We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a load of crap!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Batam View Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Batam View Beach Resort to your Saves list
Batam View Beach Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“What a load of crap!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

This hotel was a joke.

We booked a night away from our kids and chose this place thanks to their Spa offer on their website. Well, we arrived at a really old & tired looking building, got changed and went to the "beach". well, nothing was open, beach bar/restaurant hadn't been open for ages and the beach was disgusting with no deck-chairs or anything similar to sit on.

Pool Bar - they have one but it is shut and they don't use it either. Why???? Surely they will sell more if the amenities where open?

Anyway, we went to complain to management and asked them to find us another hotel to stay in and that took 2hrs (since we only came over for 1 night from Singapore, this was eating into our chillax time). So I found Nongsa Marina Resort and we got a suite there and they took us to that hotel (only nice thing they did). Staff where useless and whilst waiting we had a couple of drinks in the shoddy lounge and some bar snacks (samosas and spring rolls). Everyone in the hotel looked miserable.

I highly recommend NOT to go to this place on Batam and to be honest don't go to Batam full stop!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    90
    51
    14
    17
See reviews for
43
68
4
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

Everything seem to be.....as it is since I last visited 5 yrs ago. The lobby, the pool... Wangi Melati coffee house.I thought after all these years there should have some changes and I was wrong.

This place still has its charm somehow. Forget the town area. Take a slow walk around the hotel, the garden, the pool, the beach area and to the kelong and back to the lobby for a drink. Read a book, access the internet with their free WIFI at the lobby, have your legs massage or go for the 60mins spa package.

The only thing I cannot stand is the strong cigarette smell when I step into the room. I think it's time for the hotel management to consider a major facelift in order to attract/retain its customers hopefully when I return again the next time.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

we were here to celebrated our company's anniversary. I thought the hotel will be better if compared to hotels in the before years. This hotel have no problem with the room, but if you go to the beach, it's have delimitation in this side and the other. About the breakfast, this hotel just have a standard food menu. After all this hotel is just in average standard.

Room Tip: choose a room with beach view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

There could have been many good things there. Place is lacking in maintainance.
Being away from everything else, it has overpriced food that tasted ordinary. Good to have a taxi number on hand since their hotel transport cost 40% more.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

I can't begin to tell you how much potential this resort has. The grounds are expansive, but require some serious TLC - The place is in quite a state of disrepair. The Villa's are the only place I would recommend staying (request ocean front), but at 500 sing $ a night, they are expensive, dated rooms. Hotel rooms are OK, they have had a slight update, but they are still far from good.

The Kelong Restaurant was closed when we were there - they state it only closed "last week for urgent repairs", but the place looks like it's been packed up for months, and for the 5 nights we were there, we saw no work being carried out. It actually looks like a great spot to eat – right over the water – had that have been running this review might be a little more positive.

Staff are really rather lazy - all except the front desk girls who seem to be there all the time! Ground keeping / Bar / Pool staff just seem to stand around and do pretty much nothing - but they do nothing with a lovely smile! No service around the pool... we requested a menu and it arrived 80 minutes later...

The only redeeming feature was the 5th Dimension spa. Still, dated interior but reasonable prices and a lovely massage.

The other, and only cafe onsite has a limited menu - don't attempt any western dishes. Breakfast was OK, better on the weekends when the hotel was full.

We really struggled with the you-can-smoke-everywhere policy. Came home and smelt like a lucky strike for a week.

Would I stay again? No. My advice would be to visit Thailand or Tioman Island or Pangkor.

Room Tip: Water front Villa's are the only ones I would recommend. Pool facing rooms can be noisy if there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

Unexpected, unbelievable but REAL... thats how I described our 2 days and 1 night stay @ Batam View. The rooms are a bit old but clean and fair enough for its price. But the service was really awesome from the local staff who speak tagalog and We are amazed when their chef offered us our famous Pinoy dish "Tinolang Manok" for FREE. We were like "Wow!" such a feeling when your surrounded by beautiful people in your vacation...

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

Best place to relax. Overall service was good and view is most memorable one.

We haven't struggled for vegetarian food here and they accept Sing dollars also...


Starting from pick up and drop to ferry, they have taken ownership and made our stay pleasant.

Always book the resort with all packages, they will ensure everything.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Batam View Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Batam View Beach Resort

Address: Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29432, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Batam View Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 195
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built exclusively atop a hill with private beach, Batam View Beach Resort is a talking point among holidaymakers looking for a getaway that blends modern amenities with nature. It is an oasis of calm, ideal for relaxing, yet complete with indoor and outdoor facilities to enjoy the sun, sea and sand. The resort is an ideal venue for holidaymakers and for corporate meetings, functions and training, with its comprehensive facilities, including wireless Internet access. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Batam View Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Batam View Beach Hotel Batam
Batam View Beach Resort Nongsa

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Batam View Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.