We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed & Quiet Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Montigo Resorts Nongsa to your Saves list
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxed & Quiet Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

It was my very first trip to a batam Resort.Checked in on 31/08/2013 & was greetd by friendly & courtoues staff plus the Front office Manager who was always ever ready with his charming smile & warm gesture.Staff there were friendly & very polite.Only thing was that there were not much you could do at the beach frent which was not supposed to be for swimming or to laze around & for spa we had to go to Turi beach @ Tspa.Other wise if you need peace & a quiet way to relax & do nothning there's where you should head to .The food wasn't too great & hope that could be improve. The settings at the lobby & restaurant was very nice in white plus the free welcome drink was a bonus when you arrive thirsty.
Rosalind

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback

I am glad that you enjoyed your overall stay with us. I have also taken note of your suggestion on improving our food quality. We have since made improvements and I do hope that you will return soon to experience that changes.

Wishing you a great year ahead.

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    132
    136
    80
    29
    16
See reviews for
115
59
2
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We took the ferry from Singapore to Batam, Indonesia for a side trip with my friends, very convenient just 45 minutes from Singapore. We arrived Batam on the day they were celebrating their Independence day, the place was great and the food we love it. We stayed at the 2 bedroom villa with swimming pool, each villa has a private swimming pool. Perfect get away place with friends and family. The villa has its own barbecue grill and roof top terrace perfect place to watch the sun set, we stayed at the villa with ocean view, just perfect!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
I am glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. I hope that you will return soon to enjoy more of our resorts and the services that we offer.

Thank you so much

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

Had a 2 day 1 night stay with a group of 9 friends in total. While it does have a pretty view and the space was rather impressive, the experience we gained left a really bitter taste in our mouths.

We were unaware of the extra charges that came if you have more than 4 pax during the stay. During check in, the 9 of us split up because not everyone is needed during check in. 4 went to explore the entire area, 2 (including me) went to an area near the lobby to rest while the remaining 3 went to settle the check-in. One of the staff approached us and asked the 2 of us what were we doing and explained that we could wait with our (3) friends in the lobby. He followed us everywhere we went and so we decided to head to the lobby.

Turns out when we reached the lobby he told us that the limit was 4 pax and that we had to pay 100 SGD for the remaining pax. So my friend just settled it on the spot just so that we won't have a bad start to the holiday.

We never really understood what the 100 SGD was for as not a single term regarding the number of guests that could stay was stated anywhere on their website. The staff also reminded us that there would be breakfast the next day prepared for only the 4 pax and not for the 5th person who paid the 100. So I'm guessing it's just a "penalty" fee for just stepping into the place even if the 5th person decided to leave the area later in the evening. No extra bedding was provided also.

Now that we're a little more aware of this what we felt was unreasonable fee, some of us tried to leave Montigo earlier the next day (and our group had different boarding times for our ferries). The first 4 who had to catch the earlier ferry left early in the morning. I'm not sure what happened to them because they were not the ones who needed to be involved in the check-out process.

Then the next 4 of us left a while later to catch our ferry. As we boarded the vehicle to leave for the ferry terminal the staff asked us whether we checked out and we said our (remaining) friend was the one who booked and would be doing the check out process. So he said okay and we reached the terminal. I'm guessing this was what happened to the previous 4.

While we were at the terminal, the last friend who had to check-out suddenly texted us saying that they insisted that she paid for each and every person who overstayed (that's another 400 SGD) She said the person handling her check-out was nice to her but there was another particular male staff (whom we suspected was the one who brought my friend and I to the lobby for check-in) who kept insisting that he had "security watching us". My friend was alone and scared that she decided not to fight back and just pay that 400.

If you do the math I'm sure you could work out that you would be able to have a nice stay at any 5 star hotel without any of this happening to you. My same group of friends and I have had gatherings at different kinds of places (chalets, hotels) and personally I feel that even chalet staffs are better than what we have experienced.

This is to inform (or maybe warn) other future travelers that group gatherings are strictly NOT ALLOWED unless you want to book multiple villas instead.

Oh and we had to wait an hour or so when we called for ice (had to call them twice, and they lost our ice bucket so after the second call they gave us a cooler bag of ice).

