We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location for family weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Save Saved
You added Montigo Resorts Nongsa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nongsa
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great location for family weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012 via mobile

Though the resort is at its opening phase & many elements are pending for improvement, the service of their staff is excellent! This is a place that I will not hesitate to tip each & every staff.

I am sure this location will become Singaporeas' new hangout with families & friends.

Well done everyone in Montigo Resort!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience.

Thank you very much for your kind words. We will continue to strive to deliver our best to all our guests.

We look forward to your return visit soon.

Thank you once again

Sincerely yours
Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    104
    55
    21
    13
See reviews for
82
36
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is the first time I am writing a review because the services there is so good that I must complement and promote them. It was a wonderful stay though most of the constructions are not completed yet.

There was a minor hipcup as the group of us went to Nagoya to shop first and wanted to take their 4pm shuttle bus to the resort to check-in. However, we waited at the pickup area for 1h+ and didn't see the shuttle bus. We thought that we missed the bus but in the end, it was because the shuttle bus pick up has been delayed by 1h to 5pm on that day and we weren't aware of it. However, once we got to the resort, the staff were very fast in their service recovery, explaining to us the situation and apologised to us.

After we enter the resort, our fatigue and bad mood were gone. It is truly a beautiful villa with all the facilities within the villa itself. The staff will bring you around the villa, showing to you the different facilities within the villa and leave you there in awe. The couple room is really beautiful with rose petals and a swan couple on the bed. The bathroom is very nice as well. However, it is a challenge walking out of the bathroom as the floor is very slippery. Will suggest the resort to place a mat there as it is easy for exciting young kids or people who walked out fast to slip and fall.

The balcony with the plunge pool is a nice place for you to relax with your friends and have a drink. You can have your in-villa dinner at the balcony as well. The food selection in the resort is still very limited but nonetheless delicious and priced reasonably. If you don't want to have your meals in the villa, another option will be their dining area at Pantai, where your breakfast will be. We were lucky to enjoy the buffet breakfast and the pastries are delicious.

You will have extremely friendly staff visiting you to make sure that everything is alright and if you need anything. Buggy rides and villa services are very prompt and friendly as well. We went to the reception to get more wii games late at night but most of the games left are not so interesting as other guests had borrowed the interesting games and I was telling my friend how I wish there's tennis for us. After we borrowed two games, we went back to the villa. The next day, one of the staffs came suddenly and passed us the tennis games, much to our surprise! The staff at the reception counter actually took note of our conversation and sent it to us the next day. Really amazed by their services.

After breakfast, we had a buggy ride around the resort and the staff explained to us the development of the resort. It seems like the swimming pool should be ready by next Jan so perhaps a trip there next year will be good with more facilities opening. There's other activities like Mangrove tour and Bike Tour available now as well.

If you have bought an open ticket like me, you can let the staff know when you check in so that they can book the return ferry timing for you. If not the popular slot is often full in no time. The resort will also have free transfer for guest from the Nongsaputra ferry terminal and it is only a 5mins drive away from the resort.

Overall it's a very good stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am delighted that you generally enjoyed your overall stay and thank you for your kind comments on our service and our staff. I have shared your feedback with our staff and they are truly happy to be of service.

I have also taken note of the issues relaing to slippery surface, delayed shuttle pick up and limited food selection. Please accept my sincere apologies for these and rest assured that I will work with my operational leaders to improve on our service.

We truly look forward to your return to our resort soon. Thank you

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

well to start off, I’m not those whom frequently do reviews on the hotels that I’ve stayed over.
however this resort indeed has several great points to be praised and encouraged for.

firstly, in order not to miss our complimentary shuttle service to nagoya at 10am (local time), we took the 8am (sg time) and arrived the resort at 8.30am (local time)!!! the hotel staff was so nice to let us have early check in to enjoy the resort. as we wasn't expecting much from the resort (since its at batam) we were amazed when she brought us around this newly open villa. the entire villa was well equipped with 2 bedrooms, 3 bathrooms, a huge living room with kitchenette, dining area, rooftop terrace and private pool! and of course, it comes with wii and good wifi signal which really makes our day!

