We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Indeed "Simple, Unique, Friendly" !” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. KH. Ahmad Dahlan | Marina Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sekupang
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Indeed "Simple, Unique, Friendly" !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We stayed on 9Jun14 for 3 nights.

Poor points( for improvement ;) )
1) Swimming pool is dirty, sandy.
2) Weekdays, not much event. Dino club programmes are not running.
3) Dino club is the facility we visited most, hence i have more to reflect and suggest to the mgt.
* Soft toys near the door of Dino club are given off moist, weird smell. Not very welcoming. Should consider throwing away.
* play dough are black. Pls consider changing.
* toys or crafts seem to be self service. Do stack or label properly.
* Do consider putting sign of "pls remove shoes before entry" outside the club room.
* hope that the toys are sterile or clean often.
4) Good if a sign can show time of (foot massage or Dino club,etc ) staff return when they are away for breaks.

Good points:
1) Staff are really friendly. Most of them greet us with big smile. Keep it up !
2) Wide variety Breakfast
3) The food(eg. split pizza, pasta and salmon fried rice)at the hotel's restaurant are the best we had at Batam(compare to food at the Malls).
4) The first time I see hotel lobby offering biscuit at the counter(usually candy). Unique! Taste good, my hubby likes it very much.


We will return again !

Room Tip: We requested for a sea view, new wing and was given. The room is big. However at level four, blocked...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear HARRIS Fan 18MayHM,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for your time to share your comments and feedback with us during your stay.

We definitely look into all your constructive comments to improve our services offered to future clients and we do thank you for all the positive remarks in regards to our staff friendliness and quality of services and food offered.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players I would like to thank you once again for choosing our Resort and we are looking forward to welcoming you with us once again.

HARRISly yours
Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

956 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    302
    345
    192
    70
    47
See reviews for
267
315
28
53
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (186)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

My trip to Batam was definitely a pleasant one, thanks to Harris.
Upon arriving at the hotel, we were greeted with speedy and efficient service and were surrounded by a warm and friendly atmosphere. Within minutes, we had settled our accommodation, return ferry tickets as well as shuttle to Nagoya. Not only that, since we bought a package from deal.com, our massage timing was also settled all at one go upon arrival.
While walking to our rooms, the staff were very hospitable and showed us the way since we got a bit lost. The rooms were also very clean and we were satisfied with the state of the room we were presented.
Room service was quick and the staff at Harries were attentive to the various requests we had. When we were making taxi bookings, they were also very kind to recommend us places of interests to visit and made effort to strike conversations with us.
I would definitely recommend Harris to any traveler coming to Batam, their service makes the entire experience a wholesome and enjoyable one.

Room Tip: Get rooms in the no smoking zone.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear HARRIS Fan Suffang,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are more glad to see that you had such a great time.

As you describe very well the friendly atmosphere is immediately felt from the first moment you
visit our Resort and all our staff is always more than happy to assist you in every way and when you need anything are always there to help.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you for choosing our Resort and we are looking forward to having you with us again.

HARRISly yours

Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Short trip to Batam and had booked this hotel through my agent. It was so unpleasant welcome I got. While checkin at the counter, handled by Nana (or Mona maybe), she looks so confused when I gave my voucher. She asked me when did I make this booking? This is ridiculous, she can simple look at the voucher and there's confirmation by Dessy, their reservation agent I think. For someone who really tired of tons duty things, what I really need is rest. It still continued anyway. She asked me to wait 'couple minutes'. What she really meant for 'couple minutes' is exactly 18 minutes. I'm so stressful at that time.
Finally, she told me that my reservation was just created by today. Well, then what? It's not my business. They should make a good coordination between intern department. No chit chat anymore, I grabbed my key and go to my room. Well the nightmare comes again. Unfortunately for me, while checkout time, the same receptionist handle my bill. Oh my.. I was expecting another staff to handle it, but since there's no choice, I've to let her handle it then. Almost the same issue again, I had to wait almost 15 min before she let me go after I asked her for my room checking. I will never ever back to this hotel. It's a nightmare for a traveler who made a booking through travel agent. Is it because we pay cheaper if booking through agent? I hope their management could deep brief such of this staff to avoid lost bookings in future.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear HARRIS Fan JuanL,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for the time taken to share your personal opinion about your stay with us and the services provided by our Resort.