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

I treated bf to a stay at Montigo for his birthday. The people and services at Montigo are great. The staffs greet and assist with a friendly smile all the time. We only experienced a slight delay for transportation to another beach for seasport. I'll definitely return to Montigo again. You may refer to my blog http://www.oh-pzy.blogspot.sg/2013/08/montigo.html as references. Hope that helps.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you so much for your feedback and your blog entry!

I am glad that your boyfriend and you enjoyed your stay and we were able to play a part in making your celebrations memorable. I do apologize however for the delay you experience in our transportation arrangement for the seasports.

I look forward to you coming back real soon.

Thank you

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Finally managed to arrange a trip to Montigo Resorts with friends.

On the whole, it was a relaxing & enjoyable trip. The villa was spacious. There is also complimentary soft drinks in the minibar which is a nice touch. The small kitchenette comes in handy when there's craving for instant noodles.

We had dinner & drinks at Tiigo. The quality of the BBQ food was good. We had satay, fish & beef and it was very tasty. The salsa sauce on the fish complimented the dish very well. What a way to end the night with good food and good music spinning by Damien.

I had a Indonesian style mee goreng at Tadd which was tasty and the chicken wing that came with it was succulent. The chicken wing was cooked nicely and juicy.

My friend had chicken barappa but she would like the sambal chilli to be spicier but then again that's her taste and individual's taste can be subjective.

My friends & I would definitely go back to Montigo for the stay & food. It's a nice getaway from the hustle and bustle of Singapore considering that the ferry ride was only 40 mins.

Stayed July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
I am very happy that your friends you enjoyed your stay with us.

I am also delighted that you enjoyed our food and our TIIGO Bar that has started to pick up speed!

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback and I sincerely look forward to your return real soon.

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

What's good:
Nice, cool and hip. Lots of white, hope they can keep it looking white.
Enjoyed our personal party on the roof deck of our villa.
Staff that are friendly and eager to serve.

What's not so good
Nothing much to do. 1 day 2 nights is plenty
Not much of a beach, many muddy and rocky than sand.
Limited equipment and hours in the gym.
Lousy coffee for breakfast.

Room Tip: All villas get sea views, don't need to pay extra for better units
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you for your kind feedback

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. I have also noted our shortcoming especially on our morning coffee which we have since changed.

We also offer several services like tennis games, bicycle trails, fishing trips, golf games etc.

I do hope that you will be able to stay longer in the near future when you return to enjoy the remaining services that we offer.

Thank you once again.

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

excellent, relaxed and luxurious getaway, 40 mins from Singapore.

our stay at Montigo resorts was near perfect.

Montigo is a big resort, expanding, ambitious, in Nongsa area, facing Singapore, in the indonesian island of Batam. The location is excellent in terms of convenience : 40 mins ferry from Tanah Merah terminal (Singapore) and a quick (free) and comfy transfer offered by the resort from Nongsapura terminal to Montigo. The place is calm, relatively green, offering this strange feeling of being in nature, despite having the view of Singapore's skyscrapers at the horizon.

There is an artificial beach, under construction, but the sea is neither clean nor inviting. However, this is not a problem, since each villa at Montigo resorts comes with a little private pool, plus two big pools near the Tadd's restaurant and the bar, and another one at the spa.

Each villa has the same layout, which means that the price difference between them are rather a matter of being very close to the beach, or close to the beach, or having a little spa cabana (for the probably overrated spa villas). My advice : go for the hillside villas, usually the cheapest, not too close from the possible nuisances of tha bar, main pools and restaurants.

One thing that is necessary to be aware of : Montigo resorts caters mostly for Singaporeans who want a quick getaway. Which means that it is full, more expensive, probably crowded and quite possibly very noisy (think families, partying people, djs spinning at night, queues at the overbooked spa and restaurants, and so on) during the weekends, while the weekdays are totally different : quiet, cool and relaxing and, above all, much more affordable, thanks to the weekdays promotions.

