We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing resort” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Turi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turi Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute From S$116
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Singapore, null, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Relaxing resort”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Just went for a 3D2N stay at Turi Beach Resort using groupon voucher from 28 July to 30 July.

The trip itself was enjoyable, however reservations with the resort itself was quite the hassle.

After emailing the resort, they did not reply after 3 working days, and only replied after my next email prompt. Ferry booking contained errors too and I had to check and email them to rectify the problems.

Went on a Sunday and the crowd was dispersing which made the trip more worth it. However massage prices at the resort was too expensive and there's a 21% surcharge for everything at the resort.

Took the car out to town for dinner and spa and it was much more worth it. Trip out was approximate 1h.

Jetty was nice and scenic but full of mosquitoes.

Overall a relaxing resort, but the room might be slightly stuffy.

Room Tip: Choose level 2 or 3 and near the swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your stay feedback…. Greatly appreciated…

Please accept my apologies for not providing you with a hassle free stay…

All relevant staff and managers are aware of your feedback for review and continuous improvement…

In the future, please contact me directly for any assistance you may need and review the promotions webpage for an update on the last promotions…

Wishing you a great Singapore National Day Celebration…

Cheers… Antonio via antonio@nongsaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

707 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    145
    293
    156
    70
    43
See reviews for
164
281
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

thanks to this guest relation officer (Arim) who went his way out to help change our ground floor room to a higher floor room, we had enjoyed the rest of our stay at Turi Beach.

Else we would not have imagined getting a good night's rest that night if we had remained on the originally allocated ground floor unit. There happened to be a wedding that night when we checked in and we knew it would be rowdy and noisy.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Receive my gratitude for praising Arim for going out his way to fulfil your request…

We look forward to have you back in the resort during your next leisure break being able to enjoy the newly renovated Riani Wing accommodation…

Wishing you a great Singapore national day celebration…

Cheers… Antonio via antonio@nongsaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
184 reviews 184 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

we were there for company team building. I like the resort - balinese feel but the food is not great and the beach has sewage waste. A colleague was stung by jellyfish. would i recommend this to family? I would say no. The shopping complexes are far away from the resort, about 40min by car.

The compensating factors are the excellent feel of the Island Bar, the service staff are friendly and polite and the rooms on the newer wings are great! 40sq m but without a bath - that was a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you very much for your comments and stay experience feel…

I am really sorry that one of your colleagues got stung by a jellyfish… the water-sports centre features flag system to alert the guests on the sea condition including jellyfish...

In the future, the water-sports team will be more pro-active informing any guests with intention to swim during an alert period…

Although the entire beach is cleaned twice a day, we occasionally receive larger amounts of seaweed due to stronger currents and winds...

The closest shopping place is no longer than 10 minutes from the resort – local pasar market – in Batu Besar… the next one is a recently open new department store – Kepri Mall – 20 to 25 minutes from the resort….

Please be informed that all the newly renovated Suites in Riani Wing have a Jacuzzi for two and the Suites in Tirta Wing feature generous size bathtubs...

If I can be of any assistance to you or your network, please contact me via antonio@nongsaresorts.com

Wishing you a great Singapore National Day Celebration…

Cheers… Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013 via mobile

During check in, my friend mentioned
To the front office staff to change our ferry timing from 1420hrs to 1200hrs and the staff aknowledged the changes with written new ferry timing on our ferry ticket. He said will need our ticket and make the necessary changes with the ferry terminal. With the full trust with the staff, we certainly adhere to his request. Upon departure and reaching the ferry terminal, our ferry ticket have not arrive and resulted we missed the ferry. When we checked with the counter, the agent said our ticket timing is at 1420hrs! There was no changes make at all by the staff of hotel and empty promise was given to us :( With no choice, we have to wait at the ferry terminal for 2 hours in order to take the next ferry. What a waste of time. When I call back to hotel to lodge the complaint, none of the manager is on duty as they all went for break. The worst thing was my call was transferred couple of times before i may finally lodge my complaint. I was very upset and repeat the whole story again, the staff
told me will need investigatio and will write email to me for proper explanation. Know what, I have not received any email till now....very dissapointed with the service rendered by the resort. I was a repeat
Guest for the resort but with this experience i really dont think I will ever go back to them.....

