We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Forced to pay for breakfast which I did not consumed” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Save Saved
You added Montigo Resorts Nongsa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nongsa
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Forced to pay for breakfast which I did not consumed”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just came back from a weekend getaway to celebrate a birthday and wedding anniversary with friends. Room was originally booked for 4 pax but we had a last minute addition to the group, totalling to 5pax. We were FORCED to pay an additional S$100 for the additional pax which i found very unreasonable because we had not asked/used any additional facilities.

We were told that the additional fee for the extra person was to cater for extra bed, guest amenities and breakfast, HOWEVER, we had NONE of the mentioned. There was no extra bed nor bathroom amenities for the additional pax, neither did we consume extra breakfast. Everything that we had used/consumed was only meant for 4pax!

Tried to reason with the Front Desk but they were insistent that this is their hotel policy. Being a hotelier myself, I find this ridiculous! Guests should have been given the option of paying for additional items upon consumption instead of the charges forced upon unwillingly. We were made to feel like we were there to cheat the hotel for having an additional guest BUT in actual fact, it was the other way. So in general, we had been made to pay the additional amount just to step on the property of Montigo, breathe in their air and a breakfast which was not consumed!

The management should really looked into their policies and exercise flexibility when situations call for it but your harsh executing of the policy and inflexibility was really uncalled for. Not every group of guests are there to cheat you!

Would I stay with Montigo again? - Never again after this experience

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
I apologize for the unpleasant that you have experienced during your stay with us.

I am keen to speak with you for more details and I will be grateful if you could spare some time to speak with me through +627787768888.

Once again, please accept my apologies and I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    83
    105
    56
    23
    13
See reviews for
85
38
2
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

What an amazing place. Just what Batam needed to compete with the overpriced and complacency of nearby Bintan Resorts.

The villas are beautifully decorated, fully equipped with all mod cons. If you want a quick and easy luxury get away from Singapore then this is the place for you. You could easily spend an entire weekend just relaxing in the Villa with it’s private pool and roof top sun deck.

All the staff were exteemly helpful and friendly, nothing was too much trouble.

The main restaurant served quality food all day and at reasonable prices. 3 courses for 2 people with soft drinks came to around 50SGD. They also had a gret kids menu.
Nasi Goreng was outstanding as was the ceaser salad

It’s early days for Montigo and the resort is not fuly open yet. There is construction continuing on the 2nd half of the resort so some people may have some complaints about that, but it didn’t affect our stay at all as it is quite self contained at the other end of the site.

The kids play centre is fantastic with lots of different things to keep the little ones entertained. The staff were again very friendly and engaged the kids throughout.

This place is already excellent but still has some opportunities for improvement. If they can iron out these snags then they will take it to the next level:

*when we arrived at the ferry terminal there was no one obvious there from Montigo to greet us. We eventually found the representative but it would help if they had Montigo clearly on their uniform and were holding up a sign

*There were no sun loungers or outdoor furniture next to the Villa Pool. It would be nice just to have a couple of comfy sun beds.

*Upon check in, the receptionist told us that there were a selection of Nintendo Wii games available. Our daughter was very excited about this. But we tried a few times during the weekend to get some games but they were all unavailable. Maybe a system where guests keep the games for a max of 24hrs and a waiting list for specific games would help satisfied more guests.

*the only glasses in the villa were wine glasses, it would be good to have some tumbler type glasses for drinks

· The resort would benefit from having an onsite grocery store to pick up some basic ingredients. There is a fantastic kitchen in the Villa but unless you head out of the resort to pick up provisions, you will not be able to use it

· Having the pool in the villa was amazing but we got the feeling that it wasn’t cleaned as often as it should be. If you build a resort with a 100+ villas with a 100+ pools, you need to have a cleaning and maintenance programme in place to support it.

Room Tip: we paid extra for the Spa Villa, but as every villa onsite has exactly the same layout, we would rec...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thank you very much for your kind comments.

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and our staff were able to make your stay a memorable one.

I have also taken note of your suggested improvements some of which like the signage for arrivals are already being worked on. Feedback from our guests such as yours, always helps us in our continuous pursuit to provide quality service to exceed the expectations of our guests.

I look forward to your return to our resort real soon.