We are sorry to see that your overall experience has been influenced by our handling of your reservation and we are sorry to see that you would like to have a more faster service but unfortunately due to a very last minute reservation correspondence had to be checked.

Nevertheless we thank you for your feedback in order to rectify our procedures if need to. Please allow me to say that maybe your overall judgment is maybe based on one incident that does not reflect the whole hotel services.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players I would like to thank you for having stayed at our Resort.


HARRISly yours
Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

I was having my Birthday Vacation 3D2N at here. At first I thought that this Resort might be a good resort. However everything is out of my expectation.
The Rooms is clean, but the furnished there is quite old already. The sofa in the room is quite disgusting that you may not be wanna sit on it. The toilet sometime will stuck awhile. The only best thing in the room is the bed, it is big and comfortable and we can have a good rest at there.

The Harris Cafe, in the morning is quite squeeze and too many people already. If they have another choice of restaurant to having the breakfast then it will be perfect. Beside of the Restaurant space, actually their service in the restaurant is quite good. In the morning is a busy timing for everyone, and they still can serve us the buffet breakfast fast and non-stop. It makes everyone can enjoy the breakfast without waiting any single minutes.

At night we have a buffet dinner near the pool, we thought is nice because of the environment but that is not we think like that. Over there got a lot of mosquitoes and is very disturbing when you are having the dinner there. End up we move to the indoor to enjoy our BBQ Buffet Dinner. One thing makes us surprise is the staff know us bitten by those insects and they was preparing the medicine for us. It makes us feel full of caring from the staff.

Talk about another restaurant in this resort is Arirang Japanese/Korean Restaurant. The staff there is not really want to serve any customer as they did not give us any friendly action. The meal they serve us is just nice only. The ONLY thing i was a bit not agreed is we ordered a plate of Salmon Sashimi. But what they serve us is not fresh one!!! This Sashimi Just put inside the fridge I dun know how long already and just anyhow take out and serve us. It was quite disgusting when we bite the Sashimi and is full of ICE!!!! Not only that, we ask for an ice water, but the water come back to us is got some weird taste.... Therefore, I only order the hot tea..

Last thing is regarding to the check out system. There are total 5-6 staff at the counter there. They just assign 1 staff for check out and the rest is for check in. Please think about it there was a long queue for check out already and the check in counter did not have anyone there. We just do not understand that why they cannot open 1 or 2 more counter for check out service to avoid any delay or the guest waiting time.
Even thought we go and request the free counter to assist us to do the check out as we are in hurry to move to next place, the staff still not sure how to do is better. Till we talk to their manager who was just stand beside her and he at the end ask the staff to open another 2 more counter for check out service.

This kind of thing should be more flexible and organism. Not just all are check in counter then left 1 for check out when there was a lot of family and guest is in hurry to check out already.

Anyway this trip for me is main to be relax. There was a lot of things make us not really happy for it but when they provide us a good service good attitude. Everything to us is being very good enough already.

Again, their service is best than everything.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear HARRIS Fan Shin0613,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your personal opinion about your stay with us.
We are sorry to see that some parts of your stay was not up to your expectations and we have taken note to discuss all of your comments with our team in order to be able to serve better our future guests.
We will also pass your comments to our tenants in regards to the Arirang Restaurant as it is not under our operation and we will rectify the services and quality provided to our guests.

Last we are glad that you are satisfied with the overall experience and you mention that our services still maintain to be the best than everything.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we are thank you for choosing our Resort for your relaxation and we hope to be able to have you with us for another stay in the future.

HARRISly yours
Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nomad
Level Contributor
45 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Was totally put off by the sales/reservations team that I can't convince myself to put some faith in them and make a quick reservation for a 3D2N holiday for the family.

