We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Almost Paradise” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turi Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Turiversary from S$124++
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Almost Paradise”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2009

Went for a 4D3N on 14-17 May 09. As soon as we reached the lobby which was perched on a hill, we were amazed with the breathtaking view. Facing the sea, the resort is very vast with Riani Wing (old wing) on the right, Tirta Wing (new wing) on the left and the lobby and restaurants in the center. We booked the Tirta Wing upon learning that its new and all rooms are sea facing. When presented with the room key, we were pleasantly surprised that we got room #405 which we learned from a reviewer here, that it has one of the best view!
Our room was on the 4th floor which is also the same level as the lobby. It has a nice corridor which has a mini pebbled foot reflexology kinda at one corner and direct access to balcony and the private rooftop viewing area (great for romantic starry nights out). One side of the wall was all mirrored along with the wardrobe to reflect spaciousness. Bathroom is large too with separate toilet/vanity area and shower (you can enjoy normal or rain shower!). Only thing to note is that the drainage system was lousy as after one person bathed, the water will pooled and spilled to the toilet/vanity area and it took a very long time to settled. Mossies were minimal as you could expect some visit since the resort is perched on a hill and surround with lush greenery, but it was no bother.
Went to town on the 2nd day which we booked a cab with the hotel. Cost SGD$35 per cab for 3hrs of shopping ( 45mins to town). You could shop at Batam Megamall or Nagoya Hill Shopping Centre for a good lunch and dinner and basic supplies.
The rest of our time there were just spent lazing around at the beach and pool. They have this lovely beach huts with mattress for you to laze all day long. Water is clean and clear with beautiful hues of green and blue. At night you could walk up to the island bar which is connected via a nice wooden bridge though the Island Bar seems deserted but its a nice place to star gaze and look back at the resort in night view. We also went to the pub/karaoke lounge but the systems is horrible (not surprised as maybe its not a popular option with tourist who prefer to spend the night in their cool rooms).
Breakfast was nice with a mix of Asian and American (mostly American). Staff are generally warm and friendly, I dun't understand those who had problem with them. Probably the problems are with themselves and just being difficult. All in all, we were glad we found this little almost paradise.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

645 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    129
    270
    142
    64
    40
See reviews for
145
261
6
23
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (189)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2009

We booked the new rooms. We had a confirmed connecting room but was given 1 that is without. We went back to the front office & was told that all rooms were fully booked, I insisted to have 1 because I was travelling with my 7 yrs old twin gals & 12 yrs old son & the confirmation I had was with a seaview & connecting room. After waiting for half an hour they reluctantly gave us the room. Food was horrible. We wanted to have tepanyaki but was told it was sold out for that night, which is Saturday night, were left with not much choice we had western food which wasnt so bad. We got turn off by the discrimination at that restaurant because they seems to serve bread & butter for the Ang Mohs but not asians. The new pool was dirty, all the 3 days we were there i dont see anyone cleaning the pool at all. The resort seems to be short handed, they take hours to serve our food. there's nothing special to talk about this resort even the Tspa was rubbish, the ladies who massage us doesnt seems tarined at all, they seems to simply rub all over you with oil thats all! Rooms were filled with flies on our second night.We had asked for a late check out as our pick up was at 3.45pm, they told us no because there was a group checking in at 1pm, my son when to checked the rooms before we left the resort for good, which was abt 3.30pm. the room was cleaned & vacant. We will not go back there, its utterly dissappointed!!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pioneer Rd North
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2009

The resort has been renovated and the new wing is called Tirta Wing which i would highly recommend. It is more contemporary and has a better view of the sea.
We stayed at the old wing which is called Riani Wing. Our deluxe chalets face the sea but when its very rocky when its low tide. The rooms looked old with worn out furniture but rooms are surprisingly clean. The postal beds come with mosquito netting which we at first thought is suppose to add to the romantic atmosphere. Never did we expect that it would be absolutely necessary at night. I was kept awake all night by the commando mosquitos. They were absolutely huge. My toddler woke up the next morning with 8 stings on his forehead which he carries for the next 3 days. The breakfast selection was very limited. The good things we found abt the resort are the new swimming pool and the sea.

Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2009

We were blow away by the fantastic sea view and the vastness of the resort when we first arrived. We requested to view the Riani wing room before we decided to upgrade to the Tirta wing which is more expensive but newer. The staff was very friendly and allow us to check in early at 9am and view the rooms before we check in.

Riani wing was older hut type which is not to our liking so we choose the more contemporary Tirta wing. The room there was fabulous with a big balcony and private rooftop! We took room 405 which is at the highest level therefore the greatest view of the sea. I also love the wall-length mirror, rain shower toilet and rattan daybed.