Thank you

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Everything was simply nice and peaceful thru out our 2 days 1 night stay there, from the transfer to the check-in and food with lots of fantastic service in-house. We had a perfect trip planned so as we thought, checking out at 11am before heading to the ferry terminal to confirm our tickets for ferry back to Singapore since it was our 1st time to Batam and we did not want to take chances just in case. Since our scheduled ferry back was supposed to be in the evening, we thought we could settle for a massage before we leave Batam. And so we arranged for the massage place to send their driver to the ferry terminal to pick us instead. To our horror, the poor chap came and was stopped by some people at the terminal. We did not understand what they were saying other than hearing "Montigo... Montigo..".They pulled him to one side to speak, making matter worse a car pulled over while the saga was still going on. A few men alighted and pushed the driver, one of them slapped him in the face and this man was wearing a "Montigo Resort" Polo Tee. After some pushing and pulling the driver around, they chased him away leaving us standing at the ferry terminal. And the group of men who came in the car that pulled over actually asked if we wanted to go back to Montigo Resort! Gosh! Anyone would have been totally freaked out after having such an experience with such a bunch of hooligans! We left in the next ferry back to Singapore.

Room Tip: we had a hilltop room, view was good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, April 16, 2013
I regret to hear that this has happened to you. We have taken immediate action to investigate the situation and have discovered that the person in the t-shirt with our resort logo is an employee of a local taxi company which serves the area of Nongsa. We are unaware that they had put our logo on their uniform and they have no authorization to use our logo in any way. This incident has been referred to the local police for their action.

Again, I profoundly regret that you have encountered this unpleasant experience. I wish to thank you for raising this matter so that we can take prompt action and be able to do our utmost to deliver our service commitments to our guests. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

The first impression of the place was good while we were checking in at the main lobby. Nice exterior of the buildings and view. As we arrived slightly early and our room will only be ready in an hour's time, we decided to have our lunch at one of the restaurant, Tadd's. Food is not bad at affordable price.

Once check-in, the interior of our hilltop villa is great, with huge living room/kitchen, white sofa and not forgetting the infinity pool. The bedrooms and toilets are spacious and there is even an open area on the rooftop for family gatherings/ BBQ.

However there is really nothing much to do other than relaxing and swimming in the infinity pool. Wii selection was very very limited. No BPL soccer matches, limited DVD selections, no facilities nearby the resort.

We went out for seafood dinner at Sri Rezeki Seafood Restaurant, by hiring the resort's taxi service, which cost us $150,000 rup for 2 hours. Seafood dinner was ok, and is affordable (about $500,000 rup for 4 adults).

Here comes the bad experience:
We checked out the afternoon, and took the free shuttle to the ferry terminal. As our ferry timing was late in the evening, we have earlier arranged for a spa package at Nagoya area. As Nagoya is quite a distance away, the spa had arranged for a driver to pick us up at the ferry terminal. However, after meeting up with the driver, he was confronted by other drivers and even manhandled by a guy wearing the Montigo Resort top. Apparently, they are not very happy that we are not using the Resort's transport service (which is chargeable). Eventually, they forced the driver to drive off, leaving us stranded at the ferry terminal. As such, we decided not to take any of their taxi services there and changed to an earlier ferry timing departure.

I do not understand why we are not allowed to even make our own transport arrangements after we had checked out and outside the Resort's premises. The guests/ tourists should have the freedom to choose and make their own plans. This is really a disappointing and abrupt end to our weekend getaway.. Don't think we will even want to go back there.. We would rather stay somewhere near to Nagoya area and within walking distance to amenities and facilities.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I regret to hear that this has happened to you. We have taken immediate action to investigate the situation and have discovered that the person in the t-shirt with our resort logo is an employee of a local taxi company which serves the area of Nongsa. We are unaware that they had put our logo on their uniform and they have no authorization to use our logo in any way. This incident has been referred to the local police for their action.

Again, I profoundly regret that you have encountered this unpleasant experience. I wish to thank you for raising this matter so that we can take prompt action and be able to do our utmost to deliver our service commitments to our guests. I hope you will consider staying with us again in the future.

