We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good to eat, not so good to stay” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Perla Paltinisului

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Paltinis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Perla Paltinisului
Save
You added Perla Paltinisului to your Saves list
Paltinis, Paltinis 550001, Romania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 10 Paltinis B&B and Inns
Brasov, Romania
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Good to eat, not so good to stay”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

The restaurant is one of the best from the area, not that the food is excellent but is above average. The rooms are big at the 4 daisies but there is a persistent smell of food at the first floor coming from the kitchen. We had no running water one morning and the cleaning is made only on request (we were not informed about it and no information was available in the room).
The personnel is always at the table near the bar when they do not have work to do and in the morning you could hear some strong language from them. The breakfast had almost everything described in the menu but strangely no water was available. The prices are above average for Romania and for the services offered. At the departure no receipt was issued for the money paid.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor facing the forest are quieter and there are no food odors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    3
    3
    2
    2
See reviews for
2
3
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sibiu, Romania
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

This is the place in Romania where I ate the best "papanasi" (the boiled ones not the doughnut). The view is very beautiful and peaceful. The food was always very good; in what regards the service, we had twice a bad experience but in the last period the personnel was nice and helpful.
Nevertheless, I would recommend it if you want a quick escape from the city and to enjoy a nice meal.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitesti, Romania
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

It is a great pension at 1450 m in Paltinis.We had a 4* room,large, clean with a huge balcony overlooking the mountains,quiet and free parking.They have a big traditional restaurant with excellent food.If you are looking for a peaceful weekend I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I want to start by clarifying that we didn't stay at Perla Paltinisului, we only ate here.
The food is great (I had chef's specialty), tasty, prices a bit over the medium level.
The restaurant is nice, cozy, waiters were very friendly and helpful in choosing plates.
For desert we had papanasi, which were a revelation. Nowhere in Romania have I ate such tasty papanasi; I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

I was here last autumn for a teambuilding with my colleagues from work. The location is very good, fresh air, close to the forest, close to the road to Paltinis (only a few km to Paltinis). I was surprised by the services quality, very good, in the restaurant. Rooms are clean and confortable; even my room was facing the main road, there was no noise from the road. Is a nice place to stay a few days. Just a remark, in the training room was very hot when we arrived, and was hot even if we kinda closed the radiators...

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

very nice restaurant and good food. Menu selection relatively wide - starters, salads, main dishes, steaks, kids menus, deserts.
Austria platter for two is an interesting starter if you want to taste many different things - schnitzel, sausage, pickels, etc.
They also serve pasta. The salmon tagliatele was appreciated. Also parisian schnitzel with spinach.
Breakfast offered a selection of meat and cheese as well jams and honey. The fresh baked buns are delicious and a very tasty addition to a rich breakfast.

We were there with the kids and they have enjoyed a lot the wood house in the tree.

We stayed in three margheritas building which is older. Room size is not a big problem. Bathroom size is a little bit bothering.
But it was cold inbthe room and hot water was not available in one nigjt despite waiting for 10mins with shower water running.
At times a sewage smell was present everywhere - in the rooms, on the terrace, in the restaurant

overall price for accommodation was high for quality offered

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibiu, Romania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

If you are late for breakfast, all the good staff is gone, only the basics are refilled.
At lunch we waited more than an hour and the order was cold...
Double check the bill!
They have a great view and position, but the services are poor

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Paltinis hotels

Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Perla Paltinisului? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Perla Paltinisului

Address: Paltinis, Paltinis 550001, Romania
Location: Romania > Transylvania > Central Romania > Sibiu County > Paltinis
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Paltinis
Number of rooms: 32

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Perla Paltinisului, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.