We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not so bad, and nothing great as well..” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront to your Saves list
HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   Jl. KH. Ahmad Dahlan | Marina Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
20% off room rate
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sekupang
singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“not so bad, and nothing great as well..”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

I went there with 3 other friends last weekend, on the 29th-30th September, it's our first time staying at Harris Waterfront.

Overall the place was alright, free wifi, helpful staffs, the pool was big and nice; but the location is just too far from the city.. it's more than 45 minutes away from anywhere by taxi (like the Nagoya Mall, and even the harbor bay seafood restaurants)

We stayed in the main building, it's quite a bit of rundown.. but the room is huge, normal looking I would say, and the bathroom.. could be a little bit cleaner.. the wall in-between the rooms is slightly too thin and no privacy, as we could hear our neighbor keep on coughing and talking all the time quite clearly..

We had our breakfast and our second-day lunch there.. the food was very so-so for such a price.. Quite expensive I'd say…
If only the hotel is not so outcast and we were not waiting for our ferry's schedule, we definitely would rather go to other place for lunch..

the spa was not so bad.. but the rooms has no air-con, and Batam is not such a cooling place, and one major turn-down, closing to the finishing session, the spa girls bluntly told me and my husband, how little they earn, and said if it's not not for the tourists' tips, they won't be able to survive.. they even told me that usually the tourists give them 100K Rupiah (which is about $15 SGD) as the tips.. I mean, I don't mind giving tips.. but to be asked for the certain amount, it's just pretty annoying.. I had another massage session at the Nagoya mall, it only cost me about $15SGD too…

Our group will not be coming back to this hotel anymore, not because of the unpleasant stay here, it's just that the location is not really convenient, especially no free shuttle is provided…

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Yana H,


Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us with other travelers
and we thank you for the positive comments as well for the constructive critisism.

We are glad that overall your experience has been positive and you had a great time besides
the distance of our hotel from the center.
We try to provide a variety of things to our customers so they do no need to go out of the hotel
especially sport activities and relaxation also with a wide variety of restaurants.
We are sorry about the incident you mentioned in the Spa and we already have taken measures
and corrective actions in order to train our staff and rectify the situation.

Nevertheless we would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort and hope to see you
maybe in another Harris property.


On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

990 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    309
    362
    199
    72
    48
See reviews for
283
325
28
56
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I were there early last year. We had a resort representative to pick us up in a mini van. The resort was very big and had a huge pool. Watersports are just a stone throw away from the resort.
We had free upgrade to the Japanese Suite for free! ( all the perks of travelling during low season!) The staff noticed it was my birthday during check-in and so the Resort Manager, Mr Ramli, offered me free upgrade! :D
Shuttle bus service is available for those who wanna go sightseeing in town.
The suite was spacious with a in-room jacuzzi and flower deco and japanese green tea. The staff surprised me with a birthday cake during our dinner by the pool. They all came singing with cute orange bandanas. haha!
The next morning, we did some water activities. Jetski and parasailing. The water is not the bluest but definately worth it as its really value for money.
Our stay was a pleasant one, all thanks to the staff of Harris Resort! We will be going there again in Nov!

Room Tip: Opt for the Japanese Suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Weluvthailand,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and with so many other
travellers and have so much positive feedback to share with them.

We are glad that you enjoyed a lot of our facilites and the Japanese Room and also the watersports. As i have seen you are going to visit us again this November and we will be more than happy to have you with us again please drop me an email when you are next coming and if you have already reserved with us?

We would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort and we are looking forward to having you here with us once again.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We organised a weekend retreat for couples at the Resort. The service was excellent and the food was good. It was good value for money. The banquet staff went the extra mile and decorated the meeting hall for our theme night in accordance with our colour theme. The housekeeping staff helped us to not only put in a gift in each room but also arrange a little floral surprise (their initiative) for the couples. These little extra shows the staff really goes the extra mile to delight their guests!!

Room Tip: The rooms on the Funky Wing although older are bigger while the rooms in the Trendy Wing are newer b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Shalom Shalom,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us and we are so delighted
to have received such an excellent feedback from your goodselve and all the group.

