We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent resort but failed to 'wow'” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Batam View Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Batam View Beach Resort to your Saves list
Batam View Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Decent resort but failed to 'wow'”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were at Batam View Beach Resort recently for a weekend and we thought it was just okay. Nothing exceptional except the staff who were all very friendly and charming. Literally every single one at the reception and the restaurant is accommodating and service-oriented - a plus for the resort. Batam View is eco-friendly and quite big in terms of land area so you can enjoy a leisurely walk from the hotel promises to the pool area and down to the beach. We got a lovely top floor room facing the sea which was really nice, except that it smelled really musty we had to leave the sliding door open the whole day and night to let the room breathe. The hotel itself is old but very well maintained, I must say. Food (at Bunga Raya) was not up to mark though, except for the Chef's special of the month called Ayam Bumbu. We ordered carbonara for lunch and it tasted really weird. That night, we ordered room service and the chicken soup was the exact same taste as the carbonara. The breakfast buffet was somewhat better. I enjoyed the chicken dish and the Indonesian pastries. Coffee was pretty decent, too. Here's a tip for visitors coming from Singapore with Passion Card: If you are dining at the Bunga Raya restaurant, make sure to bring your Passion Card to enjoy 10% discount off your final bill. Another plus for the resort. Meanwhile, the beach is so-so and the coastline is pretty short, you can cover one end of the beach to the other end with only a few steps. Although, they do have beach sport facilities, i.e. banana boast ride, kayak, etc, to enjoy if you're into these sort of things. They also have kiddie playground and beach volleyball facilities. By the way, they offer free ferry terminal pick-up if you're coming from Nongsa Ferry Terminal, so at least you wouldn't have to worry about that part. However, if you're coming from Batam City Ferry Terminal, you have the option of renting a cab to take you to the resort or arrange for hotel taxi with Batam View. One last thing, we had a terrible experience with the driver of the hotel taxi we hired to take us to Batam City Ferry. He was driving like a maniac we had a few near-collision episodes with other vehicles and he never even bothered to look apologetic. Unfortunately, we forgot to take note of the guy's name but he was really awful. All in all, it was an okay experience for us - like I said, the staff were really great - but i don't think we'll be back there anytime soon.:)

Room Tip: Try to get the room facing the sea and preferably on a high floor. The rooms facing the pool tend to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy123_GM, General Manager at Batam View Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Mrs Vicky,

Thanks for your recent stay with us at Batam View Beach Resort. We certainly appreciate your positive and encouraging comments you have pointed to us in this review. We are glad you have enjoy your stay and food however certainly shortcoming as mentioned, I will definitely look into it with my management team as to improve the services of the hotel. For your future visit, please kindly contact me or my sales team so we could make the necessary arrangement for your trip to Batam View Beach Resort. For your info, we do provide transfer from the Batam Centre Jetty point prior to reservation. As for Nongsapura Jetty is daily and covered all arrival and departure of the ferry. I do hope you to see you again at our resort. Thanks Andy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    92
    55
    15
    18
See reviews for
45
70
4
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

Stayed at this resort over the past weekend as part of a company event.

Pros:
1. Clean & Spacious Rooms
2. Very friendly staff
3. Nice swimming pool & facilities.
4. Near to the beach
5. Near to the Ferry jetty

Cons:
1. Far from any shopping locations

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy123_GM, General Manager at Batam View Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Ms Joel Low, thank you for staying with us recently and I do hope you had a great time during your stay here. We are grateful to receive your compliments and we also noted your comments regards the distant of the city center (30minutes drive) from our resort. Once again we look forward to see you again here at Batam View Beach Resort! Cheers Anddy Fong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

If you like quiet and away from city, Nongsa area is a good choice and this hotel is nice to stay. Though room is not the luxury style, the garden, swimming pool, beach and services are not bad. A very impressive band performs every night in the lobby bar. Water sports are provided on their beach (but I didn't try...). Feel too lazy in the hotel and you just want to lay down at the pool side. haha.
Convenient transport (shuttle bus provided), good services and just relax...

Room Tip: Actually they have one/two bedroom(s) villa just above sea which looks very cool. But all sold out w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy123_GM, General Manager at Batam View Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear Xu, it was my great pleasure to thank you for staying with us recently and I am glad to receive your kind compliments and positive words with regards our resort. We certainly look forward to see you again at our resort. thanks Anddy Fong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang, Malaysia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights and it was splendid! Eco friendly, have complete facilities for indoor and outdoor activities, suitable for business, honeymoon or friends and family occasions.
They even have the Jacuzzi by the beach. The staffs are very friendly and i really enjoyed the live band music at night.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy123_GM, General Manager at Batam View Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 29, 2014
Thank you for staying with us at Batam View Beach Resort. It was certainly great pleasure to hear that you have a great time during your recent stay with us. We will continue to improve our services and we certainly look forward to see you here again. Thanks Anddy
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

Been here for 2 nights 3 days, nice place we dint get beach view villas as everything was full by the time we decided the resort and place but we stayed in a beach view suit was worth it, room service was not nice not at all nice pizza was awful they never had bread for sandwichs on 2 days they dint have coconut water strangely service was not great, breakfast buffet was decent but no milk and cereals beach was a lill dirtyy recommend not to get into the beach as my frd was bitten by a jelly fish, swimming pool was nice, there is a nice massage placw but plz book it early at tge reception, massages are not available during public holidays, there is another massage for next shoulder and legs for 30 mins which was not bad can try, they have shuttle service for nogsa and other ferry points can ask in the reception for timings and you might want to let them know if you need their service, there is another sea food restaurant in the resort its 5 mins walk inside the resort.. good food should try, dont miss the sun set :)

Important : the ferry terminal we arrived in batam was awful strangely you need to maintain pin drop silence near the immigration service, they are stupid officers there who snatched few passports of some brits or Americans who where laughing and talking loudly and shouted at them I was shocked never experienced anything like this before hated it and decided I would never ever come to Batam again where they dont have manners but scream and shout at tourists and we also heard they will bribe a lot later to give back their passports, so plz be careful and keep this on mind.