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 25, 2013
Thank you very much for your time and feedback. I am very sorry that you did not have a smooth return to Singapore and have to wait for two hours for the following ferry.
With all my respects and attention, Turi Beach Resort team followed and completed your request on a timely manner. We currently hold all supporting emails and correspondence with Batam Fast to support it.
We have reviewed the complete footage of the CCTV cameras in the ferry terminal on that day where it is clearly seen that you did not approach the Batamfast ferry counter until midday being the access gate already closed. In addition, I keep a copy of the email sent to your attention in the afternoon of the same day clarifying the happenings.
I am not certain where the confusion occurred. As you are aware, my team has communicated with you in several occasions after the incident to explain the chain of events.
If I can be of any assistance, you are most welcome to contact me via antonio@nongsaresorts.com Cheers… Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

Checked in for a 3D2N honeymoon stay with my fiance, though the hotel had some mishandling of our desired room, we got a free upgrade to the king sized bed we wanted and it was at beachfront. The services were great and had good smile on their faces. Rooms were clean and neat. Would visit again in near future! :) thank you Turi Beach for not disappoonting us!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
The services were great and had good smile on their faces…

Thank you very much for your time and service recognition…

We acknowledge your remark on the reservation management for future interactions…

Look forward to welcome you back during your next romantic indulgent treat…

Wishing you a great Singapore National Day Celebration…

Cheers… Antonio via antonio@nongsaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Had a short 2 night stay with Turi, away from the hustle and bustle of Singapore. Quiet and peaceful as our little vacation was over the weekdays. Best time to go I say! The emerald pool was sweet and it shimmers at night. It was a nice walk from the beach to the Island bar by the pier. The room, bathroom and service was excellent. TV with cable! Our room had a stairway up to the open air roof which had an amazing view! Food and Spa was very expensive though. But it is quite a distance to the city center so we didn't bother traveling out. There's a trail on the left side of the resort that leads to Turi's sister resort. Even though it rained quite a bit, our stay was still sweet and relaxing :)

Would like to compliment Manis! (Met her during breakfast at the restaurant) She helped us make arrangements for the traditional homemade banana cake (with chocolate rice). It's probably the best banana cake I've ever had. Thank you so much for your help!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 22, 2013
“The Emerald pool was sweet and it shimmers at night” I would not be able to describe it better… thank you very much…
Receive my appreciation for trusting us with your sweet escape getaway to Nongsa as well as for publicly recognize the service provided… specially Manis, she will be delighted to see her name in your review…
If I can be of any assistance to you or your network, please share with them my contact details…
Cheers… Antonio via antonio@nongsaresorts.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

My family purchased our short trip to Turi Beach Resort on Groupon which was a great deal for a two day, one night stay. We chose to stay from Friday to Saturday, and requested our two rooms be upgraded to the Tirta Premier Beachfront suites. Upon arrival, we were warmly greeted by the front desk personnel and shown to our rooms. The rooms were spacious, had beautiful views of the pool and beach area, fairly equipped with the basics including a minibar fridge which was oddly empty, complimentary bottled water bottles, and electric kettle with instant coffee/teas, sugar, etc. The only glitches we encountered were that the fridge didn't chill very well, the vault didn't work which required a maintenance staff call to change the batteries, and the water heater needed to be adjusted as the shower wasn't getting hot when we first used it. We arrived in time for an early lunch which we had in the Taming Sari Café. It was the only restaurant open at the time. We ordered meals off the menu and aside from the over-salted Salmon Teriyaki my wife ordered, everything else was relatively ok in terms of taste and presentation. The service was very good, as our complaint over the salmon was quickly and politely taken care of.

