We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would Recommend It To Anyone!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Turi Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Turi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Turi Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Best Rate Value Xperience
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Nongsa
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Would Recommend It To Anyone!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

We like to do our homeworks, so before we travelled to Turi Beach Resort we read quite a few reviews and, whereas we still booked up anyway, we noted a few adverse comments regarding the staff, so this was on our minds when we arrived.

Any such worries were quite unfounded, as it turned out. Whereas we all speak from personal experience, ours was that the staff were excellent. We brought our six-month-old son along, and they were all brilliant with him. Constant fuss and affection. He loved it!

We decided to extend our stay for a couple of days, and promptly ran out of baby food! Cue the chef pureeing some tasty mixed vegetables which the little guy preferred to his usual stuff. What was the charge for this service? Zero... zilch.

Running low on nappies? Resort shop closed? Problem? Not at all! They had the shop opened and we got what we needed right away. As for the managerial staff, the GM was very attentive in making sure customers (not just us!) were kept happy, and his under-managers seemed keen to ensure that our stay was enjoyed to the max. To summarise, the staff here basically couldn't do enough to help and nothing was too much trouble.

As for the resort itself, yes, we'd agree that it's not a true five star, but who cares? You're supposed to be out on the beach, right? But that's not to say anybody slums it. The rooms are all comfortable and clean, with adequate facilities (we tried the traditional and the more "modern" versions). Again, room service staff pleasant and helpful throughout.

The beach (or beaches, actually - there are two of them) are fairly short, but clean and quiet. Shallow, clear water that's pretty safe for kids. Jetskis and all the usual paraphernalia are available for hire. Two very nice swimming pools cater for those who don't want to venture into the sea.

The east-west orientation of the resort makes for lovely sunrises and sunsets (tropical weather permitting, of course!).

My wife enjoyed her time at the spa. A variety of massages and treatments on offer.

The main restaurant offers a fairly limited but (in our experience) very tasty menu (try the Indonesian oxtail soup!). Didn't notice any problems with the slow service that another reviewer reported.

Main bar was quiet but adequate, with pool tables and TV's for those inclined to watch.

It's not a round-the-clock-drinking-and-dancing type place, so maybe if you're a night-clubber or raver, you won't find too much to interest you here (try Bintan if that's what you fancy), but if it's a quiet, chill-out family break you are after, we would recommend this resort to anyone... and yes, we will be going back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmesano1965, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2010
Dear Mr. McMahon & Family,

It was a pleasure to have you with us.

We very much appreciate your comments and the beautiful photos you took from the resort.

Please extend my regards to your wife.

Glad to have you back in Turi Beach during your next vacation.

Have a great weekend!

Antonio Hernandez Canovas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    94
    196
    103
    50
    29
See reviews for
108
198
7
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2010

Turi Beach has really improved! We stayed for 3D2N and took 4 dbl/twins at the Tirta Wing (the new wing), and had a great time. We had rooms on the 2nd floor, so it was easy to walk down the steps to the beach and pool. Room were cleaned daily, and amenities replenished, and all rooms were spacious with a balcony facing the sea. Spacious enough to enjoy pre and post dinner drinks ....

If you enjoy seasports, then there's lots to choose from without breaking the bank. E.g. snorkeling classes are at SGD 5.00 per lesson. You've got 2 pools to choose from, one at the new wing, and another at the old wing. The old wing pool also has a sunken bar ... perfect for some extra downtime while swimming or sunbathing :) If you enjoy walking, which we did, then you could stroll across the boardwalk all the way to another marina nearby. Or just stroll across the jetty and checkout the amazing ocean ...

One downside at Turi. There's not much choice by way of restaurants - 2 restaurants (one of which is the all-day dining restaurant), a Japanese-style restaurant, plus a weekend BBQ at the poolside. There are also a couple of bars/lounges apart from the sunken pool bar. Food is decent enough, but choices could be more varied. Service was polite, if a little slow at times. However, we were later attended to by Iqbal, a wait staff at the main restaurant - lovely guy and so so helpful ... and that improved the dining experience by tons!

