We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem in Newark” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Hollies B&B

The Hollies B&B
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Hollies B&B to your Saves list
The Hollies B&B
41 Victoria Street, Newark-on-Trent NG24 4UU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ipswich, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Hidden gem in Newark”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here whilst I was in the area for business and have booked to return each time I am working locally. A warm welcome, excellent breakfast at a large table with the other guests and an exceptionally comfortable room all add up to an ideal place to stay and good value for money.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    12
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
13
40
11
19
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holywell, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014

We stayed while visiting for a wedding and couldn't be made to feel more welcome! The owner was very accommodating and nothing was too much trouble. The room was very clean and furnished beautifully, and breakfast was delicious! I can't recommend The Hollies B&B enough!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

We were attending a wedding near Newark and came across this perfect little B&B, our hostess was delightful and the room was ideal. Clean and well decorated.

The wedding started early and we requested an early check in, which was happily provided.

Breakfast the next morning was wonderful too.

I can't recommend the place enough!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monaco
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

With virtually no hotels in Newark, my husband and I decided to give the B&B scene a go. We started with the Hollies and were pleasantly surprised.

Hardwood floors, fresh white linens, and soft towels. There is a tea set up and bottled water in the room, which was nice.

You do hear a lot of street noise through the closed windows, but I suppose that's to be expected.

Breakfast was very nice and Pamela was a lovely hostess.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

Stayed here with my father on a business trip, very welcoming and comfortable. Room was beautiful and clean, bathroom exquisite and such a treat. Lovely homemade breakfast awaited us in the morning and it felt like home.
Gorgeous dog too!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

Stayed here last night with my wife. Good value (£85 incl.really good breakfast). Room was super, owner helpful (re. local restaurants), decor v good. Covenient location (10 mins walk to town centre and restaurants). We would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urk, The Netherlands
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

Can't fault my stay here. Beautiful room and well catered for during the stay. A friendly and personal service was given throughout. Parking readily available nearby. I certainly recommend this bed and breakfast.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hollies B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hollies B&B

Address: 41 Victoria Street, Newark-on-Trent NG24 4UU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Nottinghamshire > Newark-on-Trent
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Newark-on-Trent
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
An elegant Georgian listed townhouse, built in the 1830s as a gentleman's residence. The Hollies was refurbished to a high standard and we are located only a few minutes walk to the town centre, riverside and close to the marina and restaurants. Dinner is available by arrangement. Wonderful atmosphere. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your The Hollies B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hollies B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.