We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Last Minute Booking After Change of Venue for Agility Competition” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Willoughby House B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Willoughby House B&B to your Saves list
Willoughby House B&B
Main Street | Norwell, Newark-on-Trent NG23 6JJ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Olney, United Kingdom
1 review
“Last Minute Booking After Change of Venue for Agility Competition”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

I have been meaning to write for a couple of weeks now.... I have to write to say a big, big thank you for the most super three night stay at Willoughby House. We stayed in the annex which has the most comfortable bed that I have ever slept in! The room just makes you go ' wow ' the moment you step through the door. The hospitality received was second to none and the homemade flapjacks there on arrival made us weary travellers very happy and satisfied. I would recomend to anyone visiting the area. Many thanks, wonderful experience

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
16
32
2
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Marlborough, Wiltshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

What a GEM. Endorse all that other 5 star reviewers have written.
Beautifull period house, friendly and relaxed owners. Great room, very comfortable and with everything provided including fresh milk and delicious home made flapjack.
Great meal at the Carlton Beck five minutes by car, and excellent breakfast before departing.
A memorable visit to Norwell.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a wonderful 2 night stay over the August bank holiday. We stayed in the annex which was very well equipped with a large comfortable bed, two large sofas, a wonderul rolltop bath and a very generous hospitality tray including homemade flapjacks. Everything you could want from a room and extremely good value at £100 per night

The local pub 3 mins down the road does excellent homecooked food (The Plough) - no microwave meals here and a 30 min walk takes to another excellet couple of pubs that do good food at Carlton Beck

Breakfasts were cooked to order and served in a sumptious room. Was nice to sit with other guests

All in all a good stay and has it is near the local kennels where we homed our dog for the weekend I imagine we will be back

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ede
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

Just back from my trip to the Americana Festival in Winthorpe - on- Trent.
Had a sensational stay at Willoughby House. They even arranged a free parking for my old 6 meter long Lincoln. Sensational room, great bed...and a tasty breakfast!
Super friendly owners.
Just compliments!

Room Tip: Great pub with friendly owner and locals, just around the corner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

We booked Willoughby House on a recommendation in a wedding invite and we were not disappointed. Being new parents with a 9 month old, we are always a little apprehensive when staying somewhere new, especially if it's above a pub and could be noisy! However it was a very nice stay over. A beautiful building with very good size rooms -we stayed in Stamford room - great for a small family with cot. The staff were very warm and welcoming, they could not do enough to help. The bed was very comfortable, nice bathroom with quality bathroom soaps etc. The pub food was excellent good sizes, very good quality. The beer garden is also excellent with lovely views. We hope to stay again!

Room Tip: Stamford room very spacious for small families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

We have just returned from a night's stay at Willoughby House and can't recommend it highly enough. Beautiful home, great welcome and food and our 2 year old son Arthur was welcomed so warmly, thoroughly enjoying having Scamp the cat to chase and doing 'office work' with Sarah. We felt thoroughly at home in an instant.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crieff, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

Our room in the upper part of the barn across the way from main house was beyond stunning with the log burner already lit and warming it before our arrival. The attention to detail in both the furnishings and the hospitality tray, reading material etc. was second to none. This, coupled with a wonderfully comfortable bed, lashings of hot water for soaking in the bath, friendly hosts and a top-notch breakfast, made for a luxurious stay which was well worth the money. We will definitely return

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Willoughby House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Willoughby House B&B

Address: Main Street | Norwell, Newark-on-Trent NG23 6JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 35 B&Bs / Inns in Newark-on-Trent
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Willoughby House B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Willoughby House B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.