We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
1 review
“Awesome stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2014

Fully recommended this place! If you want a sweet escape from a busy city like Singapore.
They never failed to surprise us from the upgrade to their biggest suite , amenities and their 5 star service.

Thanks to Rahman who arranged an upgrade for my booking and to Mohamad Iqbal who always promptly replies my queries..

Kudos to the whole team.

Looking forward already for my next vacation here.

I will surely Recommend this place!!!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for your fantastic review and I am very happy that you felt surprised when staying with us. The entire team was excited to read your comments and please be assured that my team has been awarded accordingly - in particular Rahman. We are looking forward welcoming you for your next "awesome stay".

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    228
    91
    28
    17
See reviews for
137
104
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This is a quick and simple weekend getaway place.

I booked a 2D1N weekend spa package. The price is consider resonable considering it include all transport (ferry+transfer) and the Tea Tree Spa at Holiday In Batam was an award winning spa.

We were upgraded to the 2 bedroom suit/apartment (norm, see the other reviews). The suit was big with a dining and living/tv area and 2 rooms, 2 toilets. Neat and clean.

Spa service is professional and environment is really really calming and relaxing, with natural breeze and daylight, birds chipping away. the 1.5hr spa is defenately too short. If time and money permits, you should take the longer package.

The pool looks great, but unfortuanately i was raining the second day morning when we planned to hit the pool.

The not so good side will be the overpriced inhouse dinning. But one can choose to take the free shuttle to town if you donot feel comfortable with the price. We opt to stay behinde so we do not get too tired with the rush from town and back. We had the bbq buffet dinner, food is rather basic and normal taste...

There is a possibility i might go again.

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review and the commendations. Our food prices are reviewed on regular basis in all restaurants and we are offering a monthly promotion in each outlet. Please let us know when you plan your next visit so that we can inform you about these promotions accordingly.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2014

average 3/5. if you're looking for a quick get away from singapore. Holiday inn is one of the option that you might want to consider. Service is 4/5. Food is 2/5 and Cleanliness and room is 3/5. The hotel is far from beach and city center but there'll be a ferry to fetch you from to the places.

The food are better in Batam center. Ikan gorang (crispy fried fish) is one of the best food.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. Please take note that we have not advertised to be close to a beach and also the beaches in Batam are not that developed as you might expect from an island. We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon for your next short get away.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Decided to head off to Batam for a weekend getaway over the long weekend of July 27. Stayed at Holiday Inn for 2N 3D.

(+) Pick-up and drop provided from both Sekupang and Waterfront ferry terminals. Traveler tip: Holiday Inn is within 5 to 10 minutes ride from Waterfront ferry terminal and around 30 minutus ride from Sekupang ferry terminal.

(+) Check-in was smooth and quick. While the official check-in time is 3pm, we were offered "early check-in" upon arrival at around 11am and the room was ready. A "late check-out" option upto 3pm was also offered on the day of check-out. Given that it was a very busy weekend the reception was proactive to ask if we had arranged for return ferry tickets which we had and then took our return ticket details to confirm the seats in our preferred ferry time.

(+) The 2 bed-room "non-smoking" suite we had booked was spacious, modern, clean. Stayed in 4401, which is a corner room on level 4 facing the kids pool area.

(+) In terms of facilities - big pool, kids pool and play area with a little water slide which the kids really enjoy, kids play club, decent gym, 3 to 4 restaurants (multi-cuisine), spa, sports bar/lounge and games room.

(+) Breakfast spread is pretty decent with options for both vegetarians and meat-lovers.

(+) The hotel also has a little in-house mini-mart to pick up some basic items should you need.

(+) My 5 year old really enjoyed playing around in the pool and play club. The facilities are well-designed and kids friendly.

(+) While there isn't anything to see outside this resort the good part is that Holiday Inn has free shuttle buses to take you to the big malls in Batam Central. Buses depart at around 2pm and return in the evening. Alternatively you can arrange for a private vehicle through the hotel which are quite reasonably priced to take you around Batam.

(+) Staff is overall quite polite and nice and service is pretty alright.

(+) Wi-fi in the reception area is free. We were also offered free Wi-fi in our rooms where we could connect up to 2 devices.

(-) Service at Tea Tree Spa, which is also perhaps one of the most expensive spa's in Batam needs improvement. I had booked a 90 minute massage and the masseuse wrapped it up 15 minutes earlier. When I highlighted it at the spa reception, they were quick to compensate by charging me for only 60 minutes. After which I was asked to wait at the spa reception for my post-massage drink (Green tea drink), which apparently was never served. On reminding them after 20 mins, they casually responded...oh, sorry sir we forgot!, which I think is BS. How can you forget when the person is seated right in front of your eyes?