Later in the early evening, we all took a walk along the beach, which was well kept and clean. We then took a walk on the 220m jetty which extends out beyond the resort, and the view from this vantage point was quite spectacular from all directions. It had rained earlier in the late afternoon, so there were still a few clouds lingering, and obstructing what I'm sure would've been an stunning sunset.

By dinner, my wife and I had the choice of two open restaurants: Taming Sari Café and Nogusaya Teppanyaki & Grill. We chose the buffet at TSC as it seemed to have a nice variety of dishes for the price. The live band that was performing was unexpectedly talented, and added a pleasant ambience to the evening. This time, the food quality was better than our lunch, and the service staff was once again quite attentive to everyone dining.

In the morning, we had the complimentary breakfast buffet. There was more than enough items to choose from, particularly with our picky little eaters. We requested a later checkout, as our ferry wasn't leaving until 4:30 that afternoon, however was only permitted to checkout at 1pm as the resort was fully-booked. We were then able to book an earlier ferry back to Singapore without any problem. Something to consider if you intend on making the most of that second day.

Overall, the service was exceptional in terms of the way we were treated by the staff at every touchpoint. We arrived at a less than peak period, so I assume when the resort is more crowded, the place comes more to life. That's always a bit of a double-edged sword, because when a resort that is too crowded isn't always fun, but one with only a few people seems to be unpopular or lacking a certain energy.

It's clear to me that Turi Beach Resort is the tale of two resorts: One which is starting to show its age after first opening 24 years ago, and the slightly newer resort, with its more updated architecture, and Zen-like styling. The thing I've learned about resorts, especially those at the size and scale of Turi, is that the continuous upkeep and operational challenges are huge, regardless of whether or not they stay booked all year round or seasonally. It can be an expensive proposition for a less than profitable resort to be able to pay for the numbers of personnel needed to keep every single detail like keeping insects to a minimum, landscaping pristinely groomed, and rooms/facilities in perfect working condition. Unfortunately this all weighs in on how a visitor views or rates their experience. And while our experience wasn't up to par with what we've experienced in the past at resorts in Bali, Phuket, or Boracay, I believe Turi has potential and lots of room for improvement. For now, I would caution visitors to manage their expectations if they are looking for something more than what they pay for. I can also honestly say that our family enjoyed our short stay, and would try it again, but perhaps when things are more finely tuned up.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antonio H, General Manager at Turi Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 16, 2013
Thank you very much for your detailed and extensive review… All your comments and insights are very valuable to us taking the time to share them amongst our staff and executives for correction and improvement…
We provide a minibar fridge with a minibar menu list of items that can be either ordered via room service or directly bought in the resort boutique shop…
The resort features three restaurants… Cinta Manis Indonesian restaurant menu is always available in Taming Sari Café All Day Dinning if Cinta Manis is closed.

We will continue upgrading and improving our services and facilities regardless of being in an open beachfront jungle setting.
If I can be of any assistance in the future to you or your network, please contact me at your convenience via antonio@nongsaresorts.com Cheers… Antonio
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turi Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turi Beach Resort, Where Chic Meets Charm. Immerse yourself in this Indonesian boutique paradise and explore the beauty of nature. Nestled in Nongsa Resorts, at the northeast part of Batam Island, and 35 minutes away from Singapore by ferry and 15 minutes from Hang Nadim Airport. Set amid 7.7 Hectares of beautiful green landscaping in a tranquil tropical village, Turi Beach Resort features Modern - Minimalist accommodation in Tirta and Riani wing. All 140 rooms and suites are facing the sea being well spread over the beach front and the hillside.Turi Beach Resort is your idyllic retreat in the tropical Riau Islands amidst unspoilt beauty and fine beaches where tranquility and impeccable service are rightly yours to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Turi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turi Beach Resort Batam/Nongsa
Turi Beach Batam
Turi Beach Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.