We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cornwall Park Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Cornwall Park Motor Inn to your Saves list
Cornwall Park Motor Inn
317 Manukau Road, Epsom 1023, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Hamilton, New Zealand
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Location is perfect”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

This Motor Inn is perfectly located for driving in Auckland, so close to the city and so much more. Just around the corner from the ASB stadium and a few minutes walk to a coulpe of lovely Restuarants. Mantra ( indian) and Gee Gee's Bar and Brasserie. Really well appointed rooms, which are very clean and modern. Staff were very friendly. Great parking and free WiFi. The pricing was right on the button, highly recommend this Motor Inn.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    19
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
6
17
2
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mount Maunganui, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

This accommodation was booked on our behalf so didn't know what to expect but very pleasantly surprised. The room was very comfortable and set up well. Great selection of consumables & convenient amenities in the bathroom. Bed & pillows were super comfy which made for a great rest after a bit of eye surgery. Big tv, modern feel, great heating, and overall an A+ experience. Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, NZ
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We called in by chance that a room would be available because of the location of this motel. We were very pleasantly surprised. Without raising expectations too high, I would call it a "luxury" unit. The bathroom was really roomy and beautifully tiled. The room was a good size with lounge area and television on a swinging arm so it could be viewed from the bed or the couches. Our room (double spa unit) was nice and quiet - near the rear of the property. Check-in was easy and the owner was very pleasant and accommodating.

This motel is the best in the immediate vicinity of Alexandra Park and Greenlane Hospital however the location appealed to us for it's proximity to a family function in Epsom.

We would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Room 8 is quiet, a good size and it's on the ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tauranga, New Zealand
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

My husband and I have recently stayed in two Amora hotels one in Wellington the other in Melbourne and I can honestly say that our room out shone both of them. Simple things that mean a lot when you are travelling were supplied. The room was spotless and nicely laid out. Very comfortable chairs to watch television rather than hard out couches you usually get. Plenty of towels on hand, even a hair straightener. The bed was the best I have ever slept on being firmish but a lovely soft padding on the top of the mattress. I think this must have been new. Every hotel I have ever been in has always had firm or hardish mattresses to last the distance so I was delighted to find somebody has actually thought of the person who will be needing to sleep that night to wake refreshed. The linen was of a high quality and very comfortable pillows. Could not fault the place and I have an eagle eye so absolutely delighted to have stayed the night and would definitely recommend to anyone needing a place in Auckland. :)

Room Tip: We stayed in room 10 which was away from the road and we heard no noise what so ever.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2014

Ideal location for our stay in Auckland. Our studio room was adjacent to Manukau Rd - there was no interruption from traffic noise - a huge bonus for sleeping late. The room was clean & serviced daily. We found the staff pleasant & helpful. Would stay there again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 9, 2014

So rang up late afternoon for accommodation accepted us to stay 2 nights with batercard then later cancelled by the manager as wouldn't do two nights on bartercard even though we would of happily paid for the third night cash. this has caused alot of inconvenience;

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttanut, Manager at Cornwall Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Yes we made a mistake of taking the barter card booking in the beginning, our receptionist is new and is unaware the difference of barter card and cash, we take barter card bookings only when we are not busy, and soon as I was aware of the booking we called and email to explain the situation, the guest wanted to book 2 nights, and we had only one room left in one of the nights, so we ask the guest we could accept barter card for 1 night and cash for the nearly booked night, but he refused, so we told him that we can not take the booking due to we need to serve cash customers first, and we apologies for the error and inconvenience.

Once again sorry for the inconvenience that we caused you, have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

For many years we have stayed at this motel but it is now getting very tired. The location in fantastic - just across the road from Cornwall Park and a brisk walk thru there before breakfast is well worthwhile. New beds have been installed by the new owner, Aaron Chang, but we were disappointed to find that these were only standard size. The bedroom in the one bedroom unit was extremely cramped - would have been better if an extra single bed had not been in the room. A lot of work is needed on the place, but because of it's location, we would probably stay there again. Other motels in the area seemed to be no better. Aaron was very helpful and obliging.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buttanut, Manager at Cornwall Park Motor Inn, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
We took over management last year June, and so far we changed all the sheets and pillows, and towels, we also in the process of changing new beds to all the units, instead of those commercial bed everyone uses, we are getting pocket spring zone support beds, we also upgrade our entertainment to 50+ guest select in every unit, the cooking pots and pans are also upgrade to chef quality, and we are looking at upgrading the studio rooms tv into smart internet tv as well.

Follow by that we then will start looking at the fixture on the rooms, like the carpets and wall papers etc, I'm sure every time you come you will notice some difference and we'll make sure of that.

Have a great weekend.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Cornwall Park Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cornwall Park Motor Inn

Address: 317 Manukau Road, Epsom 1023, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cornwall Park Motor Inn offers spacious and comfortable MOTEL accommodation in the inner circle of Auckland City & located opposite the Logan Campbell Fountain and Monument in the heart of Epsom & Greenlane. 3 1/2klms from the city centre & 14 klms from the airport ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Cornwall Park Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cornwall Park Motor Inn Epsom, Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cornwall Park Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.