We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious Villa for a Weekend Escapade” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Save Saved
You added Montigo Resorts Nongsa to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Montigo Resorts Nongsa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Spacious Villa for a Weekend Escapade”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2012 via mobile


My friend and I stayed in the villa overlooking the sea and view was spectacular. The spacious villa with superb in-oom amenities and personalised services is definitely an ideal resort for a romantic getaway

You must try their indonesian cuisine which was sumptuous and creatively presented

Everywhere you go in the resort, you will be warmly greeted and all the service staff will go the extra mile to cater to your every request.

We had a promotional discount for the villa and was definitely value for money for our weekend escapade from the hustle and bustle city life of Singapore.

This new 5-star resort in Batam will be a gem once all the facilities are ready.

We will definitely make a trip bsck to resort again for another relaxing weekend.

JT

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalip S, Vice President Operations at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, August 10, 2012
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your recent stay at Montigo Resort.

I am delighted to note that you found the Indonesian cuisine sumptuous and had a great stay experience with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dalip Singh
Vice President Operations
KOP Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

295 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    85
    113
    60
    24
    13
See reviews for
89
40
2
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

All I can say is this was an awful trip in so many ways. Calling it a soft-opening is laughable. More like barely open. Let me start...

I learned about this place via a T+L email and from the looks the pictures look really nice. They did say it was a soft opening and what this meant which I understood. But when I went to the private yacht transfer they then mention that there was no beach. Huh? What kind of beach resort is this where there is no beach and if that is the case you better clearly spell that out during the reservation as it is really misleading. In any case in their favor when I pointed out to them, the manager (Vanessa) was nice enough to give me a full refund for everything. After discussing with wife and too late to make any changes we decided to give them a one night stay at least.

First thing is the yacht transfer was great and really worth it. We probably enjoyed this the most out of the whole trip.

Got to hotel and the actual villa is massive but really looked half decorated. The top floor had pillows all over the place and outside roof terrance was barren. We really think that if you had some of the place open might as well finish it up vs. leaving it empty.

Food was pretty reasonable but nothing to write about. Service was dreadfully slow for delivery.

Breakfast was a disaster as they had only two options which were included in stay. The weird thing is based on the cost next to them on menu it was more expensive then some of the other a la carte stuff. My tip is great rid of these two choice as they were crap and have a buffet or better options.

Service was dreadfully slow for anything. Yes prob just a result of new staff but all request took about 3x phone call to reception to get. I kid you not. Even a simple request for ice took me three calls before someone came over. This is considering of the 30 villas only 11 were occupied.

As mention earlier there is no beach so they sent us to the next resort for water sports. Nothing there but what irritated us was that even though distance was about 5 minutes it took 3x calls and 30 minutes later for a car to take us back. The driver excuse was they did not have enough cars. Well they should resolve this for the price this place charges and having to wait 30 minutes for a ride that only took 5 minutes is crazy.

Overall I would say do not come here now. It is just a disaster. When it does fully open I would say the resort will look nice but at this price if you are looking for a short trip from Singapore just go to Bintan. The beach is nicer and at this price you can probably get a really nice place.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalip S, Vice President Operations at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, August 5, 2012
Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay.

I am happy to hear that the yacht journey was enjoyable. However, I am disappointed to note of the challenges you experienced during your stay. Please accept my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused.

We look forward to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Montigo Resort Nongsa in the near future.

Sincerely,
Dalip Singh
Vice President Operations
KOP Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Few months ago I came across the announcement for this soon to open new "High End" resort in Batam.

Finally last month they started to accept reservations for a soft opening and this past weekend we adventured, with another couple, on uncharted waters.

Montigo Resorts gives the possibility, paying a little extra per person, to travel to Batam using a private 42' Yacht with a max occupancy of 9 people.

This is a major plus point for the resort, it's fast (20 min), limited amount of time wasted at the terminal, landing at private marina in Batam few minutes from the resort...such a great way to travel and to start the week end!

Once at the resort, we were greeted by very friendly staff and a magnificent view to the ocean and Singapore.
The reception is very nicely designed with a great choice of colors and fabrics..minimalistic/organic with nice textures..very very nice.

We got checked in and driven with a buggy to the villa we shared with our friends.

