We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“enjoyed but !!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Rushton's

Rushton's
41/42, Stodman Street, Newark-on-Trent NG24 1AW, England
+44 1636 605214
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 177 Restaurants in Newark-on-Trent
Price range: $12 - $34
Cuisines: European, Seafood, Bistro
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Description: Award winning restaurant and private dining with lounge since 2002.Lunch lightbites/Daily menus and Full A la Carte always available.Pre and post dining lounge for cocktails and coffee.Private dining room for upto 12 guests.Relaxed service with extensive wine list.
Newark, null, United Kingdom
1 review
“enjoyed but !!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

great starters and main course, very disappointed with cheese board definitely not worth the price. overall quite good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    120
    43
    20
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

We ate at Rushton's because it had been personally recommended and was highly rated on trip advisor. The service was good and efficient. The quality of the food was variable - the cider and lentil loaf was nothing special, whilst those who had the pork said it was good. The bottle of wine was unremarkable, and overpriced. Overall, not good value for money, too variable in quality, and overpriced

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
108 reviews 108 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The staff were very friendly and the food was obviously cooked completely on site as they knew exactly what ingredients were in everything. This makes it so much easier for those with dietry requirements or intolerances. My list was no problem to them and they even made suggestions about different courses and different offers they had on. The food was fantastic and each course was just the right size. I really enjoy fish and mine was perfectly cooked. The wine list was reasonably priced and had a good range of wines even though it was not a long list.
We would all certainly go back there again - we had a very enjoyable evening.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“great first meal - made us want to come back”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

we were given a voucher for a £30 2-course meal for 2 with a bottle of wine as a gift. After an early glitch, when we were told they would not combine our "offer" with any other, and that all they were offering when we wanted to go was offers .... we persisted and found another opportunity to use the voucher, and were pleased we had given Rushton's a second chance.

The faintly and pleasantly old-fashioned greeting put us at ease. The quirky 1960's cocktail bar décor caught our imaginations and made us reminisce. The quiet, unobtrusive and pleasant music allowed us to converse. and the Virgin Marys we enjoyed felt totally appropriate, perhaps especially with the anachronistic olives (it is very much a 2013 version of the 60's). And we were allowed to personalise our preferred mix of chilli/celery salt or not.

Everything seemed to go very smoothly, we had ordered from the menu and so our starter order of the duck, bacon, black pudding salad and the fishcakes arrived just as our tomato juices were being drained, naturally. And the portion sizes were just right, the tastes interesting, the preparation spot on. We just aren't used to things going so well!

The house white wine was a perfectly acceptable white (Cab Sav, I think), and went well with our chosen main courses, pork loin chop and sea bass. If I wanted to be picky, the main courses were light on vegetables (half a baby pak choy and a desert-spoonful of a macédoine of mixed vegetables) and heavy on potato, but what there was was tasty. Also, I had a feeling that the very tasty gravy with my pork was in fact mainly Bisto.

The service was prompt, amiable and efficient, so we will be back when we're next in Newark.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mansfield, Nottinghamshire
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great place for pre-theatre dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

I chose this venue simply from the reviews I read here. When I rang to book and mentioned that we were going straight to the theatre afterwards and didn't want to feel rushed I was advised that they did actually open 30minutes earlier than the website sated so that was a little bonus.
On arriving we were invited to enjoy a drink while studying the menus......Newark Fizz, their own cocktail is delicious :) We all chose from the Chefs Menu and it was brilliant value for money.....3 courses for £15.95 and we were able to have a relaxed evening, sharing well priced wine and a second cocktail before heading off to the show. The staff were polite, friendly and attentive and apart from a few too many bones in the sea bass, our evening was faultless. We will definitely be back and hope to try one of their themed evenings .

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rushton's also viewed

Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
Newark-on-Trent, Nottinghamshire
 

Been to Rushton's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rushton's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.