We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A plae to destress” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Resort Batam to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Resort Batam
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
K L
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A plae to destress”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We took the MRT to Harbourfront, Singapore. It was about 45 mins ferry ride to Batam ferry Terminal. On arrival, the Hotel Shuttle bus was there to pick us to the Hotel. The Holiday Inn is just a short distance from the ferry terminal.

We were greeted by a team of friendly staff who made us very welcome. We went as a group of 4 families. I checked into a 2 bedroom suite. The room is spacious, clean and comfortable.However the balcony needs quite a bit of cleaning ! The toilets are clean though, but I was a bit appalled when yellowish water flowed from the faucets. Wonder whether the whole of Batam gets this type of water !?

This Hotel is very big with lots of facilities. There are a few restaurants too. We had lunch in a Chinese Restaurant. Overall the food is good. Prices reasonable too. The Hotel itself serves Lunch at Rp 98 000++ /pax and BBQ Buffet Dinner at Rp 288 000 ++ /pax . The stay is inclusive of breakfast. We enjoyed the breakfast. There is a wide spread of eastern and western delights. The waiters an waitresses are very pleasant, ever ready to serve you. They did their job well.

The Hotel also provides shuttle service to Nagoya Shopping Mall, the biggest mall in Batam. It's about half an hours ride to the mall. You need to register or inform the front desk that you need the shuttle to the mall and that will be arrranged. Ask for the schedule and you can even be shuttled back to the Hotel from the mall.

On the whole, I enjoyed my stay in this Hotel. It's a place to destress from work and the hussle and bustle of the city.The kids too had much fun in the pool and playground not forgetting the Playroom too where they can draw and colour and make some simple handicraft.

This hotel with it's lovely environment and beautiful ambience will be a hit among tourists if it is well maintained. I will definitely recommend this Hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your review and we are pleased that you found your place to relax. Especially thanks for the F&B as well as Children facility comments as we are working here on further enhancements for the future. Please be assured that your comments have been shared with the entire team and we are looking forward welcoming you and your friends back in our resort.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

442 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    101
    213
    88
    27
    13
See reviews for
129
99
19
54
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (89)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sunny Singapore
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2013

I cannot stop sharing about the goodness of Holiday Inn Batam, whether with friends or here at Tripadvisor. I have been back to the hotel for my spa treatments and once again, I chose to stay during an off-peak period. Right decision!

Husband and I were treated so well yet again, and we had the pool and gym and the spa mostly to ourselves. The pace was just so slow and relaxed...I can't wait to do it again.

This time, I must write about the teppanyaki restaurant, Akatonbo. I drool just writing and thinking about what I've eaten there. It's the best ever teppanyaki food that I've tried. Not even in Singapore can I find a teppan place that serves such good quality food. Ample portions too. The salmon is especially thick and succulent, the prawns sweet and plum, the scallops juicy and big, the beef simply melts in the mouth! And being there during the off-peak days, we were served with smiling and attentive staff, catering to our every needs, way past their closing time too! When I return to Holiday Inn Batam, eating at Akatonbo will be compulsory! haha..

Of course, the spa treatment was very good, as usual. I simply love the natural settings (no air-con, but a high ceiling with fans in a rustic Indonesian style hut) and the treatments were done very leisurely. Even my husband, who is not a spa freak like me, enjoyed the entire experience.

We will return again!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for being such a great patron of our resort. Your comments and feedback have been shared with the entire team and in particular with the Spa and Akatonbo colleagues. We will make sure that for your next visit we introduce you even more interesting relaxing services of our hotel to make it once again "Another great getaway"! See you soon again in Batam .

Stay relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

The hotel is showing its age the moment I walked into the lobby. Overall the hotel room and facilities are clean and tidy. Rooms are big and spacious for the price I paid.
Shuttle buses to the nearby shopping mall are provided by the hotel on certain times of the day. Be sure to check with the reception as there is no signboard anywhere on display in the lobby.
Hotel breakfast has a good spread and is good enough for adults and kids.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your comments. The hotel is currently investing a lot of money into the upgrade of all facilities so that you can enjoy a more fresh product very soon. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future to experience the new look.