We are pleased that our staff had gone the extra mile to assist with all your groups requests and
that all had such a great time in all levels of organization of the meeting and event.

We would like to thank you once again for choosing our HARRIS Resort and hope to be able to have you with us in the near future.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Level Contributor
32 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

my partner wanted to try Harris hotel Batam Center, but they were fully booked. Decided to try the resort at the other end, which was a mistake. We stayed here for 2 nights.

the resort is not really far from the ferry terminal, they have free shuttle bus but we were too tired to wait and hopped onto a taxi when the the cab driver approached us. cost less than S$5..

check in was quick, they offered us welcome drink and there were cookies on the counter, nice gesture. the cookies were nice btw, and u can get them at their cafe, but it cost more than Famous Amos, haha.

the resort was quiet. It's true, there was a musky smell along the corridor where the rooms on the first storey were located but ours was on the 5th level if i remember correctly, so it's fine.

The room was clean, cosy size, bed was comfy but but the air con was lousy. It was installed in a sunken corner of the room at the bed's end and it was not working! the engineers came to take a look, did some cleaning, not much difference. So, we moved the bed towards the table so we would be able to feel the cool air. The shower head was not working well also, the water only flow when the showerhead was tilted..

breakfast not fantastic, reheating of some leftovers but still ok. if you are into outdoor activites, you would be happy staying here. they have a very deep pool and 2 others, plus banana boats and other water activities.

Sadly, it was not near to anything. We were prepared, but never thought it would be this inconvenient, the room service was not exactly cheap as usual, and we took the shuttle bus to Nagoya shopping mall at $15 each, i think. the journey felt rather long as the bus was not particularly comfortable and was stuffy.

The cost of the room was cheap, but if u were to take the shuttle bus out to town for 2 days and order room service like us coz we did not want to waste time, the cost is equivalent to staying in a nice hotel within walking distance to a shopping mall (think i hotel).

i dont have anything against the resort, i think it's cute, the staff obliging and nice but i would not stay here anymore as there are better choices ard, not as cheap, but located at a more convenient location.

Room Tip: certainly not the first storey as u will hear people walking in and out new building maybe and make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear Harris Fan LLJay1612,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with us, with other travelers
and we thank you for the positive comments as well for the constructive critisism.

We are sorry to see that besides your positive comments about our hotel service and staff you have given us a very bad rating with only major complaint the hotels location and indirectly promotinga hotel which is our direct competitor and this makes us wonder!!!

Nevertheless we would like to thank you once again for choosing our resort and maybe next time you can try our sister hotel right in the center.

On behalf of all the Harris Players


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

I love the place, the staff, the amenities and the room. Flying fox is the best. Food is not really great but good. Swimming pool is very clean. Staff are always smiling and very very friendly. I will stay again

Room Tip: you can find deals online because it includes additional activities plus free massage
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Jelly_Beans14,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your so nice and positive experience
about your holidays in our HARRIS Resort.
We are glad that you received the friendly service from all our Harris Players and hope to
be able to have you with us in the near future for another relaxing holiday.

One Behalf of all the Harris Players



Harrisly yours



Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampines New Town, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

Just like what the title says, its awesome. You can spend 2 nights there without going anywhere as the resort itself has all the amenities and activities to entertain you all day long -- You wont get bored! We bought the Fantastic Deal Package which includes Ferry, Land Transfers, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Massage and Bowling all in for only $99. Worth it of course, with quite a huge spread of breakfast and buffet dinner. The resort is clean and well-maintained but don't expect a good sea view as the sea is just average. Better to take the room facing the pool.

If there's anything the management needs to improve is the knowledge of the staffs about the facilities and activities at the resort as I find it ridiculous that the front desk staffs do not even know what time the Flying Fox closes when all of these things should already be at their fingertips. But on the other hand, they were helpful and very friendly to us. We were quite satisfied with the resort and will definitely be back again! Keep it up, Harris Team!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Masyahya,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your "awesome resort experience " as you
describe on your tittle with other travellers.

