We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good Clean Helpful” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
Singapore
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Very Good Clean Helpful”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2009

Good Hotel (especially for area) helpful friendly staff, clean quiet Great Spa if only a little expensive.

Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    108
    236
    93
    30
    17
See reviews for
144
105
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (98)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2009

Another fantastic hotel.. Excellent service, friendly staffs, good food and the best massage. Our room was on the ground floor facing the beautiful garden.. So quiet and peaceful.. Next time if we go back batam we definately will stay there again !!! HIGHLY RECOMMENDED !!!

  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

I did not have a very good first impression when we check-in because we were told they had not receive payment from us, but we had already pay upfront to the travel agent. It was eventually sorted out but an hour or so of our time were spent during the process. The good thing was they apologized to us even though it was not entirely their fault. However the hotel should upgrade it's system or maybe their staff when they tried to charge our stay to our credit card even after they were informed in the first place that we had already made the full payment.

Even though we were a bit flustered by the small episode at the reception lobby, we were pleasantly surprise that our suites are quite clean. The beds are also quite comfy when some of us spent more time on them rather than enjoying the other facilities of the hotel. I was quite surprised when I saw that each suite comes with 2 bathrooms and one of our suite even overlook the swimming pool from it's balcony. Each suite is quite big because we managed to have more than a handful of people in the suite at one time just to have meals and also watch the live telecast of the community shield.

The location is not as good as we expected because there is nothing near the hotel, except a few shops that seem to be out of business and a dilapidated basketball court. At one point we spent almost an hour to travel from Nagoya Hills shopping back to our hotel. For anyone who wants to stay in Holiday Inn Batam, be prepared to spend most of the time in the hotel.

What I liked best of the hotel is it's friendly staffs and cleanliness. It also has a nice swimming pool where we spent half of our morning in it relaxing. What I liked least is the location of the hotel. If there are places for outdoor activities such as go-cart and shopping centers nearby, it will be a great place to stay on the island.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2009

come to this hotel everytime i visit indo. mainly for the massages! its amazing! if you thinking to stay at this hotel deffo go to the tee tree spa! amazing for couples or just the single guy to relax. the staff are alway friendly and i alway leave a tip and a smile on my face with the high service i recieve.

i think it better then some of the franchies hotels i have been to paying a bomb shell!

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2009

Stayed here with work for 10-11 weeks. Beatiful hotel, rooms are great, good range of facilities. Nice pool, children club for younger kids, kids pool. Gym. 4 or 5 restaurants in the hotel grounds, all serving good food. Good selection of drinks.

Main plus point is the staff. They are very keen to help. They will go out of thier way to keep you happy. Waiter service is great around the pool and on the terrace.

Rooms all have air con. Large with balcony.

Only down side is the price. Dont expect it to be cheap just because you are in Indonesia. You pay Singapore prices in the hotel.

Also has a good Spa.

  • Stayed November 2008, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2009

Had a good stay in the Holiday Inn. The staff were very friendly, very humble and helpful. They all spoke English. They made us feel very welcomed. The rooms were very spacious and comfortable.
My only grouse is the location of the hotel. It is really in the middle of nowhere. The road leading to the hotel is bumpy with many potholes to manoeuvre around. It is easy to get a hotel taxi to Nagoya city, but the cost is very high - Singapore rates were quoted and therefore Singapore prices were charged. The fare to go from hotel to city was nearly S$20 and this is non-negotiable as it is the hotel rate. Don't think you can get a taxi outside the hotel. The area is deserted - no activity immediately around the hotel and therefore no other taxi services available. However, the taxi driver was very helpful, spoke a little English and was willing to drive us from one destination to another. The rate he quoted was also high, but was negotiable (no longer hotel rate) - e.g. city to Golden Prawn Seafood Restaurant was around S$5.80.
Price of food in Batam is reasonable, the seafood is good, good variety and reasonably priced food in shopping centres. However, those of you who have heard of the avocado with chocolate drink in Batam and want to try it for the first time, should take a small sip to try first. I found the drink too thick and too sweet - not to my taste. Another recommendation is the locally made Kueh Lapis. Order it fresh from the locals (we ordered ours from the guide that picked us up from the ferry terminal) and not the ready-made ones in the supermarkets. The fresh ones come to you fresh and still warm, moist and soft. Yummy!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2009

I went on a 2D1N weekend package stay at Holiday Inn Batam with 3 other friends. We got a 2 Bedroom Suite. The bedrooms were nice and spacious, as was the living room, but only 2 bottles of complimentary water were given. The suite was really nice overall.

The location of the hotel is far out from the major attractions in Batam. To get to Nagoya (the town) it took 30mins. The hotel offered a shuttle service but the service costs SGD 4 per transfer (in total for 2-way shuttle transfer between Nagoya Hill Shopping Complex to Holiday Inn was SGD 8). The shuttle timings are 11am and you have to return back at 3pm, the other timing is 2pm and return is 6pm. It's a little inconvenient if you want to get a massage in the town, which we did. We ended up rushing back for the shuttle. You can choose to take a taxi but the hotel only organizes the taxi fare for you on the way to the town and it's up to you to organize your own taxi back. The taxi drivers in Batam are very pushy and it's a hassle to try to organize your own taxi. Plus 30mins away, they'll probably charge you in the SGD 20 region.

The hotel is also really far away from the beach (Nongsa). It takes almost 45mins to get to the beach and it'll cost you SGD 24 for one taxi trip to the beach (to get back you have to organize it yourself). We didn't go to the beach because one of the concierge men told us there was jet skiing in the area but another concierge man told us that it was cable skiing and not jet skiing.

We ended up using the complimentary spa facilities (sauna and steam bath) and hanging out by the really nice pool. The staff are really friendly but do sometimes contradict each other on the information given to guests. For instance, we were told at the Front Desk that the dinner buffet (Surf and Turf BBQ) would cost us SGD 24++ but we ended up paying SGD 47 per person, which we were then told is the original cost of the buffet. The buffet was really good but we were all annoyed at the conflicting information we were told.

Overall the hotel is really good and from what our friend who had been to Batam several times before told us, the hotel is much better compared to the others out there. I would definitely recommend the Holiday Inn, but I suggest getting a second opinion on most of the things you ask the staff there. The staff are friendly and helpful whenever they can be.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Sekupang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, IHG, Despegar.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA and Hotels.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.