We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“After work drink with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Court House

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Bromley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Court House
Save
You added The Court House to your Saves list
Old Harwich Road, Great Bromley CO7 7JG, England (Formerly Old Courthouse Inn)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Bromley
Manningtree, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“After work drink with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

very friendly atmosphere full of local people enjoying themselves. Newly painted and fresh with enough space to have a chat. Big car park and easy to find. Didn't have time to use the restaurant but the food looked very tasty. Will definitely be going back for Sunday lunch.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    4
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
3
2
1
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My friends and I have visited this warm and friendly bar and restaurant many times. We have always had excellent food. The staff are fantastic offering great service with nothing too much trouble. We will defiantly be coming back!

Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Tonight was the 3rd time we have eaten at the pub since moving locally. As previously the food and service was excellent! Nothing seems to be to much trouble for Michelle or any of the staff. Will be visiting again soon.

Stayed May 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greater London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Have eaten a couple of times at The Court House, the first time for a Christmas lunch which was great and most recently, this weekend for a birthday lunch for eight.

The staff are friendly and the menu exactly what you expect of a nice village pub. Great value and excellent quality - had a roast this weekend, which tasted home cooked, ample portions, tasty and perfect temperature.

Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Excellent Sunday lunch served here in recently redecorated surroundings.
Most of us went for three courses ,the starters and puddings were also to a good standard.
Would recommend booking as can get busy.

Stayed April 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We have eaten in The Court House twice before and had excellent food and service. Tonight was totally different. No problem getting drinks. But that was it. After quite a long time we were given menus to look at ready to be seated and told about the specials. We were asked by a gentleman behind the bar if we had been served, we said yes and he said the other woman would take our order when she had finished in the restaurant with a small party. Nothing happened. Then another couple arrived and asked if they had table for two, yes they did. They were seated and served with no problem!!! We asked for our drinks bill - which also took a while and then we left. Interestingly the gentlemen mentioned earlier did appear to send out for additional staff!!! Really, really disappointed. And we are locals!!!

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2015

I would like to thank Michelle & all the staff at the Court House for making my 50th Birthday very enjoyable. We had the function room to ourselves (their was 31 of us), The tables were all laid out with flowers and the fine bone china for our high tea & they looked wonderful.The service was very good & the High Tea was lovely, small cut sandwiches, lots of different small cakes including jam tarts, lemon drizzle cake, mini doughnuts, & then scones, jam & cream, tea & coffee. The room had been tastefully decorated for the occasion with a birthday banner, some balloons & bunting. I could not have asked for more. I would highly recommended the Court House, the staff were all very polite & helpful. Thank You.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Court House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Court House

Address: Old Harwich Road, Great Bromley CO7 7JG, England (Formerly Old Courthouse Inn)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Bromley
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Court House is a beautifully refurbished, family run 17th century inn offering a wealth of facilities, including Accommodation - luxuriously appointed en-suite rooms and chalets Daytime and Evening Restaurant - serving quality home cooked food daily. Jonty's Bar - stocking finely kept real ales, crafted lagers, wines, spirits and soft drinks Tearoom - serving a selection of teas, coffee, sandwiches, cakes, cream teas Function Room - ideal for all private, business and club functions. The Court House is perfectly situated for visitors to north-east Essex - its rural location being convenient for the Constable Country villages of the River Stour, the beaches of the Tendring Peninsula and the historic towns of Colchester and Harwich. It's also perfectly placed as a stop-over en-route to or from the Port of Harwich and its Cruise Ships and Ferries. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Court House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.