We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Batam Trip (6th to 8th April 2012)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Turi Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Turi Beach Resort to your Saves list
Turi Beach Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Last Minute From S$116
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Batam Trip (6th to 8th April 2012)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Check in from 6th to 8th April 2012 for the Easter long weekend. Easy to get ferry from Tanah Merah to go to Nongsapura ferry terminal which take around 35 minutes. Clearing the immigration was surprisingly fast and when to the counter that provide land transfer to the hotel which was 10 minutes away.

Reached the hotel around 10.30am Indonesia time and was able to get our room straight after. We were given the superior room (booked thorught agoda but cancelled on the same day cause the price from the hotel website include breakfast but the one in agoda does not and is only few dollars different) located at Tirta wing on the highest floor which is on the fourth floor overlooking the beach. Heard that Tirta Wing is generally newer compared to Riani Wing which designed is more like a hut. Room was also overlooking the emerald pool and bar which is pretty nice.

We were escorted to the room by one of the staff and after that we unpack and about to head out and noticed that the safe was having some problem. Called the reception and they send a staff over to take a look after 15 minutes. An after 15 minutes of trying to rectify it for 15 minutes the staff gave up and say he cannot do another. I called back the reception and have to re-iterate what I have explained earlier and she say the solution is that we can place the items at the reception. Told her that it's okie as I can lock the items inside my friend luggage. And when we about to step out another staff came and he brought batteries to change but the safe still cannot be used and after few try the staff managed to get it working, is the door that is having the problem we have to push the door all the way in so that the lock and align with the catch in order to locked it.

We went out to look for food, at the Taming Sari Cafe breakfast (0700 -1000) just finished serving and we asked if we could ordered alar carte and the person told us they need to prepare for lunch (11.30am onwards) and advise us to go somewhere else. The Cinta Manis restaurant was not open so we went to the Yatch Club and they advise us to go to the pool bar as they have pool menu. We went to the Aqua Bar which is located at the Aqua Poolside and order two juices and one beef burger. Price are considerably reasonable, juice cost $6.50 and the beef burger cost $9, but the killer was the 21% government tax and service charge.

After our quick bite we went to walk around and it started to pour and we went back to the Taming Sari Cafe and have our lunch. We looked at the menu and noticed prices are range from $10+ and above so we opted for the lunch buffet menu that cost $18+ which i personally felt it way more reasonable compared to the ala carte menu. The staff was extremely nice and sociable which make our lunch a wonderful experience.

Went to the pool after the rain and enjoyed ourself. We could draw pool towel from any of the two pool bar. We will be issued with a voucher and failing to return the towel will result in a charge of $25 per piece.

In the evening when I went to return the towel, no staff was there so went to the spa and she called someone and we went to the bar to return and get new set of towel as we want to go back to the Emerald Pool.

One thing I need to highlight is that the pool bar closed at 6pm daily so even the pool closed much later around 7pm you will not be able to draw towel or return towel after 5.30pm. This is the policy that I don't understand, how can the towel counter closed earlier than the pool itself.

Understand that the staff that is positioned at the bar need to help up for dinner but at least the towel counter need to be mended and not expecting the hotel guest to go high and low to get or return a towel. The staff at the Yatch Club even said that the drawing of the towel is strictly till 5.30pm and swimming after that is guest responsibly as the pool is not supervised (The pool is not supervised at all in case he don't know, no lifeguard is on duty at all). After our swim, we went to freshen up and followed by dinner. The buffet dinner at the pool side cost $22++, food was acceptable but hygiene wise might have to improve. Fly was flying around the food, the tea and coffee station there was cookie for consumption but when I try to take a piece there was ants covering all the cookies. There was a band performing some oldies and some new songs but clearly she need to improve on the singing or maybe the sound system need to be improved. The crowd did not sound very appreciative in the first place.

On the next day breakfast was served at the Taming Sari cafe and was crowded and ended up we have to seat outside along the corridor. Not a bad thing thou cause is less crowded. Food wise is acceptable.

