We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not worth any stars!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Old Courthouse Inn

Old Courthouse Inn
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Great Bromley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Old Courthouse Inn
Save
You added Old Courthouse Inn to your Saves list
Old Harwich Road, Great Bromley CO7 7JG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Bromley
Hatfield, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not worth any stars!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

The marketing of this establishment borders on the fraudulent. My wife and I paid for and were looking forward to a couple of nights near Constable country in a 17th Cen. inn. However, we were given the keys to a room in an annex facing the car park which was dingy, dark and smelly! For the first time ever in our 40 years of travelling we left within 10 minutes of arrival. The Old Courthouse Inn should not have a four star rating as this is thoroughly missleading.

Room Tip: Always read reviews on trip advisor, we didn't
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    4
    4
    2
    7
See reviews for
7
9
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
essex
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2012

poped in with my wife for a quick afternoon pint in the way home and it looks great from the out side and i must say was very clean and tidy the pint was good but blimey was it cold! never been in a pub that cold and a great lack of atmosphire no music really un welcoming drunk up as quick as and went

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2011 via mobile

I stay here regularly and have done for seven years. Excellent,friendly hotel with great food and full of character.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2011

Stayed in stable block,clean and comfortable,good shower.Evening meal good with very generous proportions (we did SKATE around my first choice,in- joke with Vinny).Good breakfast nicely cooked,good bacon,set us up for the day.
Overview-Would definately visit again.great hospitality,good service, good food and at all reasonable prices.
Thanks Vinny Elvis,family, staff and locals for a very enjoyable stay.
Barrie & Lynn Cook.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

We stayed in the stable block at the back of the hotel. Rooms generally clean but basic. Bed comfortable but had old fashioned blankets. Toilets took ages to refill after flushing. Supposedly were 'eco' toilets, whatever that meant. Rooms weren't ready until 4.00pm so had to kill two hours as we'd arrived early. Even at 4.00pm they were not ready. Possibly due to shortage of staff. Breakfast standard 'full English' which was OK. Would stay here again if in the area as was convenient for where we wanted to go.

Room Tip: Don't arrive before 4.00pm as rooms aren't ready
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hornchurch, Essex.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2011

Very clean & welcoming. Food was first class.Room was excellent, and very good value.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2011

I don't believe a word of some of the reviews below me, it's like they've stayed in a different hotel. The food is delicious and home-made (with very generous portion sizes!) i was suprised by the free breakfast which was top-notch, especially the bacon! The rooms are simple and if you are in a room inside the pub; old-fashioned but homely. The owners were lovely and were happy to chat to us each night and they made us feel very welcome. Because the building dates back centuries the inside rooms are very old fashioned but we all agreed it added to the charm and we had no problem with cleanliness. We would greatly recommened it if you want lovely homemade food, company and a simple room for quite a reasonable price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Old Courthouse Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Courthouse Inn

Address: Old Harwich Road, Great Bromley CO7 7JG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Essex > Great Bromley
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Great Bromley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Old Courthouse Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.