Nil reply from 1st email sent 2days ago. Harris must be making great business and hence too busy to reply. Never mind, made a quick call to the Singapore sales office and was quickly and professionally transferred to the batam office whom finally replied with a nett rate/room/night. Good service restored some confidence in the "exceptional" service which everyone seems to talk about.

Asked if the nett rate for family room included tax, breakfast and inland transfer. Reply from sales team was, "the price is nett". YES, I KNOW! You mentioned already....But the online terms are always inclusive of breakfast and inland transfer. So what's wrong with confirming this again via email?

Asked again nicely if the rate include tax as it seems different hotelier have different definitions. If you have traveled enough in Asia, you will know this. Also asked if there are any family room in the new wing as reviews here always points to poor leaky AC units in the room while I prefer to have better rooms with stronger AC. In the end, original batam sales rep ignored me and simply passed me over to another guy who send me some links of all the room types. No availability info, no price. At this point, I am utterly disgusted by the sales attitude that I decided that I SHALL NOT contribute to the GDP.

By the way, I believe the "new" wing/rooms have aged as well. Hence the lousy AC conditions. But please don't take my word for it. I concluded this by looking at the time stamps on other travelers' photos.

You may think that I am a very unreasonable person but let's face it. In this day and age, we do expect quality information available at the very least from the internet. Lousy internet booking system without optional room info and lousy internet booking team is enough to set my warning alarm off before I commit some money and more importantly, valuable family vacation time only to regret it and give a maybe 2-3star review (assuming hotel staff are really good and we're blessed with a room with real AC and not a blower)

By the way, this review is 1 star only because zero is not possible.

Will never attempt to book again!

Stayed June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Harris Fan Mr Maxim_Lee,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for sharing your personal opinion and comments with us regardless that you did not even stay with us and your overall judgment is very unfair.

We thank you for expressing your personal opinion about the way the reservation was handled and from our part after having investigated it seems that all answers where answered promptly and in a professional way. Our online reservation system is very easy to navigate and self explanatory when it comes to reserving a room and we do receive many reservations.
Once again thank you for your feedback and our reservations team including myself are available to help for future reservations.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players

HARRISly yours

Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Its a very friendly environment and staff of all levels. The water sports was not explored as it was raining. Very nice swimming pool and bowling alley. A number of activities for kids including real cooking class. my 10 year old made pizza for us.

The cafe serves all kinds of food with reasonable quality. However the food is a little expensive and there are no nearby restaurants unless you don't mind street food kind of stalls.

The town is not really far but the taxi will only travel about 40-50km/h therefore it takes about 30 min. The taxi charges are very reasonable as well about IDR240k or SGD 27 for two way with waiting time.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 12, 2014
Dear HARRIS Fan Ziawdeen,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for the time taken to share your review with us and we are very glad to see that you had a good time and enjoy your stay with us.

We are happy also that all the family had a good time and your children had fun during the holidays. we do hope next time you are with us the weather will permit to you to have more fun with outdoor activities and sports.

On Behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you for staying with us during your holidays and look forward to having you with us once again.


HARRISly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Feel great with the welcome drink and especially the cold towel for a hot weather, really appreciate it.
Room is spacious and clean, and hotel attendant are friendly, thumb up.
There is only thing to bring up is there is too little shop. Suggest to have more shops there, then it will be perfect

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, July 17, 2014
Dear Harris Fan Meidi

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles,

Thank you very much for your comments shared with us and other travelers.

We are glad that your overall experience has been a great one and we are happy to receive also your recommendations and feedback in regards to our facilities.

On behalf of all the HARRIS Players we would like to thank you for choosing our Resort for your relaxation and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you with us once again.

HARRISly yours
Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
HARRIS Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: Jl. KH. Ahmad Dahlan | Marina Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Sekupang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sekupang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles . Asia's one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, ATV , Jet Ski, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Two outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, HostelWorld and Hotels.com so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.