For its architecture, design, ambitions and "spirit", Montigo resorts is apparently quite inspired by two very successful villas project in Indonesia : Alila Uluwatu (Bali) for its design and (vaguely) eco-friendly appearance [but the location is definitely not as grandiose as Uluwatu's cliffs, however Montigo's villas are three times bigger and three times cheaper than those of Alila Uluwatu], and Qunci villas (Lombok) for its new project of swimmingpool's dining in front of the beach with djs and chic food [but the sea and the beach at Nongsa cannot compete with Lombok, however Montigo's project is more open and less snubbish].

The villas are big, smartly and elegantly designed. They can easily accomodate for a family (two kids), 4 people or more and they are a huge and very pleasant palace for a couple.
At the first floor, there is a big living room with an all-equiped kitchen (meaning you can bring your food and cook there, but beware of the ants!), comfy sofas, opening to a terrace with a very pleasant private infinity pool and a fragrant cempaka tree.
At the second floor, the master bedroom is great, with a big kingsize bed, a comfy large couch and a beautiful view over the sea. Adjoining the master bedroom, there is a fantastic bathroom, with a cool well-designed shower with chic amenities, toilets, and a massive bathtube in stone, with very high ceiling and a light-well, allowing you to enjoy a bath while looking at the moon... Next to the master bedroom, there is also a comfy room with two twin beds and another nice bathroom.
The third floor is a very pleasant big rooftop terrace, where one can have dinner, barbeque, a good suntanning or enjoying the moonlight. This part is probably what makes Montigo villas go to the extramile. However, i guess it might be a bit annoying in terms of quiteness and privacy when the resort is full, people from the villas uphill being able to peep at what's going on downhill rooftops and pools. Noise may be also an issue in the case of a packed resort (in weekends and Singapore public holidays). We were lucky enough to be almost alone in the resort and to enjoy a quiet romantic full moon at the rooftop, which is unforgettable.
In terms of amenities, the villas are fully loaded : comfortable beds and luxury bathroom and bedlinen amenities, coffee machine and everything you need for cooking, ipod deck, wii console, soundsystem, lcd cable tvs in case you could feel the strange need to watch tv in such a place, bluray and dvd players, and so on. Strangely, though, some basics are lacking : no hairdryer, no razor in the bathroom.

I would recommend to have at least a massage at the spa. Service is exquisite and massages are great (the Indonesian massage is better than the Montigo special, though). The massage rooms are clean and relaxing, in huts facing the sea, with that strange feeling of getting relaxed and pampered by typical indonesian grace, while seeing Singapore's seafront at the horizon. The spa comes also with a pool and two (non-heated) jacuzzi.

Breakfasts are at Tadd's restaurant, the main restaurant, facing the sea. Food there is average and the place is a bit too noisy. Pantai, chinese seafood restaurant, is much more classy, with a lovely setting and a beautiful view, and the enjoyable cuisine of chef Stacey Teo. Tiigo, the club-bar, is still under construction. There could be other solutions for dining : cooking your own meal in the villas, or having private dining at the villas (same price than in the restaurants).

Now, what makes the Montigo resorts so pleasant is also the quality of service there. People at the reception were exquisitely polite, efficient, friendly, cool and understanding. Check-ins, check-outs are smooth. Restaurant staffs were attentive and polite, although not always very fluent in english. Buggies drivers, drivers, security staffs and cleaning staffs were friendly, polite and efficient. And, as i wrote before, the staff at the spa was amazingly polite and freindly. Once again, this was in a semi-empty resort, on weekday. I hope the service can be as friendly and efficient in the rush of weekends.

This is definitely a place i'll be eager to stay again and again.

Room Tip: the layout is the same for all the villas, so it's better to go for a cheaper Hillside villa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 20, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time off your previous schedule for a detailed feedback which is truly appreciated.

I am glad that you have enjoyed our villa and our services and that our staff were able to deliver great service that you enjoyed. I have also especially shared your feedback with our spa team and the staff were thrilled.

I have also taken note of the shortcomings that you have highlighted and rest assured that I will work with my Management Team on the improvements like language improvements.

Thank you once again and I look forward to your return real soon

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Montigo Resorts Nongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Address: Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montigo Resorts Nongsa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Splendia, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Montigo Resorts Nongsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montigo Resorts Nongsa Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montigo Resorts Nongsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.