the resort services and its (manager i suppose, by the name of jordan) is very nice and helpful. despite the numerous calls for amenities and even extra wii controllers throughout the entire stay, the services was at its tip top. from early check in to private transport to exterminating of ants to clearing rubbish etc, the staff offered their very best service. especially on the last day of stay whereby my friend forgotten her boarding pass (due she left earlier), the staff was sooooooo nice to have offered to collect and deliver the boarding pass directly to her at the ferry terminal! **claps**

overall stay was awesome, the moment u are awake, beach view is laying in front of u. breakfast variety wasn't a huge spread but they serve nice food. looking forward to the day whereby the private beach is ready. ***thumbs up for this affordable resort***

Room Tip: have a check on the master bedroom's aircon and if possible the drainage system, before entering
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am truly delighted that your friends and you had a wonderful stay. I have shared your feedback on the service to our staff especially to Jordan and they are delighted to have been able to make your stay a great one.

I have also taken note of our service lapses which you have mentioned especially in the room tips and I will work with our operational leaders to ensure that these are rectified.

My team and I look forward to your return in the very near future. Thank you

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Montigo Resort is a gem found by a friend online for a group of 8 of us who were looking for exclusivity yet somewhere private for our weekend getaway during July. With a soft launch price hard to beat, we thought it was a good deal for a large group of us. Initially we were looking at just one hilltop villa but since it allows only maximum 5 pax per villa, we didn't mind reserve another 2nd villa.

We were given free land transfer from Nongsapura Terminal and immediately feel the warm hospitality upon arrival with cool towel and welcome drink. Since at that time it was only a soft launch thus there were only few people known about this resort and made the reservation. I bet by now it would have been fully furnished and higher occupancy.

We were given the highest row of the hilltop villas which were the only few opened at that time. Everything looked new and spacious inside the villa. It is 3 floor storeys high, with living room, kitchen and small private pool at the balcony. A Wii gameset is available to kill time in the villa. Further to 2nd floor is 1 king size bedroom with huge bathroom with bathtub in the middle and separate toilet/shower cubicle and consists of an airwell in it overlook the sky. The other room is a twin bedded single room with a separate bathroom with standing shower only. Both rooms have LCD TV, overlooked the straits and the seaview is great at this level too. Beds are equally comfortable and we slept well in there during our stay. 3rd floor is empty at that time which i believe they would have put some furniture there but only white PVC mattresses there. Believe it is to used for sunbathing purpose but we then used it for star gazing at night! Hahaha. But bear in mind of the mosquitos which i encountered some.

After checking in and a quick dip in the private pool to cool ourselves during this hot month, we rented a 7 seater taxi through the hotel but it sits comfortably for 8 of us. It took a good 45 mins to reach the town and shopping mall. We went for massage and purchasing our dinner pack from the coffee shops near the mall back to resort in view that there are limited choices in the only restaurant opened there at that time. We had a great time chit chatting, dipping ourselves again in the private pool, under the moon and stars with bintang beers, peanuts and crackers after our dinner. Since we had nothing much to do in the resort since no facility was available during our July stay and only the spa was opened. Then we decided to explore the spa to check out their package for our next day, given that we entitled to 20% discount for all treatments. There are one private larger pool and 2 jacuzzis within the spa premise. We were given the consent by the spa to use it till late. It was enjoyable as with a group of 8 of us, the entire pool and jacuzzis are just our exclusive heaven! We has great fun there swimming and relaxing at 10ish!

Breakfast was very limited with 2 to 3 set meals to choose from. But it is sufficient for each of us with toast, sausage, ham, scramble eggs and coffee/tea/juice. We didnt expect much as we are paying what we were paying for, that is the privacy for our group of friends in both villas.

Overall we are happy with this resort at such a launched price given and we hope to go there again in near future, if the price is right.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am truly happy to know that your friends and you enjoyed your stay especially our plunge pool. We have indeed opened more villas and are constantly adding to our services as and when they are available. We also now have a recretation team that arranges activities like sea sports, bicycle trails, fishing etc.

I look forward to your return to our resort in the very near future.

Thank you

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

A weekend get away with my family, first time here, really impressed with the villas.

Check-in was rather slow, few staffs didn't really know what they were doing at first. Requested 2 villas next to each other upon booking, sales told us it is defs available, but in the end we didnt really get one, but wasn's too bothered with it. We were just disappointed with the promise from the staff.