We were able to pay $8 per pax to get a return transfer from the hotel to the Mega Mall at Batam City. Bus depart 1pm from the hotel and take around half and hour to reach the mall and will pick us up at 4.30pm at the mall to send us back to the hotel by 5pm. Basically is only 3 hours and was enough for me to take a lunch at the Black Canyon Coffee which was cheap and nice (intended to go to A&W but was flooded with people and some of them was eating outside food or was jus waiting for the ferry time to be up) and went to buy some drinks and local staff before we proceed up for our one hour traditional Javanese massage at Grand Oditeus Spa at RP$175,000. Room was okie, massage was fine but the toilet was dark and lighted with only candles and could not see clearly, in the massage room the bath tub has a hole in it but fine with me cause am not using it but what was not fine was the noise that came from the event down at the main atrium and the screaming and laughing by some massage guest that was just beside my room. One thing to note if you have sensitive skin, the lotion they used might not be suitable for you as my friend was itching all over after the massage and he just want to get a shower to get rid of the lotion that was sticking to the body.

We checked out on the 8th at 1pm indonesia time and our ferry is at 2.20pm local time. We were at the ferry terminal at 1.20pm as is just 10 minutes away and the immigration is not open hence we loiter around departure hall. There is only one store selling Polo Ralph shirt, one selling drinks and tidbits and some souvenirs and another store selling some food. Overall the place is quite run down and there was queue forming to go into the immigration which was not open till around 1.45pm. Place was warm and stinky and we have to queue for around 40 minutes as only two counters were manned.

In summary, good points about the resort:

1. Nice view of the sea and pool
2. Friendly staffs
3. Two pools to choose from
4. Early check in at 10am when reached
5. Shuttle service to batam centre

Improvement recommended for the resort:


1. Should have checked everything is in order before letting out the room
2. Towel counter should be mend same hour as pool operating hours
3. Wifi should be available in room, free at public area instead of charging

Room Tip: Compare price between agoda and hotel website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    144
    293
    156
    70
    43
See reviews for
164
280
8
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012

1. Only Stay at Tirta rooms
We booked a Riana Deluxe room for $280 over Easter weekend. The room was such a disappointment that we wanted to leave immediately. It was a basic hut with dirty, moldy furniture and walls, bad smell all over, basic toilet, aircon not working - it feels like a $65 backpacker's beach shack. We had no choice but to change to a lower category room for that night. And guess what? Superior room was better than Deluxe! After staying at a superior room for first night, we were upgraded to a Premier room at Tirta (new wing). You won't believe the quality difference between the two wings where the price difference is not that huge. They should either renovate the old wing before charging a premium price or lower the rate to absolute basic, like beach shacks!

2. Poorly managed
It took us over 2 hours to change our shabby Deluxe room to a half descent Superior room. The staff at the reception were sloppy and always try to avoid your problem. The fun part was, there were many people but nobody was doing much. The manager is a very negative person and not helpful at all. He tries to run away from the problem and avoids eye contact! However, there's a nice staff called Hendra, who listens to you and offers solution and finally helped us to move to a new wing room.
We have seen many guests are complaining about their rooms and other services.
Smaller issues like not picking up the phone at reception or not having key for safety deposit box would be very normal at Turi. You need to have a very high tolerance level.
3. Food
Absolutely basic. Catering to tour groups. We had two very similar BBQ dinners, just with different names - feels like leftovers from previous night served again. Breakfast was also very basic. This type of food is widely available in any Hawker's center in Singapore.

4. Spa
Very basic. Overpriced. No technique. Basic skills.

It's really over-priced! At 280 dollar you should expect almost five star quality of service and facilities not anything such frustrating!

Turi is nicely located. The new swimming pool is nice. If you don't mind some big tour group screaming around or some office team building sessions going on, (including taking over the beautiful jetty for a loud Karaoke party), you can consider Turi beach resort. It would be good for family with many kids. Couples, please avoid Turi over the weekend.

Room Tip: Only from Tirta, Level 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2012

A conference I recently attended was held in this hotel. Thankfully, it was only 1 night. Aside from our group there were only a handful of other guests.
The hotel was eeriely quiet and deserted. The long walk to the rooms were badly lit, and it didn't help that the signage for the rooms were badly and inconsistently placed.

The service was minimum - there were only 2 staff on-duty for our group of over 80 persons at checking in. The rooms are rather plain, and in a state of dirt with ants crawling on the table top, though the towels were clean.

The internet is a shame. We had to pay S$28 per day for internet access in the room, or S$3 per hour access. You need to contact the reception for your password and ID each time and this is pre-paid! I couldn't even access it as the password/ID provided was incorrect! And I had to spend some time at the Reception to justify how I couldn't even use it and should not be charged.

