We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very convenient to Alexandra Park raceway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Parklane Motor Lodge

Save Saved
You added Parklane Motor Lodge to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Parklane Motor Lodge
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   222 Greenlane West, Epsom, New Zealand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Epsom
Christchurch, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Very convenient to Alexandra Park raceway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We wanted a place close to the raceway, as my husband was driving at the races...and at a reasonable rate...this place ticked the boxes...It is directly across the road from the race-track.The lady at the desk was a reliever, but very helpful. The room was clean, and we weren't expecting luxury for the price we paid. It had a lovely big bed, bathroom, complimentary tea, coffee etc, and a couple of hot plates if you wanted to cook something. There was also a nice selection of sweets/crisps and mini-bar. The rooms are all looking a bit tired, and dated ... it looks as if the main foyer and dining room have had a recent re-paint. Overall, it was a nice clean place to lay your head for a night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, General Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, June 19, 2013
Hi Carrie
Thank you for taking the time to give us feedback on our property, We are giving the motel a face lift and we have just installed all the flat screen televisions, we are going the rooms and are updating each one so hopefully this will be well on its way next time you come in
Many Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    27
    14
    13
    9
    15
See reviews for
22
20
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wellington
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

We were very happy to have chosen the Parklane for a 2 night stay. Mandy was the Manager who greeted us and attended to us for the 2 days. She was absolutely wonderful.

The Studio room we booked suited us fine. Very close to many other services such as Buses, Alexander Park, good Restaurants, and Greenlane Medical Clinic. Free newspaper available, breakfast room, Internet $5 for 1 hr and/or 120MB, and wide range of things in the pay mini bar.

Whilst we had a Studio facing the busy Greenlane West Road the traffic noise was perfectly acceptable.

We had previously stayed at a neighbouring Motel and are pleased to say that the Parklane was much much better. We will stay here again on our next trip to Auckland.

Room Tip: Studio unit facing busy street was good for us. Location & service great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, General Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Thanks for the great feedback, it certainly does make our job rewarding knowing that our guests have left with a positive attitude, hopefully we will see you back here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed here in April 2013, room dark, lighting was terrible, drapes and decor unchanged probably since 70's. It felt like going back in time! Stairs up to rooms were narrow and made it difficult to carry suitcases up. Studio kitchen was tiny, no bench space. Bathroom old and not very well cleaned. Whilst the motel had a no noise poicy, people above partied all night until 6.00 am. Would never stay here again.

Room Tip: Don't Bother!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, General Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Thank you Larry for giving us feedback on your accommodation I am sorry to hear that you thought the room wasnt up to standard we would have been happy to move you if we were informed that you were not happy also regarding the noisy guests above you we do have an after hours number and we happy to try to rectify any guests issues straight away as this is one of our main priorities to ensure all guests are comfortable, we are going through and updating our units which includes flatscreen tvs, furnishings we are sorry to hear you wont be back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for two nights whilst visiting Auckland. Excellent value. Staff were fantastic and nothing was too much trouble. Internet rates were cheap ($5 for 1hr). Bed was comfortable and room was clean. Easy access to buses and ferries to get to city centre. Also easy access to shops, restaurants and banks. Recommend it to anyone.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, General Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Maurice
It was a pleasure having you stay with us recently and am delighted that the service and cleanliness was up to standard We are in a fantastic location and am pleased it was handy to everything you required, We hope to see you again soon
Many Thanks Mandy & Clair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

Great Location, very friendly and helpful staff. Cheap internet and affordable prices.

I arrived in Auckland and wanted an early check at 9am and this was made available to me as it meant it could freshen up before i went to my meeting through out the day.

Recommended

Room Tip: Best to get ground floor bythe pool, albeit unheated:-) No fitness centre or restuarant but close to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, General Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Matthew, we do realize that some of our guests do have early meetings so we were happy to accommodate you with an early check-in if there is a room available we do have a mini gym onsite located on level one, this information is located in the compendium in each room
We look forward to seeing you in the near future.
Thank you Mandy & Clair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

I stayed at Parklane Motor Lodge after my company booked a Training Seminar there that night. For convenience, they also booked a room for overnight accommodation. I was so impressed that I booked a second night and traveled back to the Motel that night. The Training room holds 50 people easily and was catered for in house. Everything was set up for us well ahead of time and nothing was too much trouble. The Motel Team - Mandy, Clair and Kelly are amazing. There is nothing that they won't do to make your stay enjoyable and memorable! Suggestion - Ask for a "Starlight" room, it's a "round" room - like a big glassed in dome roof with your own private balcony - it's like sleeping under the stars! Excellent mini kitchen set up, well stocked fridge and munchies. The king bed was ridiculously comfortable, I wish I could have stayed awake longer to enjoy the stars whilst lying in bed. Breakfast downstairs was also well appointed. No free Wifi but it can be paid for at the reception. Big Thumbs up for this Motel - Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Ask for a "Starlight Dome Room" - amazing feeling of sleeping under the stars!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, General Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, May 3, 2013
Hi Dan
Thanks so much for taking the time to give us feedback, it was a pleasure having you here as well
we now have a new nickname for our penthouse room so thank you very much, we have now also upgraded the TVs to flat-screen so you will notice a few changes when you come back
Thanks Mandy & Clair
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuku'alofa, Tonga
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2013

I had traveled to NZ for a business trip and found the place really nice and convenient. Amanda and her staff were helpful which was great. I did notice that on the first 2 days of my stay, house cleaning wasn't done up properly, I had clean towels but the bathroom wasn't cleaned and the bed wasn't made.
Nonetheless, it's a very nice place to stay at for short term trips as they've also got a pool which was plus!
All in all, I would recommend this place for business travelers off on short trips.

Room Tip: If you're there for a business trip, best you stay in the rooms closest the reception area. The...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParklaneMotorLodge, Manager at Parklane Motor Lodge, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to comment on our motel, I do apologise the servicing was not done to the standard we expect of our cleaning staff, we rely on our guests letting us know when they check out or the day of the issue so it can be remedied straight away. I hope we do see you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Parklane Motor Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parklane Motor Lodge

Address: 222 Greenlane West, Epsom, New Zealand
Location: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Epsom
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 hotels in Epsom
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Parklane Motor Lodge 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Tingo, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Parklane Motor Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Parklane Hotel Auckland
Parklane Motor Lodge Epsom, Auckland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Parklane Motor Lodge, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.