Villa itself was good, but not great, villa that supposed to be new but u can see dirty spots here and there (cusions and floor)
We pre booked bbq dinner at our villa, service was superb! Would like to give credits to 2 staffs (didnt get to know their name) one chef from Bali and the other waiter. Thanks for all the great jobs! (Villa 15 3rd of nov)

Spa looks awesome, but didnt get to try it, thanks to the friendly staff who showed us around, including the buggy's driver

Sunset bar, service was rather slow, and staff didnt know much. Im guessing he is new?

As Breakfast was pretty good, varieties of selection, hotel's standard

Check out was really really slow, i think i was there at least 20mins to settled everything.

But overall, good Villa, great place to chill, and moderate service.
There are of course rooms for improvement, otherwise new villa will turns old pretty soon ;)
Will recommend to friends when all the facilities are completed, as for now nothing much to do.

Looking forward for its grand opening

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your feedback.

I am glad that you had generally enjoyed your stay. I have also taken of the service lapses that you experienced which I will work with our operational leaders to improve upon. Please accept my sincere apologies for these.

I am also looking into introducing more services in our resort which already has activities like bicycle trail, kampong adventure, mangrove adventure, fishing trips etc.

My team and I are looking forward to your return to our resort.

Thank you once again.

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2012

The Montigo Resort is in soft opening now with few operating facilities and restaurant options but will be complete in 2-3 months with an extensive beach club, 2 pools, 2 restaurants, kids club and retail. For this 3 night/4 day short break to celebrate my wife's birthday,chill and re-charge the batteries with the family, it was a good choice. We found Aloysius, Jordan and the resort team to be very hospitable and accommodating as well their very friendly staff at front desk, Ayaz the Guest Relations & Loyalty executive, the housekeeping and restaurant staff. In particular Mukti "the magic man", Harry's and Dian who run activities and the kids program. Very entertaining, engaging and patient guys with kids. The Indonesian massage at the Spa was also very good .There are of course improvements and standards consistency in the Villa services, restaurant & room service offerings etc but am sure this will be addressed by Aloysius and team before full opening when higher prices and expectations of luxury customers.dictate. Thankyou to all who made our short break most enjoyable.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your valuable feedback.

I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay. I have also shared your appreciation of our staff with them and they are truly happy that they were able to make your stay a memorable one.

I wil continue to strive with our team to improve that services that we have, as and when they come online.

I am looking forward to your return in the very near future.

Thank you once again

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I wouldnt recommend this resort to anyone right now. I personally feel we were a little ripped off paying $400 odd a night during the soft opening phase for what we got.

The Villa is fabulous. Very spacious with nice furniture and private swimming pool. However should you want to leave your room there is a man made pond which is brown and dirty, this leads down to a rather weird bamboo walk way which is overgrown with trees, we wernt sure if we were meant to be walking down here until it lead to the pool. I have a better pool in my condo and the beach on the East Coast of Singapore is more inviting than the one in front of Montigo Resort. I really hope the hotel is looking to develop these 2 areas or I can't see this place being appealing to anyone planning on spending time out of their room whilst there.

The view is nice, though was a tad disappointed at being able to look out and see Raffles Place (my office) from the table at dinner, bed in the morning, balcony over lunch and whilst enjoying a beer in the pool.

The staff were great, all very friendly, they speak good english and were always quick to our room when we ordered a buggy.

Was a little disappointed that the breakfast buffet (bread, ceral, fruit) was only available on the Sunday morning, meaning the only option we had on Saturday was to order from the ala carte' menu - which is only 1 dish. The menu in the restaurant at dinner, doesnt give a lot of options - though the food was good. The room service menu has a lot of options, though we were a little disappointed with the quality of the food.

Town is quite the drive, a good 40 mins so be ready for that should you want to go into town.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aloysius M, General Manager at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, December 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.

My sincere apologies for us not meeting up to your expectations. I will continue to work with our development team to ensure tha the services are ready at the earliest opportunity.

I have also taken note of your comments on the buffet breakfast and will work with our Chef with an intention to improve the selection.

I do hope and look forward to your return in the near future.

Thank you very much.

Sincerely yours

Aloysius Michael
General Manager
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Montigo Resorts Nongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Address: Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montigo Resorts Nongsa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com and Otel so you can book your Montigo Resorts Nongsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montigo Resorts Nongsa Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montigo Resorts Nongsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.