If you want more dining variety, then take a taxi to a seafood restaurant about 15 mins away from the hotel, or if your'e up to a longer ride, then there's a popular seafood restaurant called Golden Prawn 88 Restaurant (I think). It's on stilts by the seaside. Food is reasonbly priced, e.g. dinner for 4 was less than SGD 100. Plus you can bring your own wine, so be sure to load up at the SGP duty free shop before you take the ferry to Batam. Taxi charges are about SGD 10 for an hour, min. of 3 hours. You can easily combine dinner with shopping...

So if you're looking for shopping, then there's some decent buys at Nongsa Shopping Centre, and BJC Mall. The fx rate works well esp if you pay in rupiah. Pick up some great tasting kueh-lapis (layered cake) at the Batam Centre Mall, There are 2 shops, but the one that's better is nearer to the JC supermarket entrance. You can also pick up some great tasting coffee packs at the supermarket (look out for the Kapal Api brand with mocha flavor.... solid stuff!).

The most important thing to remember when staying at the Turi Beach is to pick up the local mentality .... just chill and not be too impatient. Breathe ... relax .... wait things out and leave your "city/work" mentality behind. After all, we're on holiday!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmesano1965, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2010
Dear Ms. Seber,

Tropical greetings from Turi Beach!

This is to show my appreciation for taking the time to share with us your experience during your last stay in our resort.

Your feedback will be communicated to all our staff and especially to Iqbal.

During your next stay you are most welcome to enjoy traditional Indonesian delights at Cinta Manis restaurant or a private seafood lunch or dinner at any location of your choice.

If I can be of any assistance to you or your friends, please contact me at antonio@nongsaresorts.com

I will be glad to welcome you back to Turi Beach Resort during your next trip to Batam.

With best regards,

Antonio Hernandez Canovas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2010

Attractive resort with enough to occupy teenagers for about two days. Accommodation is good - either authentic quaint-style room or more modern version thereof - both comfortable and well-appointed. Kindly, welcoming staff but not the best-trained: service is very slow so that the first person to get served dinner is finished long before the last gets their meal. Menus a bit limited although food is OK if nothing special. It was busy the weekend we were there with a lot of Singaporean National Servicemen and partners (NO problem) but quieter-mid-week although conference was running then. Easy to get to and peaceful retreat for a few days.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmesano1965, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 21, 2010
Dear Mr. Fulton,
Sea, sun and nature greetings from Turi Beach!
Receive my gratitude for taking the time to share with us your latest stay experience.
Your feedback has been distributed amongst our staff to action those areas in need of improvement.
A new director of food and beverage is joining our team next Monday. This will allow us to provide you with a more personalized service and extensive culinary choice in the weeks ahead.
If I can be of any assistance to you or your friends, please contact me at your convenience (antonio@nongsaresorts.com).
Glad to welcome you personally during your next stay at Turi Beach.
Have a great week!
Antonio Hernandez Canovas
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2010

I have been to this resot Several time.

Best in Bintan with the View and Ambience.

Must visit.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2010

I check in at about 12 pm but they said that check start at 2pm. No flexibity for guest. When about 3 pm I came back from town . A lady check in us and give us the wrong instruction to our room. I was so disaapointed as my wife is expecting. we have to walk the whole round. No staff around to show us where is our room. They locate us at far end of the new wings. As they pretend not to se my wife and my kids. . .

The restaurant full of flys . . .

Total ly it nice if they have good customer service.

