We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxed Stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Members Exclusive:25% Off
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Relaxed Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2014

Went to stay at Holiday Inn in August. The room is clean and the bed is quite comfortable. The breakfast has a decent spread, and the waiters are polite and helpful to open the door when I was holding on to my breakfast. Overall a good experience and hope it will maintain it's standard on my next stay.

Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 28, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for that great feedback and we are glad that you have had a "relaxed stay". Please be assured that your comments have been shared already with the team and we are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

454 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    103
    218
    90
    28
    15
See reviews for
134
102
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2014

This is my 2nd stay at Holiday Inn.

Went on a Friday morning but there were alot of people at the ferry terminal.

Waited awhile for the transport to hotel. At the hotel, there were even more people! Long Q at the counter. The hotel should have more sense to open up more counters to speed up the process for both check in and check out.

Finally it was our turn but we were told that there were no rooms available! We had to keep on checking for the room status on and off and were only given our 4 rooms around 3pm!

As there were 16 of us, we requested for a van to bring us around the next day. We were only informed on the day itself that the van was not available and we had to be "separated". Zzz...

Checked out on Sunday. It was only back in Singapore that I received an SMS telling me that my credit card was charged with IDR 3.000.000! Without my knowledge!

Wrote to the hotel to clarify why there was such charges only to receive an email near 2 weeks later informing that it was "only hold your credit card amount for the deposit of other expenses of your stay."

The hotel should have the courtesy to inform the guest beforehand and NOT charge without the guest's knowledge.

Overall, this stay was so not as pleasant as the 1st stay. Hope the hotel can improve on their services.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and comments which have been discussed with the team. June is high season because of the school holidays. That is why Check In time is 3PM as we also want to give all other guests who are checking out enough time to use our hotel. Especially for guests arriving in the morning they will experience more traffic at the counter as guests still want to check out too. I hope the credit charges have been released already. If not please feel free to drop me an email to frank.schoenherr@ihg,com so that I personally make sure it is resolved immediately.


Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Holiday Inn Batam boasts one of the best services based on the price paid for it. The stay was rather comfortable and assuring. Food was yummy and there was great choices. Its a great value for money resort / getaway for 2-3 days. Will certainly come back again.

As an IHG member, there were additional perks such as late check out, free mocktails and followup services to check if all was well.

To make it 5/5, the resort could consider:
- Cleanliness of rooms can be improved. there were stains on toilet bowl seat covers and on bed sheets.
- Speed of service. Room service was rather slow.

Room Tip: Get a pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and in particular for being an IHG Rewards Club member. Please be assured that we will discuss your comments with the team for our continuous service improvements. Above all I am very happy about your "Great Service" comments. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We stayed for two nights and it was a very good experience barring minor niggles. Good part first, very commutative and supportive staff all around. Good facilities for children of all ages, the water slide was the one my daughter enjoyed most. There are a quite a few games at games center though we did not have time. The trips to the city was organized and managed very well, ensuring all guests are dropped and picked up on time. The pick up and drop to ferry also was very well arranged, I went to Waterfront which is a stone through distance from resort.
Now the let downs, the safe deposit locker did not work and though I requested for repair it was not done but since it did not affect me much as I locked my valuables in my suitcase. The property is a little dated and some water spilling in the bathrooms noticed. We could try only one restaurant (Terrace Cafe ) which we felt is just average the other ones we did not try. The Japanese one is supposed to be better.
Despite these minor troubles overall stay was very enjoyable and the Spa is the best ! Don't forget to use Kids Club if you have small children.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and recognizing the "very good hospitality". I hope the next time you will be here, you will have more time to use also all other facilities and above all the other 3 restaurants. Especially I am pleased to read your comments about our Kids Club and the Spa. We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

Great escape away from the chaos of Singapore.

The staff are very friendly and attentive, the swimming pool and playground was awesome for our family.

We also had an amazing massage at the Tea Tree Spa.

Food was quite expensive for what it was.

Overall an excellent stay and would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and I am happy to hear that you had a "Great family holiday". We are looking forward welcoming you back soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

I have visited this property twice in two months. It was that wonderful. Everything is top notch and particularly the service is fantastic. You know it is great when the General Manager himself chooses to engage with every guest personally. I think thats a good quality.

All the staff at the resort are willing to help and are with smiles. The rooms of course are wonderful even when you consider that the place is aged, that's how well maintained it is. The rooms are large, clean and pleasant both for friends and families.

Breakfast in my opinion is fantastic for its quality. Food is tasty and is refilled promptly. I like this aspect about batam hotels because some hotels in batam tend to be late on this when there are tons of guests on weekends.

Overall, really worth your dollars when you stay here even though it's off town. Which is actually a plus point because its gives you the opportunity to really enjoy the resort fully during your stay.

Thanks Frank and team, please keep up the great job you guys do.

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for that fantastic review and above all for your patronage as being a friend of Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The team is already looking forward to see you for your next visit. Welcome Home soon!

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

I would like to compliment the wonderful and friendly service rendered throughout my stay.
Checkin was fast and fuss free. After the ferry ride,it was great to be greeted with smiles from the holiday inn staff who had noted my requests from prior email exchanges.

The room was clean and i had no issues with the aircon. Bed was very comfortable and it was relaxing to be able to laze a while more before breakfast because the bed was so comfortable and linens were so clean and fresh smelling!

Even though the resort is far from the city centre,they offer free shuttle bus services to batam centre and nagoya hills which is around 40 minutes away.

Back at the resort,we indulged in the award winning tea tree spa which certainly lived up to its name. We felt rejuvenated and recharged after that.

We also tried the karaoke which was clean and very value for money at around sgd 5 dollars an hour per room. There was a huge selection of songs and the sound system did not fail our expectations. We will definitely be back!

The only improvement they could consider is on their breakfast. Selection is good but quality is really still lacking.


Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, wow what a fantastic and comprehensive feedback. So many reasons to celebrate with the team, but please be also assured that we will look into your breakfast comment as part of our continuous service improvements. We are looking forward welcoming you for your next "relaxing getaway".

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Sekupang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.