Stay relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

This hotel needs refurbishment as I understand it has been around for quite a while. Interior of room is a abit old and curtains are dirty but overall, the 1-bedroom suite is comfortable for 2 people to stay. Just need to change the carpets, sofa, curtains & paint a little. The bedroom is comfortable to sleep in and it's clean. This resort is really for those who just want to relax and do nothing as there are no activities or pool bar. Their staffs are very friendly, helpful and accommodating which makes your stay pleasant. What is lacking is an outdoor bar. The 2 that they have: a restaurant and the other is a sports bar but indoor. Will be better to build an outdoor bar. The hotel is 30 mins to Sekupang Ferry Terminal and 30 mins to Nagoya Hill Shopping Mall. I must say the breakfast is worth going as they have a mixture of Asia and Western food. Good variety

Room Tip: Choose rooms that are facing the pool otherwise you will be facing lands on construction
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for sharing your comments which are already shared with the entire team. As out hotel is not located in the city center a lot of guests are choosing the resort because of the oasis feeling. Currently we are investing a lot of money into the upgrade of all facilities so that you can enjoy a more fresh product very soon. We are looking forward welcoming you back in the near future to experience the new look.

Stay relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

we enjoyed the great breakfast buffet at the pool. the kids loved the children pool with waterslide.
its not near any beach and pretty lonely located.
but good for a quiet weekend to relax.
drinks have been slighty overprized.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 11, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your review. A lot of guests are commending on the oasis feeling when staying with us as we are not located in the city centre. Glad to hear that you also could use the short time for a relaxed stay and your children have enjoyed all our facilities. We are looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay Relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

It's very near from Waterfront Ferry Terminal, approx 10 mins walk.

The room is very spacious with a comfy king size bed. BBQ dinner by the pool side with live band playing enhances the ambience. A place away from the bustling city to relax!

And I really want to express my thanks to the Housekeeping Team, the GM - Frank, Duty Manager - Leslie & Chef Loh for helping to safekeep my necklace and pass it to me personally in SG!

I only realised when I came back to SG which was about 6 hours after checking out from the hotel, that I lost my necklace. I contacted the hotel which they very quickly confirmed they found it and will make arrangement to send back to me.

Thank you Frank & Leslie for responding to my emails/calls/SMS immediately and making arrangement to ensure I received my necklace in SG. Thank you Chef Loh for passing it to me.

I would definitely come back here again! Warm Hospitality!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you so much for your great review which has been shared with the entire team. To provide Warm Hospitality is one of our main objective. That is why I am happy that we receive this here on Tripadvisor as a comment. Once again thank you very much and the entire team is looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
singapore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013 via mobile

If you just want to relax n go somewhere nearby to singapore than batam can be a place. though not much is there in batam as such. may be some shopping ..message in resort and total R n R. holiday inn offers a nice place to stay..though for vegetarians food could be issue. rooms have nice view. pool is beautiful. small leisure centre for kids.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortBatam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Resort Batam, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
Dear guest, thank you very much for your time to post the review. You will be pleased to hear that we have a new vegetarian menu integrated into our main menu. So when it will time again to get out of the big city, please let us know. The resort is looking forward welcoming you back very soon.

Stay relaxed!

Frank Schoenherr
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Resort Batam? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Resort Batam

Address: Waterfront City, Sekupang, Riau Islands Province 29422, Indonesia
Phone Number:
Location: Indonesia > Riau Islands Province > Riau Archipelago > Batam > Sekupang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sekupang
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Holiday Inn Resort Batam 3.5*
Number of rooms: 275
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Resort Batam is the only all suite luxury accommodation in Batam. Ideally situated just minutes away from the Waterfront City and Sekupang Ferry Terminals and a short ferry ride from Singapore. The ultimate height of pleasure comes in the form of our award-winning Tea Tree Spa. Sooth your mind and body with a selection of signature spa packages at one of 14 spacious Balinese-styled couple villas or individual treatment rooms. Spread across 3.4 hectares of open space and lush greenery, each of our 235 premium suites features a private balcony and guests can choose from spacious one or two bedroom suites, all elegantly furnished and equipped to provide unmatched comfort. When it comes to leisurely activities, guests of all walks of life are spoilt for choice at the Holiday Inn Resort Batam. The Panda Kids Club offers families a real treat. Our selection of six restaurants and bars, offers a variety of cuisines from around the world. For the business traveller, the Resort's multi-functional Meeting rooms complete with a variety of options for corporate meetings, functions, and events, supported by 24-hour business centre and a dedicated concierge. Whether you are a family with children or a corporation with a team of employees, the Holiday Inn Resort Batam has the facilities and activities to ensure that your trip is one you will never regret making. Come experience world-class hospitality infused with traditional Indonesian island charm! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Resort Batam reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Batam Hotel Batam
Batam Holiday Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Resort Batam, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.