Housekeeping make up my room but never sweeo and vacuum the floor.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sg
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2010

Well, to make it easy to read, ill categorise them into the goods and the bads.
Firstly, the good things about Turi Beach Hotel
1)The decor of the place is most interesting, with lots of tiny details to make the place a lovely sight. Check out the twinkling lights in the pool.
2) Food in all the restaurants are of good quality and good value. Don't need to go hunting elsewhere for good food.
3) They have a nice jetty that brings one far out. Good place for snorkelling.
4) Service around the place, such as the waiters, the bath towel ppl etc are really very warm and attentive.
5) There is a walkway for you to explore the Nongsa Marina. Pretty interesting and quiet walk.
Now, here come's the bad sides of Turi.
1) My boyfriend and i had booked a room online for 2 nights, expecting at least a queen bed, if not King. Instead, they gave us 2 single beds. We tried to request for a change but they insisted that they were full.
2) Never expect any flexibility on the Turi side. It states 2pm check in and 12 pm check out. They will insist on this strictly, even if they make you wait 30 mins just to check out.
3) Yes, terrible check-out procedures. Had to wait a whole 30 minutes before someone attended to us. And when they attended to us, they gave us a most confusing bill, in Rupiahs yet with some large number scribbled on top of them. Nobody tried to explain what we were supposed to do or how to read the numbers. How stupid they made me feel. They actually gave me PERSONAL attention only when i asked for it loudly. It was most frustrating that the poorest service came from the cashier n reception table. I would think they were the most important people of all.
4) I cannot understand why everything was in SG dollars. I had changed 300 SGD into Rupiahs and realised that everything was automatically converted into sgd. Is this Singapore or Indonesia??
5) Despite the food being great, be prepared to fight with the flies. Flies there are plentiful so do not take your eyes away from your food even for a second. That too turned out to be most frustrating.
6) On with the issue of the fly, i headed to the Aqua bar, hoping to experience lunch inside the pool. Unfortunately, it turned out to be most disgusting coz all around the water were floating dead flies and insects.
7) I stayed for 2 nights yet the toiletries nor the complimentary bottles of water were not added. When i told them the problem, instead of apologising, they told me that they would check on it. As if i would lie about such a matter!

Well, thats all from my side.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2010 via mobile

Overall service: I would say it's 5 stars service. They might not be very eloquent but all their staffs were very friendly. One week before my trip I requested for a cake to be ready in the room as it was hubby's birthday and that was done without any additional charges.

The staff at the cafe and reception were very all smiles and attended to all our requests. Despite it being a buffet self service breakfast the waiter assisted us in our food and drinks as well.

We requested for a room change as there were bats hovering outside the door. Was given an upgrade with no additional charge and free extension of check out till 2pm.

Room: we booked the superior room (old wing) and was kind of disappointed as there were yellowish stains on the white sheets plus some dirt (probably dry leaves) on the bed. And also there were bats outside the room.
Managed to change the room so no complains after that.

Watersports: they have their own vendor down at the beach and prices were quoted on Sgd. U can pay via rupiah too but you won't get attractive rates.

  • Stayed June 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Turi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turi Beach Resort

Also Known As:
Turi Beach Resort Batam
Turi Beach Batam
Turi Beach Hotel Batam
Turi Beach Resort Batam/Nongsa
Address: Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turi Beach Resort 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turi Beach Resort, Where Chic Meets CharmImmerse yourself in this Indonesian boutique paradise and explore the beauty of nature.Nestled in Nongsa Resorts, at the northeast part of Batam Island, and 35 minutes away from Singapore by ferry and 15 minutes from Hang Nadim Airport. Set amid 7.7 hectares of beautiful green landscaping in a tranquil tropical village, Turi Beach Resort features Modern - Minimalist accomodation in Tirta wing and Riau – Balinese in Riani wing. All 140 rooms and suites are facing the sea being well spread over the beach front and the hillside.Turi Beach Resort is your idyllic retreat in the tropical Riau Islands amidst unspoilt beauty and fine beaches where tranquility and impeccable service are rightly yours to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, Expedia, HotelsClick, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Turi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.