We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Montigo Resorts Nongsa to your Saves list
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

I was here only 1 night for a management meeting but I really liked it, clean, good service, nice big rooms, good food in very romantic restaurants. In short well worth the trip.

Just take the ferry from Singapore directly to Nongsa and the Montigo van brings you to the resort.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

311 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    116
    67
    24
    13
See reviews for
93
42
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2014

Montigo Resorts is just a 15 min drive from the ferry terminal. They have free shuttle service to and fro the terminal.

The villa is spacious and there's a small pool in the villa for you to take a relaxing dip after a whole day out!

The customer service was superb. The staff there was always ready to answer any queries. They will also assist in calling a taxi for your day trips.

All in all, had a relaxing weekend there!

Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2014

We wanted a last minute weekend break to spend some quality family time, near to Singapore and that's what we had. It was enjoyable and relaxing.
The ferry from Tanah Merah takes 40 mins and the resort is 5 mins from Ngonsa ferry terminal. Beware if you check in luggage and don't take it off the boat yourself, they charge you to get it back!
The villas are huge and perfect for families. The pool was a big hit with our girls who spent most of the time in it. It's a perfect size.
The beds are very comfortable and our air con worked perfectly so we all slept well.
Unfortunately because of the design of the villas they haven't worn well. Everything is white - white marble floors, white sofas, white stone floors. We had quite a few leaks in the stairwell and bathroom which didn't help with the staining. They have started to renovate and the first few villas by reception are in the process of being completely gutted.
We didn't try the seafood restaurant as we are not huge seafood fans but ate at Tadds for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Breakfast is included in the room rate and there was a good choice. The menu for lunch and dinner is the same and is somewhat limited. The quality isn't great. The kids chicken nuggets were extremely processed and inedible.
The staff were friendly and service was quick. The restaurant is open air and they have a major problem with small birds coming in. The chairs which were material were all stained in bird poo.
Room service was terrible. We tried to order a bottle of wine but every bottle we picked wasn't available. After several phone calls back and forward, they sent someone to our villa. The wine list they had was completely different to the one in our villa. They then delivered the wine with no corkscrew to open it. This took a further 5 phone calls to resolve.
The kids club we didn't use as you have to pay for a 3 hour session and my kids didn't want to stay that long.
Overall, we enjoyed it but if we were to go back, I would bring my own food and maybe wait until they are renovated.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We arrived on a Friday afternoon and we were picked up at the ferry terminal. After a short ride, we reached the resort and we're promptly greeted by staff with cold wet towels and a welcome drink. That was a rather great start.

Check-in was longer than usual and we waited at the reception lobby to get ourselves registered. Luckily for the free wifi at the lobby, we managed to keep ourselves entertained. As we arrived in the late morning, they could only give us one villa (we booked two), which wasn't a bad thing since they've arranged for our two villas to be beside each other.

We booked a hillside villa for one night and a seaview villa for the next night. The villas were identically furnished and they were quite nicely decorated. Although the villas were new (we found out that the resort was built only like 2 years ago), we found that it was already showing signs of wear and tear. Stains on the tiled floor were apparent, broken shower stall handle, stuck room door and a half-filled pool were some of the issues we encountered.

We ordered a BBQ dinner on our first night and the staff did a fantastic job with the food and service. We had our dinner served at the balcony of our living room, beside the pool and overlooking the sea.

Breakfast was served at Tadd's, an open dining area beside the pool. It was a good thing that the morning was cool during our visit, although I can imagine it being quite an unpleasant experience if it was a scorching hot season. We were also extremely taken aback by the level of hygiene at the restaurant, with practically every chair at the restaurant stained with house lizard droppings. While the restaurant staff did try to find us 'cleaner' chairs, we still couldn't get over the fact that we still ended up with dirty chairs to sit on. However, the food served at the restaurant was delicious.