We are so glad that you had such a great time in our resort and as we name our HARRIS is
a one stop resort destination that you can find anything you need with out any needs to move
or go out for activities or food or entertainment.

Thank you also for sharing your constructive critisism with us in order to improve our services and
this has been shared to all our staff and already an action plan has been set in place to share
all information.

Thank you once again for choosing our resort for your holidays and look forward to having you with us in the near future.

On Behalf of all the HARRIS Players


Harrisly yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012 via mobile

Very pricey food in the hotel. Most things billed in SGD. Potato chips for $3. Can drinks fOr $3. Chicken chop for $20. Seriously if u r not venturing out of the hotel, stay in Singapore. U'll get it cheaper and better quality. Happy Feet reflexolOfy and the H-spa is good though.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
executive5, General Manager at HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, responded to this review, September 16, 2012
Dear Harris Fan Finn_Tan,

Sunny Greetings from the Resort of Smiles where all is Pleasure and Fun,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your personal oppinion about your stay in our Resort and we are glad that overall you enjoyed your stay and our facilities.

Our H- SPA and Happy Feet Refleoxology are as you mention very good and our SPA has been award winning for two consecutive years.

Further to the pricing and your comments about beeing on the high side please allow me to comment that our prices are hotel prices, meaning for sure you can get better rates in the surroundings but we would not guarantee the qualitiy and hygiene.
I am also not sure that you can get the same prices in a hotel in Singapore as you describe it.
On the other hand i would like to thank you once again for taking the time to share you constructive critisism with us and we do hope to be able to have you with us for another stay.

On Behalf of all the Harris Players


Harrisly Yours


Zois Sanidiotis
General Manager
Harris Resort Waterfront Batam
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sekupang
8.7 mi away
HARRIS Hotel Batam Center
6.8 mi away
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
Swiss-Belhotel Harbour Bay
#1 of 4 in Batu Ampar
4.0 of 5 stars 332 reviews
5.6 mi away
Batam View Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
Hotel Novotel Batam
Hotel Novotel Batam
#21 of 84 in Batam
3.5 of 5 stars 489 reviews
6.9 mi away
I Hotel
I Hotel
#13 of 84 in Batam
4.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
6.7 mi away
Harmoni Suites Hotel
Harmoni Suites Hotel
#3 of 21 in Nagoya
4.0 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront

Address: Jl. KH. Ahmad Dahlan | Marina Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Sekupang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Sekupang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront 3.5*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A friendly resort facing the strait of Singapore and the sea view with spacious accommodation and giant free form swimming pool. Strategic destination and a perfect vacation spot for couples, families or business purposes. With 308 rooms and suites including 20 cabanas, this hotel has the largest number of room provided in Funky and Trendy Wing.Harris Funky will cater the needs of your most discerning family member while easily keeping the whole group occupied and satisfied. Harris Trendy has the newest and trendiest all inclusive concepts, reserved exclusively for couples and singles . Asia's one of its kind, an all inclusive concept welcomes couples and singles to experience carefree days and endless irresistible nights in Batam. The atmosphere allows event the most conventional of guest to throw caution-to-the-wind and experience life like never before. Located just 40 minutes away from Harbourfront Center Singapore, Harris Resort Batam try to persuade its guests to linger with a plethora of water sports & indoor entertainment in the form of a ten-lane bowling alley, Squash & billiards, ATV , Jet Ski, Flying Fox or sea sport activities. Soothe the muscles with one of our treatments at the spa, foot reflexology facilities or head to the giant free-form pool. The H-Spa an oasis of calm and serenity with breathtaking sea views and sunset in the afternoon, provide Harris Fans with a haven to luxuriate and pamper themselves with a selection of Body and Facial treatments masterfully executed by highly trained therapists. Two outlets to ease hunger pains are available by providing Indonesian, Asian and Western cuisines. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, HostelWorld and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harris Resort Batam Waterfront Hotel Batam
Batam Harris Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HARRIS Resort Batam Waterfront, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.