We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peaceful and relaxing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dolphin Bay Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Dolphin Bay Resort to your Saves list
Dolphin Bay Resort
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   227 Moo 4, Phu Noi, Sam Roi Yot 77120, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 11 Hotels in Sam Roi Yot
wigan
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
“Peaceful and relaxing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have stayed here twice and enjoyed both occasions.Its 45mins from Hua Hin and apptrox 3 hours from Bangkok'The hotel is fine with decent food,but dont expect luxury.Ex pats and Thai families frequent this area for long weekends to get away from the bustle of bangkok,so it can get quite busy at weekends.Nevertheless my wife and i thoroughly enjoyed our stays here when we travelled to Thailand.The whole resort is very low keyed so people who are looking for nightlife need to look elsewhere.Good value for your money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    58
    13
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
15
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
bangkok
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

we just moved to Bkk last september and I kept hearing about this hotel from parents at my kids school. So far our weekend trip were a fiasco, driving distance but bad location (Pattaya) or huge hotel where we spend our time looking for each other.
Dolphin Bay got it all. The area is stunning, away from Hua Hin, quiet and clean with beautiful beaches.
The hotel is very relaxing for the parents as the way its design. the resort is built around the pools and you can always watch you kids going down the pool slide. The restaurant is very nice overlooking the pool and th beach. Thai food is great and very resonable and large selection of American food. The wine list is very impressive. All the staff is very competent. We spent only 2 days but we will definitly be back. Last thing for the parents : great spa with cheap prices and they even offer babysitter service while you getting pamper.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Value for money: You definitely don't get what you pay for.

Location: The resort is in the middle of nowhere, no shops except the overpriced one in the hotel. 800baht for a taxi one way to Hua Hin which is 45 minutes away. Was advertised as Hua Hin and is actually in pranburi.

Apartment: We were forced to change apartments twice due to bad organisation on their part. Apartments were clean but lacking kitchen facilities.

Food; Always served cold, didn't get the order right once during our stay, menu very basic.

Service; A lot of staff but service was poor. A lot of mistakes but on a positive note they were very polite.

After reading the reviews we were disappointed with the resort overall, for children there was the pool , slide and swings but apart from that there is no activities.The price of the resort does not reflect the service an location, unless you are spending your entire stay by the pool or in your room then I would not re come d staying here, it's nearly Kilometres from Hua Him, if we had of known this we would never have booked.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

Just got back and had a good couple of days with the family and one friends. All good and noted that the resort has recently been taken over so lots for them to do to make it better - i.e. the restaurant crockery which is all chipped and everything is cheap quality and looking tired. Staff are great though and take good care of the guests. Cocktails are cheap, come fast and taste great. You can rent a scooter from the staff for 300 but per day which I did and had a nice time going up and down the surrounding roads with the kids. Just one pointer for the hotel - get the neighbors to stop lighting fires at the crack of dawn - it fills the room with smoke and is a terrible way to get woken up. Would I go back - as long as the prices don't go up too much - yes !

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2013

Went with the family for a short trip, and was pleasantly suprised.

The staff were extremely friendly and so nice it put you in a good mood. We used the bikes and took the kids out along the beach as it feels as though you are on an island as it is not overly developed like Hua Hin.

The room was what you expect, nice & quaint. Restaurant staff friendly and good food.

For a kids hotel was hoping for more shaded areas the kids could play in or some part of the pool as it gets really hot.

Overall very good though

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I agree with what most people say about this being a great place for families. My kids (ages 4 and 15 months) had an amazing time. It's the pool with really shallow end, slide and lots of space. There is a lot of nice space for adults to hang out. My biggest gripe with the place was that our bed was terrible. I could feel every spring in it. Also as kid friendly as the hotel is I felt that our room (we rented a 3 bedroom villa) was not kid friendly at all. There was no bath mat so my 15 month old was constantly falling while showering. Not one plastic cup or plate in the kitchen. Everything glass including the water bottles. Also there was a large knife on a shelf toddler height. Attention needs to be shown for the rooms as well as the grounds when it comes to kids. The hotel recently went with free wifi but it is so hit or miss. We didn't get anything in our villa. It would also go really slow at night when most parents have time to check it. Besides these few annoyances, we had a great time and would go back. The beach is awesome and the town is sleepy and low key.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bkkwin, Owner at Dolphin Bay Resort, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
Dear Ann, thank you very much for your review. I’m glad your children got a good time and I’m sorry it wasn’t totally comfortable for you. We just took the resort over a month ago and the bedding are definitely on our list of improvement. Internet connection are really a problem in our area but at least now it’s free and available in the pool, restaurant, lounge and garden area and we are working on the quality. Thank you for the plastic cup remark, as a mother of young children I totally agree with you and If you have more suggestion please send me an email : agathe@dolphinbayresort.com. I will be very happy to meet you next time you are visit us. Agathe
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dolphin Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolphin Bay Resort

Address: 227 Moo 4, Phu Noi, Sam Roi Yot 77120, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Prachuap Khiri Khan Province > Sam Roi Yot
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Sam Roi Yot
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dolphin Bay Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Only 38km from Hua Hin, far from crowded beaches, bright neon lights, and noisy tourist hangouts typical of Thailand's other vacation destinations, Dolphin Bay Resort lies on a spectacular, unspoiled 5km beach with panoramic views of the bay, nestled between mountain peaks and dotted with lush tropical islands.Enjoy our comfortable accommodations, friendly, laid-back but efficient service and great recreational facilities at affordable prices in a family-friendly atmosphere of relaxed Thai beach hotel hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Dolphin Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dolphin Bay Hotel Hua Hin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dolphin Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.