All pictures on the website are accurate and they depict the villa perfectly.

Beautiful space, simply wonderful, the private pool is great , the open space concept is what we love and always look for in a house and the bedrooms match the rest perfectly.

We stay in the "kids" room that has twins bed instead of queen or king, but room service put together the two single beds and everything was perfect.

The room has an en-suite bathroom, smaller than the master bedroom one, but plenty for an adult couple.The view to the ocean is very nice.
Bizarre it's their choice of having the mirror beside the sink and not in front of it, but these are small details.

The master bedroom and its en-suite bathroom are very spacious, with nice finishings and a wonderful view of the ocean in front of the bed.

You could see signs of the soft opening on the sun deck on the third floor, in my opinion still not ready and unusable, no lounge chairs, no umbrella, plants..just few pillow hard like concrete.

Once it's completed it will be a magical place where to have an aperitif at sunset.

The service was overall great, room service was always very fast and the food of good quality, staff friendly if a bit uncertain of procedures (again..it's a soft opening so i'm cutting them some slack)..

The restaurant was very nice, but noisy due to nearby construction site, food was good (both dinner and breakfast) and not at all expensive.

While golfing at the adjacent Palm Springs golf club (of which we are members) located at 3 minutes car ride from the resort, the ladies went to the SPA, and here is one of the few negative points, it was HOT, cramped, noisy and the massage and facial of poor quality for quite a steep price.

They also tried to go to the closest mall, but aborted the mission pretty quickly, since most of the shops are empty, literally only the four walls and the other option is Carrefour.
So if you want to do some shopping go to Nagoya, 45 minutes ride from the hotel.

We were able to stay in the villa till our departure with the yacht at 4pm, MASSIVE PLUS POINT here..for no extra cost, this might depend on availability obviously, but they were super nice to do so.
At 4pm we were whisked to the private marina, jump on the yacht, quick trip over and back home in less than an hour..fantastic!

Overall a wonderful week end!!

Here are some other minor negative points and some suggestions for the management.

- The infinity pool protection is quite low and the drop quite high, a bit dangerous for kids.
- No lounge chairs close to the private pool, we brought the chairs from inside, but that was not a very comfortable way of suntanning.
- The terrace needs furnitures and greenery, in its current status it's unusable barren land.
- Disconnect between Singapore booking office and resort reception (they eventually cleared it out, but the check in could have been a bit smoother and faster)
- Air Conditioning in the master bedroom was very noisy.
- The pool was VERY dirty (but they cleaned up right away when we called reception and notify them of the problem)!!!

Room Tip: They are all great villas, but our ladies declared that the best villas are the one on the first raw...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalip S, Vice President Operations at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Montigo Resort Nongsa.

I am delighted to note that you had a wonderful weekend and that the yacht experience was a massive plus point. I have also noted your suggestions and will review with the management team.

We certainly look forward to welcoming you back to Montigo Resort Nongsa!

Dalip Singh
Vice President Operations
KOP Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012 via mobile

Came with 4 friends stayed at this newly built resort. We stayed at Hill Top Villa. Villa furnished with private pool, rooftop BBQ area, 1 master bedroom+1 twin bedroom. Minibar complimentary with lots soft drinks...complimentary chips, apples.... etc...this is really fabulous! Got microwave, can do light cooking as they have stove as well! The master bedroom toilet, soooo spacious with a big bathtub. I will definitely recommend friends & family members to come here for a short gateway!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dalip S, Vice President Operations at Montigo Resorts Nongsa, responded to this review, July 26, 2012
Thank you for your compliments and endorsement following your recent stay at Montigo Resort Nongsa.

I am happy to note that you found the resort beautiful and enjoyed the services of the staff and certainly look forward to welcoming your family members and friends to the resort!

Sincerely,
Dalip Singh
Vice President Operations
KOP Hotels & Resorts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Montigo Resorts Nongsa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montigo Resorts Nongsa

Address: Jl Jalan Hang Lekir, Nongsa, Riau Islands Province 29411, Indonesia
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Nongsa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Nongsa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Montigo Resorts Nongsa 4.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, AsiaRooms, HotelsClick, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Odigeo and Otel so you can book your Montigo Resorts Nongsa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montigo Resorts Nongsa Batam

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Montigo Resorts Nongsa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.