We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuing great quality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Spice Valley

Spice Valley
171 Lee Lane, Horwich, Bolton BL6 7JD, England
01204 697222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 30 Restaurants in Horwich
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Horwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Continuing great quality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

First visited August 2012 and I've been in several times since. Top quality every time. The food is excellent and staff are lovely. This evening I ordered just a main, and though there were quite a number of people in, I had to wait only about 5 minutes. For those who love hot curries, this is the place. My first visit I tried a Vindaloo, I've needed to calm down to Madras since - though I don't eat curry with rice, just nan. Old age is a terrible thing...

  • Visited January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    19
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We booked for New Years Eve , knew it would be busy but were still surprised at just how busy it was. We did have to wait for over 40 minutes but had a couple of drinks at the bar.
We were shown our table by the lady at front of house who was very apologetic about the noise and the wait and also extremely pleasant.
We were seated upstairs and although have eaten here a few times in the past had never been upstairs but as explained it was packed everywhere. Our table was in the corner and after approx 10 mins of us being seated 2 very large parties had left ( nothing we said :) and suddenly the noise level went down which was a huge relief and we could hear ourselves talking .
Our starters were quick to arrive , and were delicious , followed by our mains , again delicious . The staff were very attentive despite being absolutely rushed off their feet and the food was great - what more can you ask for . We will be back .

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
125 helpful votes 125 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant . . . ; - )”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited Spice Valley on Boxing Day evening, we were greeted very quickly and seated straight away in a quiet area, the choice of menu was very good, staff were very friendly, I asked for a chicken madras and for the sauce to be very saucy, unfortunately it was more like a paste, this was the only down part of our meal, everything else was lovely, but not the very best, not sure if we will return for a while . . . there is far too much choice in Horwich . . . ; - )

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Marvellous food. Pleasent staff. Spot on!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

This was our first visit. Food is exceptional and lady of the house is very good at her job. We came from Blackburn on a recommendation from a good friend. Well worth it and it was New Years Eve. Very busy; however not a problem. Thank you.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Spice valley has delicious food and also have kind staff . This restaurant is the best restaurant i have ever been to . It is a really good place to get your family together . At spice valley the waters are really fast with your food and it will be be delicious i guarantee.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice Valley also viewed

Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Spice Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice Valley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.