Overall, we did enjoy our stay and it's a good place to get away from the hustle and bustle of city life. There's not much you can do at the resort (the gym and jetty were both under maintenance), but you can always charter a taxi to bring you into town for the afternoon. Wifi is available in the villas and every public area of the resort, so you can still keep yourself entertained or connected with friends.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Resort is very near to ferry terminal but rather far from shopping area. The villa we stayed in (hilltop) wasn't very well maintained. There were stains on the floor, sofa and bathroom considering the villa is relatively new. Deco is nice in and around - rooftop is too hot to hang out in the daytime but makes for good party at night except it's very humid. Each time we asked for room service/buggy, always arrive within minutes. Not sure if it's because we stayed near the reception. First day we checked in, the safe was locked out. Water heater is not giving hot water even after repair. Toilet gives off a strong sewage smell. Electric kettle is not working. It rains and water leaks into the rooms. Massage is great and staff always greet with smiles and ask if we are doing fine. Will probably return for the spa. Kids club is good but more can be done to maintain it properly. We went early one morning and the play mat was already dirty.

Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Von G, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed feedback about your recent stay at our Resort and it was unfortunate that you had a negative impression of our villa. Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team, we will continue to work at improving and maintaining our product quality. Meanwhile, it is great to know that you have enjoyed the massage at the Spa. I hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon!

Your Sincerely,
Von Go
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2014

Was a great getaway trip for my friends and I.. Pretty pricey but well good things come at a premium right? We were ferried everywhere on a buggy.

Villa Standard
Maintenance was so-so. But we used slippers around the villa so it was ok. There is cooking facilities, but no pots and pans were provided. Had to ask them for 1 and it took like 3-4 phone calls to get it settled. Besides that, the infinity pool was great! There are 2 bedrooms, the master bedroom with an amazing, huge toilet, and the guest bedroom which wasnt too bad either. One of the rooms had a pretty bad air con which couldnt cool the room but we solved that by switching the fan on. Our neighbours were horrible though, playing loud tasteless music and smoking at the pool. There could have been more privacy for guests - we can see each other's pool from the balcony.

F&B
Daily breakfast - good variety, nice concept of live cooking stations. Happy with this!
In-villa dining - we had the in-villa BBQ. It was amazing! We had 2 personalized service staff, explaining each dish and the accompanying sauce. Chef was good too.
TADD'S - NASI GORENG IS THE BOMB!

Service
Room Service - a little slow, and needed some "chasing" to get things..
Spa - Awesome! I tried the Montigo massage and scrub. Both were great, and I especially liked the rooms which were housed in huts facing the sea. We also tried the jacuzzi pool, until we spotted an aedes mosquito.... Staff also remembered my name throughout the trip.
General - The buggy came pretty fast whenever we called, and we realised one thing.. the staff never says 'NO' to any of our requests.. Whether they can fulfill it or not.. They would always check first :)

We enjoyed our stay a lot and didn't want to leave the resort at the end of 2 nights. Pricey for Batam standards but definitely worth the experience.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Von G, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the detailed sharing of your recent stay with us. I am delighted to hear that you enjoyed the In-Villa Dining and most happy to know that you had such a great time that you did not want to leave the resort! Please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the teams and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back again!

Your Sincerely,
Von Go
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2014

This is my first trip to Batam after 6-7 years and this is definitely the nicest part of Batam. Group of 4 friends is the best combination as we all fit nicely into the villa. We were picked up at the terminal after crossing the custom and it is just a 10 min ride to the villa, check-in is pretty late but I imagine everyone checking out late. Had a leisure swim by the pool restaurant and lunch is delicious, far exceeded my expectations. Upon check-in, we were wowed by how beauitful and spacious the place is, 3 floors for us to lounge around. Living room that opens to the plunge pool, best sunset view! We had BBQ in the villa great service by 2 chefs and 1 butler, feeling very pampered. Always driven around by a buggy, and it is once of the most affordable luxury stay around Singapore. Skip the shopping center as it is a 45 min drive there and nothing attractive apart from A&W, classic!

Room Tip: Basic level villas is as good as sea front as view is not blocked
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Von G, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,

We are delighted to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us. I am also happy to know that our staff were able to meet your needs and please rest assured that your feedback will be shared with the team.

We look forward to your returning to Batam and to Montigo Resorts.

Your Sincerely,
Von Go
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montigo Resorts Nongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Address: Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montigo Resorts Nongsa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, AsiaRooms, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Montigo Resorts Nongsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montigo Resorts Nongsa Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montigo Resorts Nongsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.