Overall experience: Pleasant and relaxing except for the small disappointment at the spa. Kiddo and family had a great time. Definitely recommended for anyone who is looking for a comfortable and relaxing stay in Batam with or without family.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for your very comprehensive feedback. Please be assured that it has been discussed with the team in our efforts of continuous service improvements. But I am also very pleased to read so many areas where we can celebrate and recognize colleagues accordingly. We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Last minute booking; by a friend's crazy idea to stay here for a 3D2Ns stay during the Hari Raya Puasa holiday. I have been staying many other hotels in Batam (such as Golden View, Harris Hotel, i-hotel), and this is the best out of all!!

We booked Batamfast ferry from Harbourfront to Sekupang. Once U came out of customs, Holiday Inn's staff will be standing outside with their hotel name. Hence, it is very easy to recognize them. Just beside the waiting area, there is money changer for you to change rupiah. However, due to the increased population of Singaporeans entering Batam, the exchange rate is the same as local. No differences at all.

I had read some comments here on the insufficient of seats in shuttle bus at customs. However, I guess Holiday Inn had found solutions on that. Yes shuttle bus do not have enough seats, but they had arranged normal cars for us to seat in. So not much a problem. Great job Holiday Inn!!!

Check-In : there is only one queue at reception. When we approached the counter, the staff then showed me to another seating place for checkin after I showed my IHG member card. Maybe Holiday Inn can put a signage to differentiate the check in for members & non-members. Also, bejng a IHG member, you will be given welcome drink coupon. The staff clearly explained to us some of the facilities here.

Hotel Rooms : Spacious and nice! There is living room, a mini kitchen, a balcony & of course a bedroom. Love the space. We have a room facing the pool. Coffee and tea facilities are provided inside the room. There are also bottles of drinks for you too. Flat Screen TV in living room has many channels to watch! Oh yes, there is a mini fridge for you to put any cold drinks etc. By the way, the wifi is quite good but there is limitations of up to 3 persons per room.

Shopping : Just for your information, there are a few shopping malls here jn Batam - Nagoya, Megamall, BCS. I prefer Nagoya the most because is more cheaper and more shops. Not to worry about transportation, because Holiday Inn has shuttle buses to Nagoys and BCS malls. But I think is one or twice per day for weekends. You have to book your seats with reception as you know it maybe fully booked due to overwhelming guests. No enough rupiah? There is some money changers in the shopping mall which is slightly better rate than at custom.

Massage and Spa : Well, my friend recommends me body scrubs; which is excellent. Quite enjoyable and likes the jacuzzi. As for massages, well I think the lady is too young & thin for my size. But is fine because I also scared bruises if the pressure was too strong. Atmosphere is peaceful & relax.

Food : breakfast was alright and service is fine. The Thai food at the Thai restaurant is nice.

Check out : Quite a smooth one. Just let the staff knows what is their ferry timing and which ferry terminal you are going.

Overall - Excellent. I like it. I will definitely return again!!!

Room Tip: I should suggest join their membership. And everything will please you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry K, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest, thank you so much for that fantastic review. Please be assured that your comments and commendations have been shared with the team. I am very glad that your stay was a hassle free We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Thank you

Jerry Goh
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Batam, Indonesia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2014

Room is spacious but no kitchenette inside..
It is clean enough & moderate design.
The ambience is good enough, doesn't make me feel so much in Batam Island (I stay in Batam anyway)
Wifi not so good here well it's free though

Pool is good for children. For an adult I think just so so
However if you are travelling with family, your kids will definitely love it...
Breakfast has a lots of variant but taste wise just OK..
However i just stay for 1 night so nothing much to review hehe

Room Tip: High room and facing pool is better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jerry K, Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, August 4, 2014
Dear guest,
Dear guest, thank you so much for that fantastic review. Please be assured that your comments and commendations have been shared with the team. . We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon for a short getaway.

Thank you

Jerry Goh
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

we got stuck in batam on the way to telunas and wound up here.for a night. the room was fine, clean, the bed was comfortable, shower acceptable. the decor in the rooms was so generic i've seen pictures of prison cells with more character. everyone was extremely friendly and nice but apparently somewhat inexpt or under trained. tried to call the main desk 3 times and the phone rang for between 5 and 10 minutes each before i could finally get someone on the line. room service took 45 minutes to send up 2 plates of fried rice. were trying to get to the ferry terminal the next morning to meet with the telunas people and couldn't quite get through to the staff that we weren't gettting a ferry back to singapore - just wanted to know how long the bus took to get to the ferry terminal. utter frustration.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, July 19, 2014
Dear guest, thank you for taking the time and writing your comprehensive feedback. Although the comparison with a prison cell might be not appropriate - when also reading all other reviews - but we take note of your opinion. I feel sorry that room service took so long and that we could not answer your question regarding the shuttle in a timely manner. Please be assured that this has been discussed with the team to avoid re-occurrences in the future.

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Sekupang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Despegar.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.