The resort has two very different swimming pools, one more rounded and has a 2.4m pool but older. The newer one is 3-tier pool with a waterfall and infinity design pool. They even played Lush 99.5FM at the poolside! Simply relaxing for me! But its a wee bit dangerous for kids as the pool has many sharp corners and sudden drop in depth.

The jetty has a island bar which u have to walk thru a jungle-like path and is wonderful for watching stars and chilling out at night.

The T-spa is beautiful but the masseur was lousy. They did traditional indonesian urut massage and Swedish massage almost the same way!! It was like simply applying oil on us and light rub here and there which I can do better myself. For massages, you can take a taxi out to town for S$7 per hour and the driver would recommend a cheap and good spa which can do thai like massages!

Overall, it was a great resort and will be great for lovers and friends to chill out and have a romantic getaway.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2009

Balinese bungalows are conveniently situated and surrounded by natural jungle greenery with a striking view of the ocean.

Turi Beach Resort is a 35-minute ferry ride from Tanah Merah Ferry Terminal - Singapore and 5-minute drive from Nongsapura Ferry Terminal.

Room - Stayed in a chalet facing the sea. Comfortable 4-poles bed. But the sofa looked old with some stains. Didnt encounter any mossy attack.

Food - Not bad based on Asian standard. Wide spread at the bfast buffet served mainly Indo food. Service is excellent, the staff very polite.

Would rec the candlelight dinner in one of the huts by the pool. Need to book in advance. And there are only ard 5 huts available.. And only 1 couple / hut / night... So you can stay as long as you want..

There is nothing to do except for a swim in the pool, catch some sun, read a book and go for quiet walks to the next door sister resorts or jetty.

It would be a great place to relax and simply just chill out..

[-]

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2008

We stayed in Nongsa Village for 3 days and used the facilities in Turi Beach as there were no restaurants in NV.
Unfortunately both the quality of food and service needs lots of attention from the managment.
B/fast for S$12 was reasonable if the variety and quality was acceptable unfortunately it was not the case.
The staff were polite but poorly trainned and were not able to anticipate guest needs.
However Nongsa Point Marina had a small restaurant with the same pricing but both the quality and service was good.

  • Stayed December 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2008

We have just returned from a weekend at Turi Beach. The hotel had gone through renovations and it seems to have settled. The timing of us being there was just right as the place was almost empty when we got there, just before the weekend crowd.
It being the monsoon season, the ferry ride there was chopppy coming in.
We had near perfect weather with strong winds, clear skies and the warm sun. You could pay for everything in Singapore dollars. But do check the bill as its first tabulated in indonesian currency before converted in Singapore dollars.
We stayed on group floor facing the new emerald pool at the tirta wing and with an excellent view of the sea too. The king sized bed with in the zen inspired room was just what we needed for a non complicated holiday getaway.

The breakfast buffet inclusive was ok with clean and attentive staff. The standards of the other restaurants was relaxed and ok.
The Spa is worth a look as they did have Staff who knew what they were doing and reasonable prices. The gift shop did not have much. What I would improve? maybe the dining options.

There is nothing much else to do, soak in the pool, catch some sun, read a book and go for quiet walks to the next door sister resorts

Overall I would recommend this place to any one that needs to get out of the city and have a few days to yourself or with the partner. It is family and kids friendly. We didnt try the sea sports offered but options were there to try them.

What i enjoyed were the little huts that were dotted around the place that allowed you to chill out in them with triangle cushions provided and the walk to the island bar out in the sea.

  • Liked — Zen inspired themed room
  • Disliked — Floor tiles looked aged even though it was a new wing.
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turi Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Turi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turi Beach Resort, Where Chic Meets Charm. Immerse yourself in this Indonesian boutique paradise and explore the beauty of nature. Nestled in Nongsa Resorts, at the northeast part of Batam Island, and 35 minutes away from Singapore by ferry and 15 minutes from Hang Nadim Airport. Set amid 7.7 Hectares of beautiful green landscaping in a tranquil tropical village, Turi Beach Resort features Modern - Minimalist accommodation in Tirta and Riani wing. All 140 rooms and suites are facing the sea being well spread over the beach front and the hillside.Turi Beach Resort is your idyllic retreat in the tropical Riau Islands amidst unspoilt beauty and fine beaches where tranquility and impeccable service are rightly yours to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Turi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turi Beach Resort Batam/Nongsa
Turi Beach Batam
Turi Beach Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.