We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family holiday with older kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Bay Resort to your Saves list
Dolphin Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Moo 4, Phu Noi, Sam Roi Yot 77120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sam Roi Yot
Hong Kong,
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Family holiday with older kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Highly recommended by a friend we stayed in this resort for 5 nights in April. If you are looking for a relaxed holiday with nothing but sun, sand and swim then this location is perfect! We booked a bungalow with two rooms facing the lawn and while the room was decent, the bathrooms could be better with some renovation and high water pressure in the shower. Staff were very friendly and the spa is definitely worth a try! Read more in my personal blog http://frommissindiatomotherhood.blogspot.hk/2015/04/our-family-holiday-in-sam-roi-yot.html?m=1

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    66
    15
    4
    1
See reviews for
116
19
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Yokohama, Japan
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2015

I was recommended to this place by an international school teacher (thank you Simon P). It's excellent value and a great place if you have kids or don't mind them being around. The whole set up is for families really. There were families with babies and teenage children here. There are 2 pools, a water slide, a grassy area to kick about on and there are swings and a play area for toddlers. The food is very 'western friendly' - all your favourites here plus belgian beer! The food and drink is not cheap but the resort nightly prices are so reasonable that it doesn't matter. Massages here were good. Wi-fi is free and great quality. We went on one early morning bird watching trip to the local marshes which turned out to be EXCELLENT. Back in time for a late breakfast. We spent 5 nights here (breakfast is free if you stay 5 nights or more!). Just about right I thought. Time to move on. But I'd be happy to come back.

Room Tip: Rooms 1 to 10 are right opposite the pools - which is good for keeping an eye on kids from your balc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2015

I come from Bangkok by minibus, easy 3 hr trip, stayed 5 wonderful nights in a room with sea view. I was looking for a quit place to relax. Enjoyed every minute. Sunrise and sunset, long beach walks, beautiful market and gorgeous staff! From nice personnel in the restaurant, and roommaids, lady in the shop, reception, massage specialists up to the manager of the hotel- they were all great! Food was very satisfying. Everything was done to make my stay a pleasant one. Went on a trip with fishing boat and saw pink dolphins! there are temples in the vicinity, and so much beautiful nature to see. Want to come back soon.

Room Tip: They are all nice, I saw the villas, beatiful, too, no seaview there, perfect with kids, yr own litt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2015

This is such a nice, no frills family resort. The onsite restaurant does a lovely breakfast and is located right beside the pool, so you can eat and still keep an eye on the kids. The resort is across the road from a quiet beach, and there are a couple of other small resorts and restaurants in the area if you want to mix it up a bit.
Bungalows are spacious and comfortable, with a deck at the front to sit outside and take in the views of the sea.
Massages in the resort's beauty spa were good as was hair braiding and pedicures.
Can't imagine what you would do here if the weather was bad but fortunately we didn't have that problem. My kids ask to go back here all the time, one day we hope to.

Room Tip: Ask for a family bungalow close to the pool if your kids like to spend a lot of time swimming
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joensuu, Finland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2015

The place is a family resort but don't let that fool you. The atmosphere there is so relaxing and calm. There is a nice pool and naturally you can hear children (and adults) playing there in the daytime. The place is not huge and that might be the reason why it is so relaxing to stay there. Evenings were amazing because everyone was sleeping and it was super quiet.

I stayed in a bungalow which was huge. Just a word of caution: one bungalow has two apartments and the wall between them is quite thin. Also that wall has a door which can be locked both sides. The room was clean and was cleaned every day. AC was effective and I slept in the bungalow like a baby. Terrace is shared between the apartments.

The yard is big so kids can play football or whatever. Pool is not super big but it was big enough. There are two sides: deeper for older kids/adults and shallower for childs who can't swim. There is also a short slide in the shallower side.

The breakfast is amazing! With this price I couldn't require anything else: thai food, cereals, bread, eggs, fruits, coffee etc. The restaurant has plenty of space and the staff is friendly. Restaurant also serves food which was good every time I ate there.

The place offers reliable transport to/from Bangkok airport. They also have tours and can arrange transport to Vana Nava waterpark in Hua Hin. There are also some interesting sights close to the resort like monkey island and bat cave.

I can't really think anything negative about this place. Recommended!

Room Tip: Bungalows are big but remember that one bungalow has two rooms and the wall between is quite thin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lilburn, Georgia, USA
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2015

If you want to get away from the business of the bigger Thai cities, this is the place. It is right on the beach with pleasant grounds, a big swimming pool, playground, nice outdoor cafe, and even hammocks to lounge in. There are hotel-style rooms plus some duplex bungalows to stay in. The staff was very pleasant. The food offering was sufficient that there is no need to wander off in hunt for meals unless you just want to.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2015

This place is nice and with a very warm family atmosphere. The staff French and Thai is friendly and quiet professional. The room is nice decorated and clean. Just one thing is that there is nothing to do near the hotel. But if you come here it's specially for the quietness. Great Swimming pool.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort

Address: 227 Moo 4, Phu Noi, Sam Roi Yot 77120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Sam Roi Yot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38km from Hua Hin, far from crowded beaches, bright neon lights, and noisy tourist hangouts typical of Thailand's other vacation destinations, Dolphin Bay Resort lies on a spectacular, unspoiled 5km beach with panoramic views of the bay, nestled between mountain peaks and dotted with lush tropical islands.Enjoy our comfortable accommodations, friendly, laid-back but efficient service and great recreational facilities at affordable prices in a family-friendly atmosphere of relaxed Thai beach hotel hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.