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

We saw the pictures and asked if they are for real. True enough, when one first visited the property, one would be very impressed with the hardware. It's really pretty, as the pictures shown on the web. But the software still has some way to go. It took us more than an hour to get checked-in, rare for a luxurious property like this (we were there from 3pm, their local time). That was already a poor impression. When we asked for BBQ dinner to be arranged at our villas, they told us that they were already full and could not accommodate our request. We asked about the restaurant and confirmed that there would not be any surcharges and that we would go for the ala-carte instead of the buffet. But when we were at the restaurant, we were told otherwise. It was after much 'haggling' that we were allowed the ala- carte. One can imagine what sort of holidays this has turned out to be. The fortunate part was that the food served were of good standard that saved the day. And when we returned to villas, the duty manager came to apologies for their slowness in checking in this afternoon. A least they tried on the service recovery.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for spending time in sharing your feedback on your stay.

Please accept my sincere apologies for us in not living up to your expectations. Rest assured that your feedback has been shared and discussed with our Executive Team for improvement in our service standards.

Steps have been put in place since your last stay to improve on our standards and I hope that you will return to see these improvements.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies and I look forward to your return in the very near future.

Thank you

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 1 night at the beach front villa. The beach was so-so. Nothing fantastic. Can save the dollars for a hilltop villa.

Rooms:
The decor of the entire villa is modern. There was much emphasis to the decor and the quality of the furnishings. It is really a huge pity that the maintenance team could not maintain the furnishings.

The villa has 3 levels, living on level 1, rooms on level 2, chillax place outdoors on level 3. There are 2 rooms, one with king and the other with 2 super singles. Can accommodate 5 adults & 1 kid.

The sofa was stained badly. Even the non-white ones. We had to lay blankets over the sofa as it was really dirty. The rooms were nice though. Very modern, huge and posh. Toilet was huge with Grohe's taps and showers. The living room is equipped with Wii , bluejay player & Bang & Olufsen's player which was really dope!

Cleanliness:
The living toilet was not cleaned well. There were urine stains on the toilet bowl! I think housekeeping missed out one bowl. The bed sheets had rust stains on it! :( the floor was also dirty. Tiles were stained and minibar was dirty !(see pics). But I reckon the tiles was becuz of the rain & water seepage.

Service:
Staff were attentive and polite.. However, they will NEVER lend you a bottle opener. U will have to call them whenever you want to open a bottle! Oh btw snacks and soft drinks are on the house.

Food:
They had a wide selection for breakfast. Even tho u guys gotta watch out for the birds which come n steal the food! The calamari with mango is super yum!

Facilities:
We came during the soft launch period. In april. There was practically nth to do. No water sports, just the pool. No bar, nth. Except Wii & a poor selection of DVDs!! So it's kinda like a do nothing trip. Bring your own chips & booze becuz they do not have convenience stores.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
I am grateful for your valuable feedback.

Your feedback was discussed in details with my operational team Heads and we will strive to ensure improvements in our maintenance. I have also discussed this in length with our housekeeping team and rest assured that it is being looked into with a view on improvements.

Though we are in our soft opening stage, we have already since introduced several activities for our guests to enjoy during their stay such as bicycle trails, tennis, cooking classes, kampong trail etc. We are also looking at increasing our DVD and Wii Games library.

We are also in the continuous process of offering more facilities to our guests as they fall ready.

I sincerely hope that you indulge us this occassion and return to see the improvements I have mentioned about.

Thank you and looking forward to seeing you soon.

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

I enjoyed thoroughly my spa experience at Montigo. I had a "villa" fronting the beach and it felt fabulous - imagine the wide expanse of ocean right in front of you, and the soothing sounds of waves lapping against the shore - perfect setting for a relaxing spa.
And there were nice little touches of tradition in the spa villa, the flowers, the straw slippers - the attention to details assured me of the premium that Montigo puts on delivering the best service to guests.
Definitely worth another visit.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am truly glad that you enjoyed our spa and your stay. We spend time obtaining feedback from our guests to look at ways to improve and provide what our guests need to enjoy a memorable stay and feedback such as yours assist us in this quest.

Thank you once again and I look foward to your return to our resort real soon.

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montigo Resorts Nongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Address: Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montigo Resorts Nongsa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Tingo, AsiaRooms, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Montigo Resorts Nongsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montigo Resorts Nongsa Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montigo Resorts Nongsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.