We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Food. Good Bear. Good Price.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Jolly Crofters

Jolly Crofters
Chorley Old Road, Horwich, Bolton, England
01204-69-68-85
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 30 Restaurants in Horwich
Cuisines: English, Pub
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations
Bolton, Lancashire
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Good Food. Good Bear. Good Price.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Jolly Crofter's is nothing more than a typical English Pub. That being said, I am frequent lunch time visitor - you can guarantee quick service of food which is what you need at lunchtime (if you are working). Other pubs in the area are very hit-and-miss on timing. The Fish & Chips are excellent and always taste very good and freshly made. There is also always a fine selection of Real Ales be they from Bolton's own Bank Top Brewery or other local brew houses such as Northern Brewing or Moorhouse. They are a member of a pub group (can't recall which one) that offers free membership to a Diamond Club that gives additional food promotions. I always go in for lunch but, Quiz nights, football games and occassional entertainments are also advertised.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    26
    10
    9
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“But I would go back…”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2012

I read the reviews posted here the day before I visited the pub with friends, and I must admit that I had my reservations. I was there at a mid-week lunchtime and it was reasonably quiet though others arrived while we ate, but it was never even nearly full. Being a group of ‘old codgers’ from sixty-three to well over eighty, we took advantage of Diamond Club membership for a good deal, though this seemed to reduce our options from the menu.

I had a stuffed mushroom starter which was quite good, though it was spoiled a little by the garnish (rocket salad) which looked very sad and dull as if it had been left on a hot plate awaiting the mushrooms. It also lacked any sort of dressing which might have improved it. The mushrooms, though, were well cooked and the breadcrumb stuffing was crisp and pleasant (many such breadcrumb stuffings are soggy and often cheese or garlic then makes them overpowering).

My main course was fish and chips (at the recommendation of one of my friends and one of the reviews). The fish was freshly cooked, well prepared and presented, and of adequate proportions, but it was of a quality available in many restaurants and by no means ‘cordon bleu’. The chips were good but not exceptional. The mushy peas were very good.

The liquid refreshment was John Smith's bitter and the total cost was more than reasonable.


The service was reasonably quick and pleasant, but there were only four of us and I cannot say how a larger party might find it.

By and large I would say that it was value for money and it is a pub I would visit again for a lunch with friends, though I would hesitate to celebrate something special there as the menu seemed quite ordinary with nothing available that shouted out that it was a house speciality. I also have to express further disappointment in the menu. I have been in pubs in this scheme before, particularly the one in Sevenoaks. The menu seems to have become much reduced and much less adventurous in the couple of years since then...but I would go back...

Visited March 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
“A few people clearly have a grudge...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012

My folks have dined here for many years with family AND friends, and I can atest that both the ambiance AND the food has ALWAYS been impeccable. I've read the petty and small minded 'MOB' reviews that clearly seem to have been orchestrated to ruin this 'FINE' establishments reputation and quite frankly, in my opinion, it's VERY sad indeed. I have to say that everything on the menu sounds delicious, and can honestly say that the 'Fish and Chips' are the finest that I have ever tasted.

Ao do yourself a favour; ignore the narrow minded grudge posse and stop by any weekday for a delicious lunch!

p.s. the comments about the toilets etc are completely unfounded - and VERY childish - GROW UP!

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not good”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2012 via mobile

Rhis used to be a very busy pub great for food but when u go in the Blundell Arms a bit up the road and it's an hour wait to get a table yet in here you walk in and its empty , you know why! Terrible staff, leaks with paper coming off the walls, smell from loos , old decor tables and chairs tells it all. Poor staff and food say it all. We won't be going back !

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best fish and chips”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2011

I read negative reviews but still gave it a chance. Well pleased, The fish and chips were brilliant. Fish obviously cooked to order, large portions and tasty. No problems when we went!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jolly Crofters also viewed

 

Been to Jolly Crofters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jolly Crofters, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.