We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slow service” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Chiquito - Bolton Middlebrook

Chiquito - Bolton Middlebrook
Middlebrook Retail Park, Horwich, Bolton BL6 6JA, England
01204 474030
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 30 Restaurants in Horwich
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Lancashire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Slow service”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

It is one of life's great mysteries how, in our experience, Chiquito restaurants manage to specialise in slow service when they are invariably located next to cinemas, which, bearing in mind film showing schedules, would suggest timing is important. We have already been put off the Blackburn branch, probably for good, by woefully slow service and the Preston branch, nearest to our home, can vary greatly with each visit. Bolton up to now has been fine but this visit produced much too long a wait between starter and main course. The food was fine when it came, the waitress was very friendly and the manager to be fair to him knocked something off the bill for our trouble, which he put down to problems in the kitchen. But eating out as a family shouldn't be about management making up for poor service. It should be a memorable experience from arrival to departure. Problems happen, of course, but why so often at Chiquito? If we had had our sights set on seeing a certain film across the road at certain time, we would have been tearing our hair out. We have been eating at Chiquito since its only branch was that in Leicester Square and it is sad to see the inconsistent levels to which service has dropped. now it has gone nationwide. Better, please.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    39
    29
    31
    18
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westhoughton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Busy restaurant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2013 via mobile

Been to chiquitos a few times and always head for the chicken fajitas however being in company let us all order different dishes and the food was good, can't say I agree with the other comments as it was a Saturday night and very busy when we went and our service was good, we waited about 20 mins for food but we had a drink and were talking so didn't notice

My food was very nice would go again

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Awful food, service not far behind”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

Admit I've not been in a restaurant from this chain since the one at Manors in Newcastle closed to make way for university accommodation, but I always relished the food which was tasty and plentiful. The sombreros and fake cacti have been superceded by attractive, less rustic decor, except the loo doors which looked as if imported from a stable. We had good, cheerful service in the entrance cocktail bar but the evening went downhill from there (table company and a young male waiter excepted!).

The three adults chose chimichangas, £10 a go from the special seasonal menu, and our 9-year-old had flatbread margherita pizza from the £4.95 kids menu. She got a free drink and a dessert (jelly and ice cream) in the price.

First off there was no vegetarian chilli for any dish, then a requested combo of one chicken and one beef chilli chimichanga came as two chicken. I remember this dish in the Chiquito of old as deep fried with a proper crunchy outside and a middle crammed with delicious filling. These were like month-old giant sausage rolls - thick, flabby tortilla wrapped around a meagre portion of tasteless filling (the chicken anyway). Pulled pork was apparently tastier but still on the mean side. We all chose spicy rice from the rice/salad/fries sides offered so the food was a triumph of beige, barely relieved by a small pot of lime and chilli soured cream. Our youngster's side of beans (Heinz, we were informed!) never arrived. One meal was deducted off the bill after we complained.

They were short staffed so we had to ask FOUR times for a single half of lager and the same to pay the bill - but two people tried to take our order showing they had no effective back-up system for service.

Never again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food, felt sorry for our waiter”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

What an awful experience we had at Chiquito in Middlebrook. The only reason we didn't get really really annoyed was because our poor young waiter tried so hard and was let down by the bar staff, food quality and quantity and some of his colleagues.

Yes - it was busy. Yes - they were shortstaffed. But really poor food - chimichangas which were cold, tough and had barely a teaspoon of pulled pork in them. There were no vegetarian options as there was no bean chilli (the main component of most of them) and we waited 45 minutes for half a San Miguel, despite asking three times and 20 minutes for a child's jelly and ice cream. Whoever the manager is here needs a rocket! And at least two of the other waiting staff completely ignored our attempt to pay the bill. Their attitude was clearly - customers? Just ignore them.

Hopeless. Try one of the other restaurants here.

The young lad who served us tried so hard to help with everything - he deserves better.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel Hempstead
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great meal and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

I visited this restaurant with my wife and sister-in-law on a Friday evening.

The food was excellent and the waitress served us very well.

Highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chiquito - Bolton Middlebrook also viewed

 

Been to Chiquito - Bolton Middlebrook? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chiquito - Bolton Middlebrook, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.