Ask for rooms facing the beach coz therz a nice balcony area where u can spend time in the evening.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy123_GM, General Manager at Batam View Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thank you for choosing Batam View Beach Resort for your recent vacation. I am glad to hear your enjoyment during your stay and I would certainly keep up the services.

Due to recent Hari Raya celebrations, the SPA and Massage services had to cease operations for 3 days (Government ruling), otherwise its operate daily. However the reflexology at the open area is available. Shortage of coconut was due to high season and other F&B services, I will rest assure you it will not happen again in the resort.

As for the Nongsapura, Batam Jetty services and authority, all registered guests with Batam View Beach Resort will be handle directly by our concierge and we have a very good relationship with all the authority at Nongsapura jetty. All our guest will have express services arrival and departure from the Nongsapura Jetty.

Once again I will rest assure all the comments will be our guidance and I am looking forward to serve you again.

Andy Fong
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

I checked-in on July and everything was nice.

By the time we arrive at Nongsa Ferry Terminal, the immigration process was smoothly done. No line up. Seriously. I saw the other people line up, and we didn't. Nice.

We were fetched up by the Yellow Bus provided by the resort. It looked bright yellow with flowers pattern. Seemed like they were coming from a tropical island. It was around 10 minutes from ferry to hotel.

We stayed in room 426 and the room faced the swimming pool and the sea. The room was large, clean and have balcony. We spent some time there before start exploring the resort.

Due to weekend, many people gathered around by the pool. But they seemed having a good time anyway. We went down to the beach.

The beach was clean, well organized, and many options for us to do. I mean, I was previously confused of what we can do there, as many reviews said "nothing much" "abandoned" blablabla..but it's not! There is banana boat, waterski and wakeboarding (it's quite challenging), canoe and more. So we took banana boat. SOOOO FUN! We sunbathe in the beach after that and thank God as they sell ice cream and softdrink in the seasports area so we didn't have to get thirsty to dead. It's cheap anyway.

We go around the resort and so many things to take picture. Seriously. Once we get exhausted we can just sit back, relax on the bench with the blue ocean down there, and some people jogged around passed by.


There were a group of turkey and they were so cute. We passed the tennis and basketball court (they have it!!!!) and we found some greenery..and you know what, it was herbs and spice garden. Many things new we found there. It was like mini garden and many kind of plants I don't have any idea about before was there. I mean, like ginger, lime and many other. Thank God as there is explanation in every plant so it's easier for us.


We had dinner there and the seafood was oishii desu :) and it's by the sea! I mean, we had plates of seafood (and sure vegetables) and we had it in a by-the-sea restaurant. Perfect!

We get back to the hotel by buggy. By the time we arrive we saw the live band performance at the lobby. They sang many different songs. They sang Mandarin pop, Korean, English (of course), Indonesian and (I think) some Indonesian folk songs (the music was good. Trust me!) The band invited the guests to sing together. Sadly, they took a break. All right, we have to wait, I talked to myself. But, there was another show which was a magic show. All right, it turned fun again :) 45 minutes show and sooo interactive (I keep wondering all night long how he did it though)

On the next morning we jogged around the resort. From spicy garden, passed through the path near the pool, went down to the beach, passed through the villas (there was a shortcut and the villa was unique!), downstairs to the Kelong and get back to the hotel.

Overall, it was a quite nice and relaxing (and FUN for sure) to stay at Batam View Beach Resort. We'll definitely come back.


Another thing, the staffs are nice and friendly :)

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andy123_GM, General Manager at Batam View Beach Resort, responded to this review, September 7, 2014
Thank you for choosing Batam View Beach Resort as your holiday destination. Your kind words and thoughts really inspire our team morale and spirit. We will certainly work harder to serve guest better. thanks Anddy Fong
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pulau Penang, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

Great island south of Singapore, is only 30 minute ferry ride across to the archipelago of Indonesia. There are 2 international standard golf course next to Batam View Beach Resort @ Nongsa Batam. Excellent beaches and surrounding with green. The people here in Batam very polite, respectful and helpful. Seafood, alcohol, tobacco and SPA reasonable in price. Lots to shop especially cloths, batik, groceries, handphones, etc....Most hotels and resort have their own Spa. Batam Island is a destination for couple, group outing and family vacation. Many choice of green field for golfers. Watersports or seasport is an in thing now especially for weekend. Few places of interest, more for beaches, seafood and cheap boost.

Room Tip: Villas by the sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batam View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batam View Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Batam View Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built exclusively atop a hill with private beach, Batam View Beach Resort is a talking point among holidaymakers looking for a getaway that blends modern amenities with nature. It is an oasis of calm, ideal for relaxing, yet complete with indoor and outdoor facilities to enjoy the sun, sea and sand. The resort is an ideal venue for holidaymakers and for corporate meetings, functions and training, with its comprehensive facilities, including wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Batam View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batam View Beach Hotel Batam
Batam View Beach Resort Nongsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batam View Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.