The beach however was beautiful. Nature surrounding the beach front of the hotel is indeed a beauty.

Room Tip: If you absolutely must go, ask to be assigned a room near the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2012

i went there with my boyfriend under deal.sg in february where there weren't very many guests around, so it basically felt as though we owned the place, since we practically had the whole place to ourselves. we reached there about 10am and were given an early check-in. it kinda feels like a chalet; loved the view of the swimming pool and beach from the balcony. the staff were really smiley and friendly, always willing to help whenever we had any queries.the room had weird stains on the floor and the towels were stained too (you might wanna bring your own if you're particular about hygiene). the pool is beautiful at night! i also liked the jetty and hammock along the beach. i thought the sand was very dirty though. food wasn't so awesome, but the selection for breakfast was decent. i didnt like anything there other than the es tella dessert which was yummy(: there's a wider variety of food on weekends but since we were there on tues and weds, there wasn't much to choose from. another thing to note is that there are quite a lot of mosquitoes! the bf got bitten a lot. the room is equipped with a nice smelling repellent cream though, which was quite thoughtful of the staff.

point to note is that water there isn't potable and you only get 2 bottles of free mineral water in your room.

its a good place to go for a romantic getaway. i stayed only for a night and i think it was enough cos after awhile you'll realise that there really isn't anything to do there other than laze. i wouldn't mind going again but i'll probably try some other resort next time.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2012

Stayed for a night, nice beach and pools, far from city... Nice room deco, overall good, would stay again...

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Got the deal from Groupon and went on a super off peak period - Monday to Tuesday, hence there isn't much guest. In fact, the number of staff overwhelm the number of paying customers. So i shall not rate the customer services given such conditions (note: its not exceptionally great).

Basically it is good as a short getaway from the bustling city life, escape from emails / IM / Facebook as there is NO free internet access unless you are willing to pay a high price.

Room is very basic and bed isn't THAT comfortable - its just livable conditions. Nothing great.

Spa was decent - i opt for the body massage. Wifey got a body scrap which she give 1 thumb up.

The most best memory is - feel asleep on the hammock while reading my book, enjoying the gentle breezing and listening to sound of the wave.

I would recommend this for couples (not for family with children) for a short (relatively cheap) escape from Singapore and basically free your mind by doing nothing.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2012

Spent 3 days/ 2nights here for a quick mid-week pop-over to Batam from Singapore.

It is less than 5 minutes shuttle from the ferry terminal (Nongsa) and with the free shuttle bus and good coordination between the shuttle bus, the ferry terminal people and the hotel, it is super easy.

2 large pools. The older blue pool is actually more fun in a retro-way. Nice views of beach and a fun walk-out on the jetty.

The weather was a bit patchy, so can't really comment on the beach, but views during the day and the night are pleasant.

Breakfast was good, we didn't end up having any other meals here. The curry roti station, the egg station and the fishball/egg noodle station were the stand outs. The other items were average/fine.

The room (in the new wing) had a nice little balcony where we sat to read our books while the rain passed through, and we liked the bathroom and the bed (all very comfortable and well designed) qutie a bit.

The staff were fine, average/good.

Enjoy.

Room Tip: New wing as other travelers have said.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Turi Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Turi Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Hang Lekiu | Nongsa, Batam Island, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29465, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Turi Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 140
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Turi Beach Resort, Where Chic Meets Charm. Immerse yourself in this Indonesian boutique paradise and explore the beauty of nature. Nestled in Nongsa Resorts, at the northeast part of Batam Island, and 35 minutes away from Singapore by ferry and 15 minutes from Hang Nadim Airport. Set amid 7.7 Hectares of beautiful green landscaping in a tranquil tropical village, Turi Beach Resort features Modern - Minimalist accommodation in Tirta and Riani wing. All 140 rooms and suites are facing the sea being well spread over the beach front and the hillside.Turi Beach Resort is your idyllic retreat in the tropical Riau Islands amidst unspoilt beauty and fine beaches where tranquility and impeccable service are rightly yours to savour. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Hotels.com so you can book your Turi Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Turi Beach Resort Batam/Nongsa
Turi Beach Batam
Turi Beach Hotel Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Turi Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.