (including the cakes/desserts, of which we purchased extras to take home!), and the service was perfect. All in all a great evening out, thank you!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatShort, Owner at Stray's, responded to this review, August 24, 2013
Hi Fiona L,

thanks for your review of our business. I'm glad you came in during your stay in Newark and really pleased you enjoyed your visit. We work hard to offer the best experience possible and I'm glad we ticked several boxes for you on the night.

Thanks for taking the time to post on TripAdvisor.

regards

Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Always feed the kids first!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Had lunch at Strays yesterday. Food, once we got it, was fine but quite lengthy delays, especially since we arrived before noon! Great portions, good quality ingredients and pleasant staff. But they really must pay attention to the clientele. When ordering a meal for a child and adults together, it is just not acceptable to serve the adults got food first and then wait for the children's food. Please just do it the other way round! Such a simple thing but Strays too often get this wrong (3rd time it has happened) and we end up with hot adults good getting cold while we wait for "the lunch box". Easy to fix and otherwise lovely..Just make the kids food first!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatShort, Owner at Stray's, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi LynGreen,

thanks for your review.

I'm sorry you feel we don't listen to our customers and appreciate that you want your kids fed either before or at the same time as the grown-ups.

As it says on our menus and signs in the shop, we make everything to order and send it out as soon as it's ready - if our sandwich prep is very busy, as it was on Saturday and our hot food is not as busy, that is why the food comes out separately.

We do it this way due to the number of customers we see each day. When you next visit, please let us know when you order your food and we'll make sure your order comes out together.

I'm glad you liked everything else and look forward to seeing you and your family again soon.

Regards

Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Lovely place for a morning coffee”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013

Stopped here on the way to Cambridge and enjoyed the toasted teacake and coffee so much we called back a week later on the way home! All cakes and sandwiches looked lovely.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MatShort, Owner at Stray's, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Hi Brock59,

thanks for your review. Glad you enjoyed your visit and that you were compelled to return before going back up north.

Regards

Mat
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stray's also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Stray's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stray's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.