We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Fish and Chips” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Curley's Dining Rooms

Curley's Dining Rooms
Wallsuches | Off Chorley Old Rd, Horwich, Bolton BL6 6PP, England
+44 1204 691783
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #8 of 33 Restaurants in Horwich
Cuisines: Fish & Chips, Seafood, Ice Cream, English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Curley's Fisheries New Dining Experience - a little piece of heaven for everyone. Offer diners a spectacular range of fish dishes including Trout, Lemon Sole, Plaice, Hake and Turbot, not forgetting Prime Cod and Line Caught Haddock. Curley's Dining Rooms, an extensive set of new stone buildings, a beautiful main dining room with large court yard for outside dining serving mouth watering dishes notably the now famous Curley's Fish and Chips! There is also the IVY Room for private dining and functions. As well as It is with pleasure that Steve and Helen Kershaw along with all the staff welcome you to enjoy fine food in stunningly beautiful surroundings - Bon appetit.
Bolton
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Great Fish and Chips”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

It is a fortnight since I visited with my family and 18 month grandson.The fish and chips, fish cakes and chicken nuggets and beans were all well presented and delicious. No one went away hungery.
Recent improvements to the venue are the Curley Wurley ice cream parlour with 9 delicious flavours of Carte d or ice cream and a new Head Waiter named Steve, looking resplendant in his new XXL pristine uniform. Steve kept the staff on their toes and ever mindfull of the needs of the patrons and occasionally served food himself !!!!! Another excellent dining experience.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    56
    14
    22
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Alright food, rubbish service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

I have visited Curley's fisheries for around 5 years now but I must say I preferred the old setup. Until the past few months Curley's fisheries was like an old wooden chalet which concentrated on fast easy food in a warm environment. The food since moved into the new building is the same but takes twice as long and a coffee seems to take quarter of an hour to be made. As mentioned in a previous review he new staff who are quite young prefer to stand around than to actually serve and on one occasion the order was forgotten for over half an hour until we mentioned it had been a long wait. When as outside the smell of the fisheries seems to be extremely pungent and off putting when eating food an when eating inside the piano being played Is extremely loud and purposely seems to try and drown out everyone with his music which personally feel don't suit the place and are done just to prove his talent. There has been numerous times also when we have been appalled by the amount of squashed food on the floor and when mentioned the girl who was doing most of the front of house anyway had to clear this an the table which still hadn't been cleared whilst the others stood around chatting. One girl in particular is quit rude an slams food and drink down on the table and just walks of without even speaking a word to you.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“THE place to go for fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

I had lunch here this week with two friends. We all had fish chips and mushy peas. We got there at about half past one and it was full, we got the last table. You order at the counter and then the food is bought to your table. We all enjoyed our lunch. The fish was the best bit by far, nicely cooked haddock in an excellent light and crispy batter. The chips and mushy peas were fine also good tartar sauce . The coffee was very good, a pleasant surprise. The building is very attractive set overlooking a fishing lodge.
I would go again but not often as it really is an upmarket fish and chip cafe with only a few other cafe type things on offer - fish cakes, sandwiches etc . Oddly, there is live music in the form of a gentleman playing a piano.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwest
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Have lived in the Bolton area for many years and have only just 'found' Curleys.
We visited around 5 ish, the place was not over busy but very welcoming.
The service was prompt, the place was spotless and the food was excellent, really good value for money.
Our waitress, Charlotte, was attentative and most pleasant.
We will be returning and trying the fish platter for two.
I can only think that at least one of the negative comments was by someone trying to get a 'freebie' !

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
“A very posh cafe”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have visited Curley's several times over the years and really liked the older cafe as it was bright and the service was good. It was the queue up and order and coffee/tea and cakes taken and paid fort at the till. Meals would be brought to you.
This new building is very, very nice like a barn... this was my first visit to the new building and I was expecting it to be a bit more like a restaurant. I ordered a coffee and paid for it. I was asked to take a seat....it seemed like one lady was taking the orders, doing the till and lots of people stood about not doing a lot. My coffee arrived after 5 minutes by which time I had scanned the menu. The menu is clearly that of a cafe. Cooked breakfasts, fish and chips, pies, burgers, more fish and chicken. A quick scan of the menu not a salad in sight... not a healthy option in sight which I find quite incredible... good value for money and good for that once a month blow out. I guess it is more like a restaurant... with a cafe menu but worth a visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Curley's Dining Rooms also viewed

 
Bolton, Greater Manchester
 

Been to Curley's Dining Rooms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Curley's Dining Rooms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.